1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Rooted yesterday and very happy so far

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by VanDums, Sep 16, 2010.

  1. VanDums

    VanDums Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    112
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010

    Jan 29, 2010
    112
    5
    36
    Computer Support Specialist
    OH
    I finally took the dive because the phone was just getting slow. I flashed it with Ivan's official_eris 1.0 which isn't mentioned much but so far it is very good. It uses sense. Most of the pre-installed garbage apps are gone and you can use Titanium Backup to delete the other ones. Wired and wireless tethering are already installed as well as setCPU so it is clocked at 710mhz now. I uninstalled the default messaging app and Footprints.

    The coolest things was being able to use the wireless tethering for my wife's ipod touch. We were at my son's football practice and I was able to let my 3 year old daughter watch her Disney videos on the ipod which requires wifi. Saved us from a lot of crying and complaining.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Eris1981

    Eris1981 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    267
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    267
    17
    38
    I did the same thing yesterday. I have had one small glitch and that is it. Everything has been MUCH snappier.
     
  3. reinert012

    reinert012 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    276
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    276
    5
    36
    Welcome to the root community!

    Before you know it youlll be flashing ROMs left and right. I rooted back in March and I am still flashing ROMs all the the time to see what i like the most and also with all the updates.

    If you want Froyo i recommend this:
    [ROM]KaosFroyo V34 [09/08] [FROYO] - xda-developers

    If you want sense (im currently using 4.2.1..and oh boy is it snappy) i recommend this:
    [ROM][9/13/2010][GPL] xtrSENSE4.2 & 4.5[cache2cache,apps2sd,oc,jit,flash10]-HTC Sense - xda-developers

    Have fun!
     
  4. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,479
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

  5. KE4NYV

    KE4NYV Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009

    Dec 30, 2009
    81
    5
    16
    RF Technician for NASA Wallops Flight Facility and
    Greenbackville, Virginia

    What method did you settle on? I have been on the root fence for months now and I just can't figure out the best/easiest way to go about it. I am to the point where I want to do it, mostly because Verizon came out with the decree that they will not push anything greater than 2.1 to the Eris. I have been programming and tinkering for years, but the fact that I could cripple my only phone makes me second guess. I am just looking for the most bullet proof option to make it happen. Thanks!
     
  6. VanDums

    VanDums Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    112
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010

    Jan 29, 2010
    112
    5
    36
    Computer Support Specialist
    OH
    I did the one click method. Super simple. I had been on the fence and even though I have decent technical skills I really didn't feel like messing with it. Then I saw the one click method and that was it. I was rooted with a new ROM in like 15 minutes. I'm going to load my 4th ROM now. It gets a little addictive once you start even though it gets very annoying reloading everything every time. Even with Titanium backup. Still a little time consuming.
     
  7. VanDums

    VanDums Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    112
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010

    Jan 29, 2010
    112
    5
    36
    Computer Support Specialist
    OH
    One think I have found out is that my cpu won't go over 710. Thank goodness for nand back up. Ran the script in xtr to make the max 748 and my phone no longer boots up. This was in xtrSense and xtrROM. That sucks.
     
  8. KE4NYV

    KE4NYV Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009

    Dec 30, 2009
    81
    5
    16
    RF Technician for NASA Wallops Flight Facility and
    Greenbackville, Virginia
    What are you having to restore after a ROM flash? I though apps and data were preserved?

    I am over on the IRC room now getting the skinny on Nandroid back ups. I was under the impression that Nandroid was a seperate back up app, but turns out, its part of the recovery.
     
  9. VanDums

    VanDums Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    112
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010

    Jan 29, 2010
    112
    5
    36
    Computer Support Specialist
    OH
    I am restoring my apps through Titanium Backup. When you flash a new ROM it is just a base image. You need to put your apps back on. The first time you visit the market you can go to downloads and it will list your apps but you have to reinstall them all before you leave the market or that list goes away. It is just faster to do the back up. The nand backup backs up and image of your phone as it is when you make the back up, but that is just to go back to later if you don't like a rom.
     

Share This Page

Loading...