1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Rooting GB, with Amon Ra v2.3 recovery

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by andygu3, Oct 27, 2011.

  1. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,697
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,697
    2,079
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    Enjoy your newly rooted phone:D:D:D:D

    Any questions or other issues, ask away. There are many helpful people in this section:):D
     

    Advertisement

    ocnbrze and KathyL like this.
  2. Parris

    Parris Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011

    Nov 10, 2011
    10
    3
    36
    Construction Managment
    Phoenix, Arizona
    Thanks!! Where do I go to get new themes/icons for my evo, are they called roms? Is there a way to get the new ice cream sandwich? :thinking:
     
  3. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,697
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,697
    2,079
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    The best and most up to date information on roms and kernels will be to look into the Roms and Kernels sticky.

    Remember, it's probably best to read the op's information on the roms before flashing any kind of theme. More than likely, they will have links specific for their roms.


    ICS source code was just released so my guess is that we will not see a ICS rom for a little bit but my guess is we will have an beta/stable ICS rom by Christmas;)
     
    ocnbrze and Parris like this.
  4. Parris

    Parris Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011

    Nov 10, 2011
    10
    3
    36
    Construction Managment
    Phoenix, Arizona
    Im still confused as to why the partition is needed. What is it used for? What do I put on the smaller partition? Can I just use partion magic on my computer to do so with outh the card being in the phone?
     
  5. KathyL

    KathyL Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011

    Aug 27, 2011
    42
    33
    43
    Accountant, Paralegal
    Whittier, CA

    Partitioning the sd card simply means that you are designating a portion of the card for downloaded apps. We only have so much room on the phone so it's a good idea to use some of the card for apps. It's called a2sd or apps 2 sd card. If you have ever gone to "menu/settings/applications" and moved an app between phone and sd card it's the same thing. When you partition the sd card, apps that you download from the market usually go straight to the sd card so you have that much more storage room. If you move them the menu/settings/applications way you are limited as to what the system says you can move. I used the guide that Ocnbrze wrote "Rooting for dummies...Gingerbread edition" under partitioning and it's a breeze! hehe. I highly suggest you use that method. I don't know "partition magic" way but I use Amon Ra to wipe/flash/partition. I believe it's the preferred method for most! Also, when I flashed MikG 2.59, apps went to the partition and I have tons of space, internal and on the card! Hope this was helpful!!!
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  6. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    3,108
    Posts:
    27,166
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    27,166
    17,096
    3,108
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    it is not completely necessary to partition your card. it is recommended for some of the sense 3.0 and sense 3.5 roms as the newer sense underlay is very large and takes up a lot of room. basically partitioning your card is just making room for your apps.

    there are two ways to move apps to the card. one way you do not have to partition it and that is called apps2sd. this is something that was introduced with froyo. basically what it does is that it splits an app in two and leaves one part on the phone and the other part on the card. and because you are splitting the app, you can't use any of the widgets associated with that app. but, this method does not make enough room as some pf the app is still on your phone. it is not very efficient.

    a2sd is completely different. it moves the entire app to the card. basically what it does is that it creates a symbolic link on the phone that tells where to find the app on the card. this is a much more efficient way of moving apps. but, you do need to have the card partitioned in order to do it. also with a2sd it is recommended that you have a higher class sd card where the read and write speeds are fast. basically, since the entire app is on the card your speed and smoothness of the app maybe effected by the class of the card. a class 4 or a class 6 or higher is recommended.

    hope that clears the air about partitioning. you can read more about it in the http://androidforums.com/evo-4g-all...ooting-dummies-guide-gingerbread-edition.html.
     
    KathyL likes this.
  7. KathyL

    KathyL Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011

    Aug 27, 2011
    42
    33
    43
    Accountant, Paralegal
    Whittier, CA

    If you use Titanium Backup, in the bottom right corner you will see System ROM, Internal, SD card, AND a2sd if it worked. I wondered if i did it right also!! ;-)
     
  8. KathyL

    KathyL Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011

    Aug 27, 2011
    42
    33
    43
    Accountant, Paralegal
    Whittier, CA
    Der. Sorry Ocnbrze, didn't see you already posted about Ti.
    +1 on the new Amon Ra. Love it!
    +1000 on the awesome Guides here in AF!! Don't know where I'd be without you!! <3
     
  9. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    3,108
    Posts:
    27,166
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    27,166
    17,096
    3,108
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    only if you have the pro key will it show you sd ext size.
     
  10. KathyL

    KathyL Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011

    Aug 27, 2011
    42
    33
    43
    Accountant, Paralegal
    Whittier, CA

    Thanks for the correction hot stuff!! You guys so rock! I had Pro from the beginning so I didn't know that! After all the great things I heard about Ti, I bought Pro to donate to the developer. Well worth it!!
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  11. Palmetto Fellow

    Palmetto Fellow Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,022
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010

    Sep 24, 2010
    2,022
    323
    183
    SC

    I just rooted with this method and everything went fine until I got here.

    I wasn't prompted, or if I was, it timed out. I wasn't sure who was going to prompt me for the recovery, and kept looking at the phone. I eventually saw, in a background window, the Revolutionary window telling me it was done (or whatever it says). I noticed that Recovery had been installed. I think it was Clockwork.

