1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Rooting HD A9191

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ARE2DROID2, Apr 12, 2011.

  1. ARE2DROID2

    ARE2DROID2 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011

    Jan 16, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    Hey All,

    I'm new to the forum so please take it easy on me.

    I have a Desire HD A9191 - The world phone that doesn't work on 3g in North America.

    Has anyone rooted this phone and put on a ROM succesfully? I'm worried that the ROMs out there have been designed for north american phones and may not work on the A9191.

    The phone will be used in Thailand/Iraq/Europe etc...

    Thanks for your input

    Rgs,

    [FONT=&quot]ARE2DROID2
    :)

    --
    Was going to follow this guide for rooting... I am running 2.2.1 build 1.84.707.2

    How To Permanently Root HTC Desire HD [Complete Guide]

    Looks like I need to downgrade to an earlier build as well:
    How To Downgrade HTC Desire HD To Root It After OTA Update


    [/FONT]
     

    Advertisement

  2. JSLEnterprises

    JSLEnterprises Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    90
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011

    Apr 13, 2011
    90
    26
    23
    IT
    Hamilton
    Since it seems you probably have a telus DHD
    might want to follow this

    How To Permanently Root Telus HTC Desire HD

    zantekk.de - HTC Desire HD Filebase
    (Use the 4th Ruu on the list to flash down to 1.32, no need for goldcard and skip to step 2 on the page above)

    It worked on mine, mind you, I used an unlock code to unlock it rather than s-off.

    Works perfectly on the Rogers 3g network, and AT&T
     
  3. ARE2DROID2

    ARE2DROID2 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011

    Jan 16, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    Actually I have an unbranded, unlocked A9191 from Hong Kong. I won't be using it in North America. My worry is that all of the ROMs are developed for the NorthAmerican networks and nothing will work while im overseas.

    Cheers,
     
  4. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #18
    Points:
    1,433
    Posts:
    13,009
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    13,009
    9,644
    1,433
    UK
    I've never ever heard of it being a problem for any international users before.

    Do you have access to a 2.2 RUU you know works in your country? That way you could always keep a backup of compatible firmware for piece of mind. (You can't backup your current firmware as it's unrootable, but you could backup whatever you dowmgrade to).
     

Share This Page

Loading...