1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Rooted with Revolutionary, next step help

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Dishiki, Sep 9, 2011.

  1. Dishiki

    Dishiki Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011

    Sep 9, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    I just rooted successfully using revolutionary, and am kind of at a loss of where to go from here. I do know that my radio is MR2, it is baseband 1.39.000.0627r; 0.01.69.0625r.


    I would like to download and use a bare bones type rom that will get rid of all the bloatware. I've seen a few people mention CM7. What exactly are the steps to going about doing this. I read the how to thread but am still a little confused. Do I need to change the radio? If so, do I do that first? Do I do the ROM first? Is there anything else that I have to do? I literally just rooted about five minutes ago and checked it with root check and it was a success.

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    Do you want the HTC Sense interface? If not then you want an AOSP rom if so you want a Sense rom. Currently on the AOSP front I know people are running BlackAOSP 2.1 personal, CM7 (both 1.61 and 1.7), and ShiftTheory 2.0f. For Sense roms I can't really make recommendations I haven't run a sense rom for more than 5 mins in over 2 months.

    You shouldn't need to change the radio but you can if you want. Since you are on MR2 it shouldn't matter if you flash the radio or rom first.
     
  3. Dishiki

    Dishiki Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011

    Sep 9, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    I do not need the sense interface. I would like to try something different. I have never rooted and this is my first android phone (had a blackberry). I guess I want something stable. Also, do I need to download a new kernal? Or do I stick with what I have? How do I know which radio versions work well with which roms?


    Finally, I saw that the clockwork mod is the way to go. I hit yes during the revolutionary root so I am assuming I have it. I saw when I download a rom I need to flash it through clockwork. How do I reboot into the clockwork recovery mode?
     
  4. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    When you flash a rom a kernel will be flashed with it. You may wish to flash a different kernel to change battery life or allow easier over clocking later. I perfer the 3rd GB leaked radio, there is a link to it in the sticky. Radios that are MR2 and above will perform the same on any rom.

    You boot into recovery by first going to hboot. Power off and then hold volume down while powering back on. Before you try this make sure there is not a zip on the root of your SD that is titled "PG05IMG.zip" or anything like that. If there is delete it.
    Once in hboot you press volume down to highlight recovery and press the power button that will take you into recovery. I personally like TWRP more than CWM but CWM works fine.
     
  5. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    You can also download an app called quick boot since you're rooted and use that to get to recovery. That way you don't have to go through hboot every time. Once you're on a custom ROM there will be an option to boot into hboot or recovery in the power menu (long press the power button>reboot)
     
  6. kool kat2

    kool kat2 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,019
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011

    May 21, 2011
    1,019
    140
    163
    Male
    Carson, CA

    There's some roms that say to flash a specific radio. Is that just "recommended " or required?
     
  7. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    What radio are they saying to flash. If it is mr1 then forget the rom. If it is mr2 then it means mr2 plus.

    Do you have an example
     
  8. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    since radio flashing requires potentially dangerous hboot flashing,id prolly reccomend to stay where you are for now. as has been said,pretty much any rom worth running at this point will work with what you have. give it a few days and see how your voice and data connections are.

    once youre a lil more confident you can try some newer radios if you want and see if there is any real improvement(i think alot of improvements,even those seen by me ;), are alot of times due to the "placebo affect" of something new,lol).

    id also suggest checking out the thunderbolt rom list,and how to sticky threads at the top of the page. lots of info there. then post up if you have more questions about any of it.
     
    kool kat2 and WormDoes like this.
  9. kool kat2

    kool kat2 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,019
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011

    May 21, 2011
    1,019
    140
    163
    Male
    Carson, CA
    The threads for the Eaton rom and lightning rom say to flash a radio. Eaton specifiea mr2 but the other one isn't labeled, just has a download link. I switched from eaton to Lightning and back to eaton flashing the radios each time.
     
  10. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    Eaton is a MR2 based froyo rom I think. So any MR2+ radio should work fine. I know the dev says otherwise and it could be an issue with GB radios on Froyo but I haven't heard of anything like that happening before.

    I am not sure what lightning rom is. Tesla Coil? If it is the newest one RC3 then you should be fine with any MR2+ radio. I would suggest if you are going to stick with Froyo to do so and not to flash in hboot so much, if something were to bork up in hboot you would have an issue. I personally would suggest you jump to a GB based rom. They are as stable as Froyo based, you can get the newest radios and stick with them without fear that the radio isn't going to work with a rom.
     
    kool kat2 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...