1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Rooting help , I am confused

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by parthzzzz, Apr 21, 2010.

  1. parthzzzz

    parthzzzz Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    25
    0
    35
    Student
    India
    Hello all.

    I just went through the rooting thread and i am confused what to do.:thinking::thinking:
    I am from india , bought my htc hero from hongkong.
    So can somebody link me to a perfectly working guide.
    Do i need to provide any information about my phone , like build number etc ?
    Also i am looking to go for android 2.1 update ( eclair i think is the name)
    I am a complete noob when it comes to android :eek::eek:

    Also what all will i be able to do after doing the update.
    what are the disadvantages
    Will the mail app work with yahoomail address ?
     

    Advertisement

  2. jUsT2eXy

    jUsT2eXy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    348
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    348
    124
    68
    Citigroup Plc
    London, UK
    Hi. Please provide Build number etc. All this info. can be found within the 'settings' .. and 'about device' ..

    When you post that I can give you instructions on how to root.

    The official 2.1 update is not out for the HTC Hero. So your only choice is stick to 1.5 or install a custom 1.5 ROM or a custom 2.1 ROM.

    But lets not walk before we can run. Please post the relevant info. and then we will go from there.
     
  3. parthzzzz

    parthzzzz Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    25
    0
    35
    Student
    India
    okay so heres evrything

    fw version - 1.5

    baseband version - 63.18.55.06EU_6.35.06.18

    kernel version- 2.6.27-8dd6deee
    htc -kernel@and18-2 )

    build number 2.73.751.4 146733 CL#61205 release-keys

    software versiion - 1.0.0.A6288
     
  4. jUsT2eXy

    jUsT2eXy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    348
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    348
    124
    68
    Citigroup Plc
    London, UK
    Hi there. You have a Hong Kong based firmware :eek: and I have never assisted anyone that has that ROM.

    So I am going to ask you to follow these instructions (depending on if you want to just root your phone or root & install a custom ROM.

    Instructions are here

    Try that.

    If that fails report back here. YOu may need to downgrade your ROM using the Goldcard method which you can find here
     
    parthzzzz likes this.
  5. parthzzzz

    parthzzzz Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    25
    0
    35
    Student
    India
    Tell me an app from the market which requires root access if u already know one so i can test
     
  6. parthzzzz

    parthzzzz Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    25
    0
    35
    Student
    India
    also i want to install the sense hero 2.1 UI , not the modaco one , does it make a difference ?
     
  7. Jaffa

    Jaffa Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    1,185
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    1,185
    91
    148
    Electrical Engineer
    Brighton
    Titanium back up will tell you, and no you can flash any rom
     
  8. jUsT2eXy

    jUsT2eXy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    348
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    348
    124
    68
    Citigroup Plc
    London, UK
    titanium backup

    Edit: Beat me to it. :p
     
  9. parthzzzz

    parthzzzz Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    25
    0
    35
    Student
    India
    okay , rooted , installed titanium backup

    but when i run it says:

    error
    sorry , i could not aquire root privileges. this application will not work ! please verify that your rom is rooted and includes busybox , and try again


    now what?
     
  10. Jaffa

    Jaffa Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    1,185
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    1,185
    91
    148
    Electrical Engineer
    Brighton
    In titanium there is a selection that says problems, or something like that, hit that and it will download some stuff, then try it again
     
  11. jUsT2eXy

    jUsT2eXy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    348
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    348
    124
    68
    Citigroup Plc
    London, UK
    Hmm. Your not rooted. :( It means you will have to use the Goldcard method.

    [HOWTO] Create a GoldCard - Bypassing the RUU/SPL CID check to Root/Downgrade - xda-developers

    I have no experiance with that method but it works 110% and it is the only option for Asian carriers / T-Mobile users.

    Read that thread, read all the posts. Use google and it will work. I promise you. I will try to help but any further questions should be posted in the thread where the instructions are located as those guys have experiance with using the Goldcard method.

