1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

Rooting guide

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by pat8228, Jul 5, 2013.

1. pat8228

pat8228 Lurker

Does anyone know where I can find a detailed rooting guide for a Virgin mobile galaxy s2 D710? I've never done a root before and don't really understand what I need to do. The ones I've read said to download the drivers, but do I need to download all of them or just one? The guides I have read don't go into detail for an idiot like me.
    Thanks.

1. Download the Forums for Android™ app!

Download

2. pat8228

pat8228 Lurker

I tried the guide from rwilco12 and used the one click kernal gb28 for virgin mobile, but I get the following message "MSD5 hash value is invalid" then it ends the download. Nothing happens to my phone.
    Any ideas what is wrong?
    Please help!

3. gtaber

gtaber Newbie

You got lucky. The file you downloaded is corrupted, that's what the MD5 hash file is, to make sure the file is the same when you run it as when the author made the archive. If the MD5 doesn't match up exactly on both ends, the process aborts, because something changed in transit. Before you do anything, make sure you have a way to restore your phone back to stock in case something goes wrong and you can't recover from it. The best way on this model that I know of is an upgrade from Samsung/Virgin Mobile to go to Android 4.0 to 4.1. It wipes the phone and installs a stock version, that is unrooted, but will work. I posted the link to it in another thread, but here it is again:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/aqe1y5i1eu5vqis/Virgin_Mobile_D710_GB28_JellyBean_SimpleUpgradeTool.exe