• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Rooting "Benefits"....

DraySmith

Mar 18, 2011
What's up guys, I'm new to the whole Android world and I would like to know, If someone could explain what "Rooting" is and why would I want to do it? I have had a Jailbroken iPhone for along time in the past, Is it something like that? Thanks for taking the time to teach me guy's!

P.S. I have a Samsung Galaxy Tab, Model-SGH-I987 On the AT&T Network.
Thanks agan for helping me learn about this stuff.

idk if tabs are the same as phones in terms of rooting, but since the galaxy software is very similar. I could tell you that rooting has it's benefits, mainly in terms of customization and optimization. After rooting your tab, you can install a number of different roms, which have various differences. Some are blurred, some focused, meaning they removed a lot of, if not all of the bloatware. Typically custom roms run smoother and rooting comes with access to helpful apsps that an unrooted device wouldn't be able to use. Apps like titanium back up, hot spot, overclock, etc.

Rooting basically gives YOU more control over YOUR device.

Upvote 0
I am new to all this. I have used Linux in the past but wouldn't know where to start with Android.

However, when Apple made my iPhone3G crawl along like an arthritic snail after I upgraded it to iOS4, I bought an Android. I have loads of gadgets so another phone was fun to try.