• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Rooted my Hero- few questions about sprint bloatware

ndp506

Dec 19, 2009
so i rooted and flashed with fresh 1.1 and it's gotten amazingly fast!! my question is how do i remove the stock message app that sprint put on there? i have chompSMS as my txt app.. i took a look at the pre-kitchen, but i use a mac so wanted to see if there are any other alternatives...

also, i'm a noob, please be nice, i searched on the forums and couldn't find anything... any help will be greatly appreciated! Thank you in advance everyone!

This is the one I followed. I have vista on my computer. This worked 100% without any problem what so ever. I also flashed Fresh Rom and that went through with no issues either. I am now loading themes on the Fresh Kitchen.

[GUIDE] How To Root The Sprint CDMA Hero (Windows) - xda-developers

I also want to know what is safe to remove and what must be kept. I want to get rid of some things like footprints and some other irritating start up apps

Upvote 0
This is the one I followed. I have vista on my computer. This worked 100% without any problem what so ever. I also flashed Fresh Rom and that went through with no issues either. I am now loading themes on the Fresh Kitchen.

[GUIDE] How To Root The Sprint CDMA Hero (Windows) - xda-developers

I also want to know what is safe to remove and what must be kept. I want to get rid of some things like footprints and some other irritating start up apps

APPS that are SAFE to remove - xda-developers

Upvote 0
So, again other than removing the Sprint apps you don't want, any other advantages to installing Fresh ROM or any other ROM? Or is it better to just wait for 2.1 support this year?