1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Rooted TB, some questions...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by TheManWithNoNa, Sep 26, 2011.

  1. TheManWithNoNa

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011

    Jul 26, 2011
    19
    4
    36
    This is probably the 1000th post like this. I apologize for the redundancy.

    Many thanks to those on this forum who put the knowledge out there for me to use. I finally got around to rooting my TB using Revolutionary :D. The video made it easy and I verified it using Root Check. I backed up my ROM using ROM Manager, and that's as far as I got. I haven't flashed any custom ROMs yet, still researching that.

    1. First Question: What do the members on this forum recommend for backing up my apps? I understand that flashing a new ROM will wipe my data including my apps. It will be a PITA to manually go get them all.

    2. Reading the link found in this thread
    http://androidforums.com/thunderbolt-all-things-root/418762-new-leak-new-radios.html ([Exclusive Download] Gingerbread Build 2.11.605.3 Full RUU And New Radio For HTC ThunderBolt)

    it says that it will wipe my data and I will LOSE ROOT after flashing the RUU. I understand the wipe part, but how can it make you lose root? Would it be necessary to go through the Revolutionary process every time? Please somebody explain this to me. I would like to experiment with new (better) radios and the new Gingerbread RUU leak looks like as good of a place to start as any. It's very confusing. I would like to try new ROMs and especially some versions of Gingerbread and AOSP, but I don't know where to start. Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    1. Titanium backup is what I use (and most people I think) to backup user apps and user app data. System apps come with the rom and system data is just lost.

    2. Check the sticky in this section for the radio thread, it has links to the radios you can flash and not lose root or any data for that matter.
     
    TheManWithNoNa likes this.
  3. asianrage

    asianrage Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011

    Feb 5, 2011
    109
    12
    58
    +1 for TiBu. I've used it since I rooted a long time ago and it's a great program. However, I've started using App Manager Pro and it's a very good program. Cheaper than the Pro version of TiBu with similar+ functionality.

    Also recommend Rom Toolbox. It's similar to Rom Manager, which I've used since rooted, but with tons more functionality.

    Coincidentally, both are by the the same dev.
     
    TheManWithNoNa likes this.
  4. brizey

    brizey Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    591
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011

    Jun 25, 2011
    591
    120
    93
    If I get the gist of your post correctly, use Titanium. It is the most widely used and therefore the easiest to get questions answered. Just beware that when you open it up you will get option overload. It has probably 50 discrete functions. Around here we tend to recommend to just use the batch backup and restore for simplicity and more explicit control over the process.

    An RUU is like an OTA update that can modify everything. There is really never a reason to flash them unless you want to return to stock. Within hours of leaking the radios and other goodies get extracted and cleaned up for rooted user use.
     
    TheManWithNoNa likes this.
  5. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    i use titanium as well. make sure you get the paid version,its well worth the $$ to be able to do batch backup and restores.



    keep in mind that being rooted is simply being able to access and change/modify system files. this is accomplished in the running OS by a superuser app in the appdrawer,that communicates with a matching binary file in /system/bin or /system/xbin. together they delegate what apps hav "superuser permissions" to modify the OS,or perform tasks that werent part of the original OS's plan ;)

    flashing an htc/vzw RUU will replace the /recovery,/system,/data/,etc. partitions currently on your phone with new ones,thus removing the root files-as obviously they are not included in a "stock" rom :eek:

    the prollem with rooting is getting these files into the OS the first time,wich can be done several ways.

    in the case of revolutionary,it sneekily replaces your bootloader with one that will allow non-stock firmware to flash,as well as blocking itself from being overwritten by other "locked" hboots. it very effectively preserves your root,as all you have to do if an OTA or RUU is flashed,is reinstall a recovery thru the unlocked bootloader,and re-install the root files via recovery. its really that easy.

    so i guess the short answer is "no,you dont have to run revolutionary each time" :)

    personally,i get a kick out of installing the RUUs and rooting them,seeing how they run,and sometimes debloating/thinning them out myself with titanium if i want to run it a couple more days.

    however,as brizey said,there really isnt a good reason to do this,especially if your new to rooting. flashing in hboot is somewhat dangerous if youre not careful- a bad flash can brick your phone. the OTAs and RUUs will be broken down and made into roms that you can flash in recovery,wich is much safer. usually the worse thing that happens in a bad recovery flash is a hang at a spash screen,or a bootloop.

    for most folks,RUUs really are just to fix prollems or return to stock if needed.

    my other bit of advice is this:
    DO NOT use rom manager untill you have become very familiar and comfortable with manually booting into recovery and wiping/backing up/flashing there. rom manager is an APP in a FUNCTIONAL ROM and WILL NOT always be there for you to use. if you get stuck in a bootloop or hang at a splash,the only way to fix is to pull the battery,and boot to recovery and manually reflash,or restore a previous backup.

    once you youre familiar with manually manipulaitng recovery,use rom manager if you want,tho i dont reccomend it. most of us dont even keep it on our phones anymore now that recoverys are easily installed thru hboot :)

    you also should check out the sticky threads. alot of terminology is explained,and also quite a few basic procedures.

