• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Rooting and Custom ROMs

Hello all. I have searched here and via Google searches about Rooting and custom ROMs. I still am not quite sure what any of it means. I know rooting allows access to things that you normally cannot do such as removing HTC and Sprint apps. Which I would LOVE to do. I mean, who the hell wants the stock widget anyway?

I have zero experience with any of this and am on the fence with rooting. I don't know what ROMs are or what they do. If anyone is patient enough to explain all of this to me, I appreciate it. If not, I will continue my search. Yes, I am a big N00b!

First off.. I would recommend heading over to the "All Things Root" thread (which is where you probably should have posted this, too). No problem though. We have mods who are excellent at moving things.

Now... the #1 thing to know about rooting is you need to read, read, read. to help narrow your reading and give you some direction, I will point you in the right direction.

First off...read http://androidforums.com/evo-4g-all-things-root/194918-rooting-dummies-extras.html
This will give you very good oversight into HOW to root and some of the things you can do once rooted. Read every single step that is included in that guide.. twice..at least.

I also recommend checking this out http://androidforums.com/evo-4g-all-things-root/129648-quick-intro-rooting-those-new-rooting.html
This will explain some of the benefits to rooting and also explain some of the vocabulary - like ROM.

After you have read the first posts in both of those reads and feel comfortable with what they are describing, feel free to ask any more questions you may have. There are quite a few of us around here that are pretty comfortable with rooting, so you will have a lot of support.