1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Rooted] Wiped Internal Storage and OS on HTC ONE BY MISTAKE

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by hussienm, May 15, 2015.

  1. hussienm

    hussienm Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    4
    0
    15
    Male
    I have an unlocked bootloader and twrp i wiped my internal storage and the OS by mistake when trying to wipe my device in order to flash a new rom :(. I know i basically soft-bricked the phone and that its fixable through fastboot and adb some how but i don't know what to do.

    PLEASE HELP! This is the only phone i got.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Hadron

    Hadron Smoke me a kipper...
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    24,789
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    24,789
    19,238
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Is your recovery still working? If so you just need to flash a new ROM. Either use "adb sideload", which pushes the ROM zip to your phone and installs it, or if you have an OTG cable put the ROM on a flash drive, attach that to the phone then flash the zip using recovery (selecting USB OTG storage as the source).

    If you managed to wipe recovery too, fastboot flash that back then use it to install the ROM.
     
    scary alien likes this.
  3. hussienm

    hussienm Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    4
    0
    15
    Male
    yes recovery is still working but i dont think im using adb sideload correctly. I tried pushing a rom to the phone a few times already and it doesnt seem to be working.
     
  4. Hadron

    Hadron Smoke me a kipper...
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    24,789
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    24,789
    19,238
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Have you put the phone in recovery mode before doing that? You'll need an ADB daemon running on the phone, and with the OS gone the recovery is the best bet. Check it' response to "adb devices" first.

    If you can't get it to respond, an OTG cable is quite cheap, and useful to have with a phone with no removable storage.
     
    scary alien likes this.
  5. hussienm

    hussienm Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    4
    0
    15
    Male
    I tried adb devices as well and my device isnt coming up its just blank after i hit enter. So basically if i buy an otg cable i can forcefully transfer files onto my device?? Is that correct?

    Sorry im a total noob at this,
     
  6. Hadron

    Hadron Smoke me a kipper...
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    24,789
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    24,789
    19,238
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    If you buy an OTG cable you can flash a ROM directly from a usb flash drive.

    What recovery do you have? TWRP has an "ADB Sideload" mode under "Advanced", so it might be worth trying that (select that, then try the adb sideload command).

    (I've never used sideload myself BTW).
     
  7. hussienm

    hussienm Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    4
    0
    15
    Male
    ive also already tried the abd sideload mode in twrp but it just keeps saying starting adb sideload and doesnt progress from there. Might try my luck with an otg cable :/

    What idiot thought it was a good idea to put wipe factory reset next to system wipe ?!?!?!?!?!?
     
  8. shauny13

    shauny13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,274
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    1,274
    303
    163
    Male
    Beautiful Dorset
    a factory reset or system wipe wont wipe your sd card though. Isn't your new rom zip on the sd card ready to flash?
     
  9. Hadron

    Hadron Smoke me a kipper...
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    24,789
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    24,789
    19,238
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Actually in TWRP you have to go into the advanced wipe menu to wipe system, and you can do the sort of reset you need for a ROM flash (data, cache and dalvik) without going near that. So I'm not sure quite what happened here.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...