1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root *rooted stock gb/2.3 rom*

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by 330D, Jun 16, 2011.

  1. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,863
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    2,863
    783
    213
    operator
    upstate NY
    Here are a couple links ... Rooted stock gingerbread *THANKS CRUMP and Enraged21 FOR THE LINKS!*

    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1128728 -optimized rom, I'm not sure what it has or doesn't have...

    And here http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1127169 STOCK Rooted

    *DO NOT INSTALL THE OTA UPDATE* You will lose root, and it may molest your phone....


    If you have updated, the devs have not found the root exploit for 2.3 *YET*
    I am sure that they will soon, and once I find a link for a rooting guide, or good instructions I will add them to this thread or start a new sticky.... Thanks for reading!
     

    Advertisement

    barberboy and crump like this.
  2. Enraged21

    Enraged21 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    128
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011

    Apr 15, 2011
    128
    12
    38
    Orlando, FL
    330D likes this.
  3. edp

    edp Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    273
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009

    Nov 20, 2009
    273
    27
    43
    330D likes this.
  4. Drakon

    Drakon Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    36
    9
    16
    Keep us updated, I'm using the leaked version, and i'm wondering if there is any difference before switching.
     
  5. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,863
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    2,863
    783
    213
    operator
    upstate NY
    From the little I've read, sounds like it's a vast improvement. (how is that possible?;) Downloading now, hopefully I will have a chance to flash it later. I will get back to you with my experience.....
     
  6. crump

    crump Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    248
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011

    Feb 11, 2011
    248
    101
    68
    Alabama
    Enraged21 likes this.
  7. Kenneth196

    Kenneth196 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010

    Sep 6, 2010
    75
    4
    16
    Good thing I came to these forums before I updated!! I was given the option to update (manually) and during the update is when I read the post about not updating if you are rooted.. dodged a bullet!!

    So I will update via the rooted rom download. My question is, if I want to keep all of my apps and data to the apps, I just use Titanium backup correct? Then restore them after the update?
     
  8. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,863
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    2,863
    783
    213
    operator
    upstate NY
    I did, and it worked fine until I rebooted. If you do restore using Tibackup, don't restore data. Just do a batch restore to the apps.
     
    Kenneth196 likes this.
  9. Kenneth196

    Kenneth196 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010

    Sep 6, 2010
    75
    4
    16
    Why not data? I've never done it before so can you list the steps I have to do to save all of my apps + data & restore all of them successfully after I update?
     
  10. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,863
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    2,863
    783
    213
    operator
    upstate NY
    Data messed with all my widgets when carried over to the update.


    Open ti backup, click on the backup/restore button, then click menu. An option for batch will be there. choose it, and then there will be a list of options you can backup or restore. choose backup user apps. wait to finish.

    Next do a nandroid backup, and flash the rom. once it boots up, log in to your google/facebook whatever you need to log into. Wait until it gets to the home screen, then go to the market and download tibackup, and do the same as above, but restore user apps instead of backup user apps. it should be good to go. (I use the paid version, never had any luck with the free one)

    I'm going to bed, but you should have everything you need there to get you updated...


    And, FWIW, we should be talking about the root stuff in the all things root section. I will move the post once you are all set....
     
    Kenneth196 likes this.
  11. Kenneth196

    Kenneth196 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010

    Sep 6, 2010
    75
    4
    16
    Worked like a charm!!
     
  12. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,863
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    2,863
    783
    213
    operator
    upstate NY
    Glad I could help. :D

    Titanium backup was frustrating for me way back when I started to use it, It has been updated umpteen times since then, and it is much easier to figure out now. I still don't know everything that it can do. It is one of my must have apps.
     
    Kenneth196 likes this.
  13. Abird!

    Abird! Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    118
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011

    I've read through countless threads from different forums so I can't recall if I read over anyone have FC problems with maps...
     
  14. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,863
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    2,863
    783
    213
    operator
    upstate NY

    Try uninstalling the maps update.
     
  15. Abird!

    Abird! Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    118
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011

    Thanks...I actually just cleared data and it seems to be alright for now...I may have another hmm issue that maybe you could help me with. After I flashed the update I accidentally restored apps+data from TB (doh!) is there a way to perhaps reverse that?
     
  16. Abird!

    Abird! Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    118
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011

    could i just reflash the rom and go from there?
     
  17. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,863
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    2,863
    783
    213
    operator
    upstate NY
    It's not a big deal... You can just set your phone up the way you want, then backup apps and data, and you will be set. 2.2 and 2.3 are different enough that the data gets a little messed when you attempt a restore. It really is only good for apps in this situation.
     
    Abird! likes this.
  18. toddpedersen

    toddpedersen Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    152
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010

    Jun 9, 2010
    152
    68
    53
    Just so I am clear, I haved an unrooted Stock EVO Shift that I did the OTA update to GB 2.3. As of right now, if I am FINALLY ready to root, with the expectation of ONLY rooting so that I can use applications that work with rooted phones, and NOT to flash new ROMS (as of right now) there does not exist a "one click" method of rooting right? I checked out Unrevoked 3 and it failed to root based on my "speedy" model phone/OS.




     
  19. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,863
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    2,863
    783
    213
    operator
    upstate NY
    I need to update this. There is a rooted rom to flash, but there is no root exploit for gingerbread yet. If you updated, you cannot root as of right now.
     
    ginglish and toddpedersen like this.
  20. toddpedersen

    toddpedersen Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    152
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010

    Jun 9, 2010
    152
    68
    53
    Thank you so much! I was pulling out my hair trying to figure out on these threads if I could root or not. You have cleared that up for me!




     
  21. triplecore

    triplecore Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    18
    1
    16
    Hey so I have been reading up on the htc bootloader and roots etc. I read somewhere the newer HTC phones have a root that is impossible to crack because they use encryption or something that makes it alot more harder than in the past like on the evo etc that could be rooted with brute force. I am wondering if the OTA Sprint update moved our rom to this impossible type to root of if their is still hope for those who did the 2.3 update OTA?

    thanks
     
  22. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,863
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    2,863
    783
    213
    operator
    upstate NY
    It is hard to say, really. I am NOT a dev, and have no idea what finding the root exploit entails. I know that there has been talk of them locking the bootloaders down, but there was massive backlash via HTC's facebook page, so they know that people want them to leave well enough alone. Hopefully they heed what their customers want and don't (haven't) locked down the bootloaders. Time will tell....
     
  23. triplecore

    triplecore Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    18
    1
    16
    I hope so too. I am not a developer either. I just want to root to get rid of all the sprint junk, and redundant HTC apps "News" and "News and Weather" and Quick Office. They really need to consider some people might already own other Office apps like Doc2Go.
     
  24. Android25

    Android25 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010

    Jul 24, 2010
    59
    3
    16
    Hi everyone! I just got the option to update to 2.3 over the air. Before I do so, I wanted to find out what I need to do since I've been happily temp rooted with Visionary. Do I need to untemp root before I get the update and will I then be able to re-temp root with Visionary?

    Thanks!
     
  25. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,863
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    2,863
    783
    213
    operator
    upstate NY
    You will not be able to root if you do the update.
     

Share This Page

Loading...