1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root ROOTING For Dummies

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Matlock, Oct 7, 2010.

  1. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,218
    Posts:
    30,224
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,224
    25,450
    4,218
    Male
    Next to you
    Not so sure you need unroot to bring to Sprint store. Their policy regarding rooted phones has changed.
    I brought mine in for a vibration motor problem, rooted, and they gave me no hassle.
    See this article
     

    Advertisement

    ocnbrze likes this.
  2. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,033
    Posts:
    26,890
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    26,890
    16,843
    3,033
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    yeah if anything you can just flash a stock rom before taking it in.
     
    Mikestony likes this.
  3. hookemfox

    hookemfox Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    8
    2
    6
    I'm trying to pull up the unroot guide, but when I click the show button. It just shows this "%1$s"

    Any suggestions?
     
  4. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,218
    Posts:
    30,224
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,224
    25,450
    4,218
    Male
    Next to you
    Unfortunately, that is an issue here that is getting worked on.
    The only thing I can suggest is waiting until it gets fixed, or p.m. ocnbrze as he may have it, or he can get it....:)
     
  5. Fletch101

    Fletch101 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012

    Aug 2, 2012
    2
    1
    6
    I rooted my phone about a year and half ago and have not updated it since. I would like update it with the latest OTA (I think). I'm trying to follow the "UPDATING TO THE LATEST OTA*" guide, but after a couple hours, I'm still confused. First, here are my specs:

    Android Version 2.2
    Baseband Version 2.15.00.11.19
    Kernel Version 2.6.32.17-gee557fd htk-kernel@and18-2 #15
    Build Number 3.70.651.1 CL294884 release-keys
    Software Number 3.70.651.1
    Browser Version WebKit 3.1
    PRI Version 1.90_003
    PRL Version 60690
    ClockworkMod Recovery v2.6.0.1

    I started the guide at Section 4: "Updating to the Latest OTA*". I didn't see links for the list of updated OTAs, so I downloaded the combo .zip EVO_Radio_2.15.00.08.08_WiMAX_27243_PRI_NV_2.15_003 from the link provided under "RADIOs" and copied to a directory on my phone. (I feel stupid for asking, but does the term "radio" when used in this context refer to something other than than the built-in tuner?)

    I have performed Steps 1 and 2 under "GENERAL PRE-UPDATE" successfully. I was about to perform Step 1 under "FLASHING RADIOS", but I decided to read the notes, and I saw the following under "BAD COMBINATIONS": "Older SW version than the new OTA + Radios from new OTA + stock HTC kernel". Will someone please explain what indicates if the SW version is "old"? Is my SW version old? Does "SW version" refer to the Android Version, the Software Number, or something else? If I have a bad combination, what are the steps I can take to get this sucker updated?

    Any help anyone can offer would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
     
  6. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,033
    Posts:
    26,890
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    26,890
    16,843
    3,033
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    software version refers to just that and right now the most current software version is 5.07. the previous software version is 4.67. at the moment we do not have the radios for the current version. so i would just update to 4.67 if you want. but let me say that the stock rom blows. i would try mikg3.11 which is pretty much up to date. the last few ota's really does not have what has already been done by the devs.

    radios on the other hand is different. like i said we do not have the radios for the current software version. one thing about radios. whatever you do DO NOT PULL THE BATTERY OUT while it is installing. that is a sure way to brick your phone. also make sure that you have a nandroid backup that has wimax backed up. there is a very small possibility that you could loose your wimax keys and then you will not have 4g. once the keys are gone they are gone for good unless you have a nandroid backup.

    so here is mikg3.11:
    MikG v3.11 [3/9/2012]. download the full wipe version.

    and here is the latest radio:
    CM-EVO_Radio-2.15.00.12.19_PRI-2.33_WiMax_NV.zip. just flash this as you would a rom.
     
    Fletch101 likes this.
  7. Fletch101

    Fletch101 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012

    Aug 2, 2012
    2
    1
    6
    Thanks for the advice. I'll give it a shot sometime in the next couple few days.
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  8. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,033
    Posts:
    26,890
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    26,890
    16,843
    3,033
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    almost forget to say: WELCOME TO THE FORUMS!!!!!!!!

    keep us posted and let us know how you like mikg3.11.
     