    This threw me for a loop. I proceeded with loading the SU.zip and rebooted. Then I followed your procedure on post #2 for converting to Amon Ra, and I think I am now on that Recovery.

    Is it typical to always boot into the system menu and be asked for an update which you answer "yes" to and then "no" to the reboot before accessing the recovery? I wonder had I never installed Clockwork, would this step be in place to access the recovery?
     
  12. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    3,108
    Posts:
    27,166
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    27,166
    17,096
    3,108
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    if you have the PC36IMG file for amon ra still on your sd card then yes everytime you go into the bootloader it will automatically search for that file name and if it is on the card then it will always ask you if you want to update. just delete the file, you do not need it anymore.
     
  13. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,697
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,697
    2,079
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    At the end of the rooting process and after the phone was successfully rooted, revolutionary will ask if you would like to flash a recovery. That's why you have the amon ra PC36IMG.zip on the root sdcard so when you boot to the bootloader screen, the phone will scan the PC36IMG.zip and then prompt you if you would like to update. Press volume up for yes
     
  14. jcunwired

    jcunwired Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011

    Jun 8, 2011
    82
    40
    23
    Semanticweb
    Virginia
    Quick tip in case others run against this -

    I just got a replacement phone from Asurion after dropping and cracking my screen. Oddly enough, Asurion does not include the S/N in the sticker under the battery (at least on my phone). While I fretted for a bit, don't worry, Revolutionary will display your S/N, you can go back and get a key before gaining s-off.

    By the way, also worth mentioning, copy and paste the key from Revolutionary website, it makes life a lot easier.
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  15. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    3,108
    Posts:
    27,166
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    27,166
    17,096
    3,108
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    good things to point out. thanx.

    also with copying and pasting i found that notepad++ worked better for me then just copy and pasting directly. i also found that notepad++ worked better then notepad for me as well.
     
  16. RCope48

    RCope48 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    151
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010

    Aug 30, 2010
    151
    64
    53
    Boiler Master
    Colorado
    Man, what a great write up! I have a question, I just acquired a brand new EVO with Sprint service, but has never been activated, still in the box, is it possible to root first, and then have it activated by Sprint or should I wait?
     
  17. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    3,108
    Posts:
    27,166
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    27,166
    17,096
    3,108
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    yes you can root it first. all you are doing really is turning the securities off (s-off) then flashing the su file to allow you to change the system partitions. it will not change anything that will prevent you from activating your phone. i would not try any aosp (android open source project) roms. also stay away from the sense 3.5 roms as well. they will not allow for sprint activation. but if you stick to roms like mikg, swag, and the classic evo roms, you should be good to go.
     
    andygu3 and RCope48 like this.
  18. shmn

    shmn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #122
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    532
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011

    Feb 14, 2011
    532
    272
    113
    Marine Diesel Mech
    WA State
    I have a question on the SD card partitioning instructions. Regarding step 10:

    What is this step for? What's happening here? Thanks! Great write-up.
     
  19. RCope48

    RCope48 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    151
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010

    Aug 30, 2010
    151
    64
    53
    Boiler Master
    Colorado
    I just did a Nandroid backup, its on my SD card, so can I just save this to my computer and delete it off the SD? I ordered a new SD card so I have to wait to install and partition it, just dont want to screw anything up!:)
     
  20. RCope48

    RCope48 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    151
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010

    Aug 30, 2010
    151
    64
    53
    Boiler Master
    Colorado
    In my last post, I said I completed a Nandroid backup, and the file does show up when I plug into my PC, but I did a Ti Pro backup to dropbox, and I dont see that Nandroid backup anywhere in there when I open my dropbox? what am I missing here?:thinking: I thought Ti backed up the whole schmere?
     
  21. RCope48

    RCope48 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    151
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010

    Aug 30, 2010
    151
    64
    53
    Boiler Master
    Colorado
    I found my answer......wow...I think just about every question a person can have is already answered here!:)
     
    andygu3 likes this.
  22. cave1238

    cave1238 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011

    Jul 26, 2011
    22
    1
    16
    Hello all, just partitioned my sd card according to andygu3's steps, when my phone rebooted it just shows my wallpaper and when I plug it in to my laptop it is in charge only and I can't pull down the top bar or anything to change it to disk drive, any help please!
     
  23. dustwun77

    dustwun77 Endeavor to Persevere :)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    4,825
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    4,825
    2,844
    623
    Male
    ET
    SC
    Partitioning wipes your sd card.

    Did you happen to make a backup of your apps and data and stuff before you partitioned it?

    Were you using apps2sd before you partitioned?

    I think you might need to reflash the rom after you put the info back onto your sd card.
     
  24. cave1238

    cave1238 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011

    Jul 26, 2011
    22
    1
    16
    Finally figured it out, I needed to enable usb/ms in recovery before my phone was recognized and I could transfer files back to the sd card
     
    dustwun77 likes this.
  25. RCope48

    RCope48 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    151
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010

    Aug 30, 2010
    151
    64
    53
    Boiler Master
    Colorado
    Hey all, Haven't got my new card yet, but am going to format/partition it when it gets here, just a quick question, I bought a little microsd/usb card reader that works pretty slick,:thinking: and was wondering if its possible to just use my PC backup of my original card and just slide it over via USB sans the phone? Not sure if I can partition it this way though?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...