    Sorry I can't be of more help. BUt the Goldcard will work.

    You can also try and use these instructions if they are any easier to follow.. (you tube has many goldcard htc hero videos too)...

    How To: Downgrade Your HTC Hero So It Can Be Rooted (Updated 02.05.10) | The Unlockr
     
  12. parthzzzz

    parthzzzz Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    25
    0
    35
    Student
    India
    it says downloading busybox for like 2 minutes and then it crashes and says failed! see webpage for troubleshooting
     
  13. parthzzzz

    parthzzzz Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    25
    0
    35
    Student
    India
    okay will try
     
  14. jUsT2eXy

    jUsT2eXy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    348
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    348
    124
    68
    Citigroup Plc
    London, UK
    hi there. The normal method has failed. I got you to try it in case it works to save you time.

    But as I thought you need to use the goldcard method see my above post.
    You have an Asian ROM (Hong Kong) so Goldcard is the way forward

    good luck.
     
  15. parthzzzz

    parthzzzz Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    25
    0
    35
    Student
    India
    okay downgraded my build number with the help of goldcard method.

    Now my build number is 2.73.405.5

    Guess what , i still cant get it to root.

    What else can be the problem.

    It says rooted successfully but titanium is not working. and when i try to download the busybox thing , it crashes.

    I think i must be doing something wrong in rooting.

    HELP :(
     
  16. parthzzzz

    parthzzzz Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    25
    0
    35
    Student
    India
    Oh wait busybox installed . Now titanium backup is working.

    that means i have rooted my phone ...

    /dance dance dance

    Now what is the next step .

    I want to install sense hero 2.1 rom
     
  17. Jaffa

    Jaffa Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    1,185
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    1,185
    91
    148
    Electrical Engineer
    Brighton

    You need to install the amron Ra recovery image, follow just2exys guide
     
  18. parthzzzz

    parthzzzz Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    25
    0
    35
    Student
    India
    Done :eek:

    I am on sense hero ROM :D:D:D:D

    thanks for your hellp guyz :D:D:D:D:D
     
  19. jUsT2eXy

    jUsT2eXy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    348
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    348
    124
    68
    Citigroup Plc
    London, UK
    Nice one. :D

    Did we help you enough when you were stuck?

    Could we have done anything better etc? (like adding anything to my guide)?

    This way I can help others better :eek:
     
  20. parthzzzz

    parthzzzz Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    25
    0
    35
    Student
    India
    Nah your guide is almost perfect , only at the end there was some confusion.

    U shud change there.

    Like after nandroid backup , tell people to reboot , format their phone , transfer the rom on mmc , rom shud be in zip format ( thats where i was confused ) , then reboot holding home and power button , then wipe everything , and then apply flash.

    All this is there in you guide , but just not in order :)
     
  21. jUsT2eXy

    jUsT2eXy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    348
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    348
    124
    68
    Citigroup Plc
    London, UK
    Hi there. thanks. I changed a few things in my guide to make it simpler.

    There was a reason for me writing it the way I did but I cannot for the life of me remember why I did it the way I did.

    Here are the differences between the way I did it and the way you did it.

    My way /////////////////// Your Way

    1. Nandroid backup /////////////////// 1. Nandroid backup
    2. PC transfer of backups //////////////// 2. PC transfer of backups
    3. Restart phone /////////////////// 3. Format SD card
    4. Wipe (In recovery menu) ///////////// 4. Put custom rom on sd card
    5. Restart /////////////////// 5. Restart
    6. Format SD card /////////////////// 6. Wipe (In recovery menu)
    7. Put custom rom on sd card /////////////// 7. Flash custom rom
    8. Restart
    9. Flash custom rom

    *Sorry about the bad layout lol*


    You restart once, whereas I restart 3 times :eek: .. Now I think there was a reason for wiping first but I do not remember why. Might have something to do with my existing EX3 partition (which others would not have if this is there first custom rom) ..

    But I have updated my guide

    thanks.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...