  9. skywalker1109

    skywalker1109 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2012

    Sep 4, 2012
    12
    0
    15
    Screwin up my phone
    Oregon
    I locked the oem via cmd and flashed my HTC Evo V 4G with a ruu that wasn't compatible. Now my phone USB connection isn't at all showing up in my computer. I've switched cables, messed with various reboot, shut-down/restart, etc methods and all throw me back onto the fastboot screen with "re-locked" at the top and no USB recognition by my computer. Reinstalled HTC sync and the latest HTC drivers and still nothin. I'm feeling like I may have a very expensive paper weight on my hands. Any suggestions?
     
  10. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #13
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,908
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,908
    13,142
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    You very well may have a paper weight. Never put things on the phone that aren't made for your device
     
  11. skywalker1109

    skywalker1109 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2012

    Sep 4, 2012
    12
    0
    15
    Screwin up my phone
    Oregon
    That's the idea. Does anyone have a link to the most up to date ruu compatible with the Evo V 4G? Just thought I'd ask since I'm here. Thanks in advance.

    Also, for other's with this USB issue: It'll be hit or miss when running the RUU but messin with the menu while running it seems to help it connect. I've been able to flash two other three other RUU's thus far (with errors of course) but at least it's not a total loss. Cheers, mates.
     
  12. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,218
    Posts:
    30,224
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,224
    25,450
    4,218
    Male
    Next to you
    You can try here, but I don't know what the "name" for the Evo V 4g is.
    The Evo 4g is "supersonic"..that's the forums you are in.
    Hope that kinda helps;)
     
  13. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #13
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,908
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,908
    13,142
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Yes, these are the wrong forums. The evo v 4G is a re branded evo 3d for the prepaid carriers
     
    Mikestony likes this.
  14. pbrstanwood

    pbrstanwood Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    90
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010

    Jan 8, 2010
    90
    1
    16
    Female
    contractor new homes
    Seattle,
    :thinking:I'm trying to root my virgin mobile phone HTC evo My HBOOT is 1.57.0000 My Android version is 4.0.3 my software # 1.13.652.27ord

    I do know my boot loader is locked I don't know how to unlock or root this version I have ICE not gingerbread


    thanks Robin
     
  15. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,218
    Posts:
    30,224
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,224
    25,450
    4,218
    Male
    Next to you
    You have the Evo 4G?
     
  16. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #13
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,908
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,908
    13,142
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    The virgin mobile is a EVO v 4g. It's a rebranded sprint EVO 3d
     
    ocnbrze and DragonSlayer95 like this.
  17. DragonSlayer95

    DragonSlayer95 Resident Air Bender
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    653
    Posts:
    8,778
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012

    Mar 9, 2012
    8,778
    3,758
    653
    Male
    Reno, Nevada
    http://androidforums.com/showthread.php?t=556788

    This is where you want to go. Completely wrong forum.

    Sent From My Paranoid Evo 3D Using TapaTalk 2
     
    ocnbrze and Mikestony like this.
  18. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #13
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,908
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,908
    13,142
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Easy mistake to make. Its a poorly named phone. Way too confusing
     
    DragonSlayer95 and ocnbrze like this.
  19. pnicoll

    pnicoll Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012

    Nov 4, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    I can't seem to get past this step as I am trying to root my Android Evo 4G sprint phone

    STEP 2: BOOTLOADER MODE
    Hold down VOL DOWN + POWER until device boots into a White Screen.
    Move to BOOTLOADER by using the VOL DOWN toggle and select by using POWER button. The device will now boot into Recovery mode.

    S-OFF
    If the S-OFF (colored in RED) is showing as S-ON on your device, your security is not fully OFF. Refer to ROOTING & BACKUP: Section 4 to FLASH a file to help get that to change so you can do a NAND backup and FLASH custom ROMs.

    When I get into HBOOT, I am prompted to see if I want to start the update. I did this update when I unlocked the phone. I don't know why it keeps appearing. If I say no and no, then it gives me a normal HBOOT screen, but it has no S-ON or S-OFF showing anywhere. What am I doing wrong?
     
  20. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,033
    Posts:
    26,890
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    26,890
    16,843
    3,033
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    welcome to the forums!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    the reason you are getting that message each time is because you probably have the PC36IMG file still on your card. if you delete it(you do not need it any more), then you will not be asked to update each time.

    also what method are you trying to use? what step are you on? do you have s-on or s-off? what is your hboot?
     
    Rxpert83 likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...