1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Rooting after Official 2.2 Update

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by SpikerDallas, Mar 14, 2011.

  1. SpikerDallas

    SpikerDallas Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011

    Mar 14, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I have rooted my Captivate before the official 2.2 update through AT&T but since the update, I have not been able to find an update.zip file that works. I get the E:Signature error. There is no lag fix software loaded. I do have Wave Secure running. Any ideas where I can find the most up to date...update.zip.

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. Rootmepls

    Rootmepls Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    264
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011

    Jan 22, 2011
    264
    29
    43
    NorCal
    I just got thru using AIO tool. Of course I flashed back to stock, rooted and then flashed a ROM. Not sure if this will help.

    I thought the oneclickroot was still working. Try it and let us know.
     
  3. vt6spd

    vt6spd Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010

    Oct 4, 2010
    53
    1
    16
    Can't say or I would have to kill you.
    Earth
  4. dbwill

    dbwill Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010

    Dec 9, 2010
    31
    0
    15
    I have the same problem.

     
  5. F_L_Abs

    F_L_Abs Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    May 16, 2010

    May 16, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    I've almost never had a problem rooting and installing custom roms on a Captivate until a friend of mine got an RMA replacement with the official 2.2 pre loaded...

    Anyone happen to find a solution yet?
     
  6. freq019

    freq019 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010

    Sep 11, 2010
    4
    0
    25
    Super one click will root after the factory 2.2 update but in order to use update.zip and clockwork recovery you need to update the kernel to 2e using odin3 there are other threads discussing this which is how I found out how to do it.
     
  7. smpl_sid

    smpl_sid Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011

    Jan 16, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    So I tried the SuperOneClick to hopefully root my Captivate nice and easy. Nope. I updated the official 2.2 on 3/18 and tried it. According to SuperOneClick it was successful. But when I go to Titanium Backup can't get the root rights so I can uninstall all of the bloatware that came with 2.2. The superuser app is there, and I've even gone back to the market and downloded the busybox again. Still nothing. I'm really stoked that the 2.2 is finally on my phone, But now I can't get the bloatware off?!!!
     
  8. kiyoshi

    kiyoshi Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011

    Mar 20, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    i have the exact same issue.. any help would be awesome
     
  9. SuFuCru

    SuFuCru Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011

    Feb 1, 2011
    75
    7
    16
    You have to reboot the phone after installing super one-click for the root to take effect. Had to learn that after trying 10 times.
     
    smpl_sid likes this.
  10. kiyoshi

    kiyoshi Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011

    Mar 20, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Awesome! thank you!
     
  11. smpl_sid

    smpl_sid Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011

    Jan 16, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    Hell yeah. Thanks a lot man! back to where I want to be =)
     
  12. MYFASTANG

    MYFASTANG Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010

    Oct 6, 2010
    21
    3
    36
    Male
    Shop Foreman
    Mira Loma, Ca
    wtf...I have tried the one click method and can't get it to work. It doesn't respond when I use it. I have rooted my old captivate using the update.zip method and was done in 30 seconds. Any plans to create another one for Froyo updated captivates? I'm sick of this crap AT&T bloatware on my phone and want it gone. (If nothing else)
     
  13. MYFASTANG

    MYFASTANG Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010

    Oct 6, 2010
    21
    3
    36
    Male
    Shop Foreman
    Mira Loma, Ca
    Ignore my last post, I needed to update my drivers from last week and then everything went smoothly. Rooted FroYo hell yeah!!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...