    then you can look at the thunderbolt roms thread and find some gingerbread roms to try. with each leak,the sense roms get a lil better,if you prefer a "stock" feeling sense rom :)

    hope that helps explain a few things :)
     
    TheManWithNoNa likes this.
  6. jivens716

    jivens716 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    192
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    192
    33
    43
    College Student
    Asheville, NC
    Please DON'T use any program like ROM Manager. It is very risky and can mess your phone up very badly.. Please stick to the normal method, if you will, and flash VIA Recovery..It doesn't take much longer, and I actually think its fun :)
     
    TheManWithNoNa likes this.
  7. asianrage

    asianrage Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011

    Feb 5, 2011
    109
    12
    58
    ROM Manager can be a good app I'd you were to use it for three things, flash CWR, backing up your current ROM, and download a new ROM (if it's available). I would recommend that you do everything else in Recovery.

    But App Manager is a TiBu-like app and ROM Toolbox does very advanced things with features that goes beyond changing system fonts and UC/OC your CPU...
     
  8. jivens716

    jivens716 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    192
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    192
    33
    43
    College Student
    Asheville, NC
    All of the three things you said it could be used for can easily be done through Recovery, except downloading a ROM...I know some people like to use it for that kind of stuff but it is just too dangerous IMO
     
  9. TheManWithNoNa

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011

    Jul 26, 2011
    19
    4
    36
    Thanks for all the help. You guys are awesome. The support in the community is outstanding. I can't say that enough.

    I try to read everything I can, but for a beginner like me it is all overwhelming. I don't want to screw anything up, but I definitely want to customize stuff. I will check out Titanium Backup - sounds worth it.

    That makes a lot of sense. I was confusing RUU and ROM I guess.

    This is why I want to improve on the stock radio. I haven't run a speed test since March, and for some reason my upload speeds have dropped from 30Mbps to 2.7Mbps. I blame Verizon for cutting it back. Can anyone explain this one?

    Pittsburgh Area
    [​IMG]

    I may attempt to install those new radios with the rooted stock ROM. There shouldn't be an issue with this, right? It would be good practice. Then if I install/flash a custom ROM, will the new radios remain, or will I have to reflash them?

    Shortly after rooting I tried to uninstall some of the VZW bloatware crap like Blockbuster. It wouldn't let me so I'm guessing that I will have to install a new ROM to get rid of them since some of them are labeled debloat, etc. Maybe I could choose to not back them up with Titanium before flashing a new ROM. Is this how everyone else removes the bloatware?

    Scott I started following you on Twitter in case you're wondering who the hell that is.:cool:
     
  10. jivens716

    jivens716 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    192
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    192
    33
    43
    College Student
    Asheville, NC
    To answer your question about why your upload speeds have dropped from 4G, its because for the longest time, the speed test app had been messed up.. The download speed you see is correct, but the upload speeds were not reading properly..What you see now is the correct upload speed.


    About the radio, you can istall a new radio whenever you want, and that will remain with you until you flash another one. And like you said, if you want to remove all of the bloat ware, the easiest way would be to just flash a ROM..Picking the right ROM will the hardest during your process lol..There are a lot to choose from, so pick a good'n :) I suggest CM7 if you like AOSP roms, or BAMF Forever 1.06 if you prefer Sense..

    Hope I helped you out some
     
    TheManWithNoNa likes this.
  11. TheManWithNoNa

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011

    Jul 26, 2011
    19
    4
    36
    Well crap, I was hoping that we could flame Verizon together! ;)

    As far as picking a ROM, I have no idea what I like so I'll have to experiment. I call myself a minimalist (at least I would like to).

    ...So CM7, that would be the one at the top of the list, right? CM7 is AOSP?
    http://androidforums.com/thunderbolt-all-things-root/310708-thunderbolt-rom-list-updated-9-22-a.html
     
  12. jivens716

    jivens716 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    192
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    192
    33
    43
    College Student
    Asheville, NC
    Yes that is correct..But before you do anything, I would read up on how to flash correctly, and follow all of the steps..eventually, you'll get to the point where it is second nature and you'll be flashing things every day :)
     
  13. asianrage

    asianrage Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011

    Feb 5, 2011
    109
    12
    58
    I'd use Root Explorer, navigate myself into the /data/data folder and manually delete that app.
     
    TheManWithNoNa likes this.
  14. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    The safest way to remove bloatware would be to install a different rom, you could even choose to use one of the stock debloated roms if you want to stay close to stock.

    I would suggest titanium backup to uninstall system apps if you don't want to flash a rom. Better yet use titanium to freeze them or use root explorer to rename them with the extension .old then reboot. Becareful trying to do it without just installing a differrent rom because some of the "bloatware" may be needed for some operations on your phone.
     
    TheManWithNoNa likes this.
  15. TheManWithNoNa

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011

    Jul 26, 2011
    19
    4
    36
    So I flashed the new radios with the rooted stock ROM:

    [​IMG]

    ...and it looks like my speeds didn't improve at all. My uploads got slower. Oh well I hope the 3G/4G handoffs will be smoother.

    [​IMG]

    Now to experiment with some ROMs.
     

Share This Page

Loading...