1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Rooting DX 4.5.602

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Poehring, Aug 28, 2011.

  1. Poehring

    Poehring Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009

    Jun 7, 2009
    81
    1
    16
    Collections. Bisohp White Marshal & Weibel P.S.
    Des Moines, WA USA
    Can Someone point me in the right direction of Rooting my DX running System 4.5.602? I know I have to do a complete Wipe so I guess it doesn't matter what system I'm running :p I would like to still have Gingerbread but Im wondering in your guys opinions, what the best ROM is. I was using Liberty before, and I loved it, but I have been told Liberty is not currently working with Gingerbread? Or something. Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,269
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,269
    23,508
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Poehring,

    Well there, are now two ways to root Gingerbread on the DX.

    The first way is a little involved and requires you to SBF back to Froyo, re-root, install Droid2Bootstrapper, boot into ClockworkMod and flash the pre-rooted .602 OTA files (provided by p3droid).

    The second way involves a brand-new exploit, just released a few days ago (8/25) and is very easy and simple, but involves rooting your .602 GB phone from your PC:

    http://androidforums.com/droid-x-all-things-root/403069-exploit-root-dx-gb-without-2-part-aio-tbh-files-one-click-method-now-included.html

    I'm guessing you are going to opt for the second method, eh?

    Cheers and good luck!
     
    Poehring likes this.
  3. Poehring

    Poehring Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009

    Jun 7, 2009
    81
    1
    16
    Collections. Bisohp White Marshal & Weibel P.S.
    Des Moines, WA USA
    Haha well not necessarily, the first method MIGHT be easier since I am currently running stock. Un-rooted, Also, I have experience running the first method as I was rooted prior to Gingerbread, but un-rooted when Gingerbread came out so that I could update. I just havent re-rooted yet but am very ready to do so :p
     
  4. tom108

    tom108 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,672
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    do option 2 it is very fast and very easy. I have done it on a DX, DX2 and D3 all worked flawless and in less that 5 minutes.
     
  5. Poehring

    Poehring Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009

    Jun 7, 2009
    81
    1
    16
    Collections. Bisohp White Marshal & Weibel P.S.
    Des Moines, WA USA
    Wow Im a little confused, there are so many links to so many posts, lol. Which one has the One Click instructions? Sorry, not finding it :p

    Edit: NM, I found it. Stay tuned.
     
  6. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    323
    Male
    Virginia
    hopefully you got it all worked out bud
     
  7. Poehring

    Poehring Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009

    Jun 7, 2009
    81
    1
    16
    Collections. Bisohp White Marshal & Weibel P.S.
    Des Moines, WA USA
    Alright it went off without a hitch, so I SHOULD be good to go. I can't remember though, do I need to do a Wipe to install a ROM?
     
  8. Bankswood

    Bankswood Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,066
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    1,066
    82
    128
    Charlotte
    if I use the one click method do I first have to SBC back to froyo. I'm on. 596 with a theme. can I go straight from there?
     
  9. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    323
    Male
    Virginia
    when installing a rom you must wipe data and cache first!

    you can just flash the .602 ota overtop of the .596 as long as you dont have a rom on it
     
  10. Bankswood

    Bankswood Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,066
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    1,066
    82
    128
    Charlotte
    Ok wait I think I'm confused (which is actually cnfirmation that I am confused. I am on .596 rooted and I have removed some apps so I can't get the OTA so I assume I will nedd to sbf back to froyo then get the OTA then use the One Click. Does that sound right?
     
  11. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,269
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,269
    23,508
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Sounds right to me! :)

    And you don't sound confused to me at all ;).

    Cheers!
     
  12. tsargent347

    tsargent347 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    114
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011

    Aug 24, 2011
    114
    25
    43
    Upstate South Carolina
    ok im currently on .596 and im wanting to root and rom my x, i have both the one click on my computer and i have the proper sbf files on my computer to sbf my phone to froyo, can your rom the .602 root yet? or do you have to wait for a dev to make a rom for this build..i would like to run Apex or Liberty rom
     
  13. Ringhale

    Ringhale Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    142
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010

    Apr 20, 2010
    142
    64
    53
    Michigan
  14. Poehring

    Poehring Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009

    Jun 7, 2009
    81
    1
    16
    Collections. Bisohp White Marshal & Weibel P.S.
    Des Moines, WA USA
    Never heard of Shuji. Im waiting on the ROM as it sounds like a lot of people are having issues with Apex on 602
     
  15. bouchigo

    bouchigo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,756
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    3,756
    1,026
    413
    Production Engineer Mngr.
    Stockton, CA

    People are having similar issues with Shuji since Shuji is based off of ApeX.
     
  16. bsems1000

    bsems1000 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    432
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    432
    60
    53
    7 cities VA
    Just recieved my Fresh DX (ins claim) R.I.P DX1.1 onto 1.2.

    But will the 1 click method work with stock 4.5.602?
     
  17. bouchigo

    bouchigo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,756
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    3,756
    1,026
    413
    Production Engineer Mngr.
    Stockton, CA
    Yes it will.
     
    bsems1000 likes this.
  18. bsems1000

    bsems1000 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    432
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    432
    60
    53
    7 cities VA
    The dl link for pete moto root tools isnt working anymore
    Anyone have the file?

    Nevermind: Here is a working link to those who need it.

    Petesrootv7
     

Share This Page

Loading...