1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Rooting in Linux only?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by EABonney, Aug 16, 2011.

  1. EABonney

    EABonney Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    9
    1
    6
    I read in the latest guide that you need the HTC drivers to root the EVO 4G using the Rev Tool. These drivers come in a Windows exe file, so my question is, can I root my EVO with a Linux box only or do I need to use a Windows box? I know the Rev tool has a linux version but what about the HTC drivers?

    Yes I know I can run adb in linux and I know that Andriod is based on linux, but the guide seems to imply I need the windows HTC drivers. If all I need is the Rev tool for linux that is great, but I wanted to check before I got going on this.

    Thanks,
    -Eric
     

    Advertisement

  2. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    i do not think that you need the drivers as i have not done this. i wrote the guide for windows mainly. but i think you should be good to go.
     
  3. Muellersirch

    Muellersirch Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010

    Dec 29, 2010
    26
    8
    16
    Any plans to support Mac computers for the revolutionary tool?
     
  4. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    it seems not at the moment. not sure when that will happen. maybe soon. they do say that this is really meant to be a dev preview and that updates will be coming.
     
  5. 9to5cynic

    9to5cynic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    633
    Posts:
    4,873
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    4,873
    1,766
    633
    /home/
    Yup, you're fine in linux. The drivers are required for windows only.
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  6. EABonney

    EABonney Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    9
    1
    6
    Yup just ran and everything went fine after configuring my box and fixing my adb server issues. Only problem is that I got the Red triangle issue and when I try to run revolutionary a second time it tells me I already have s-off and does nothing but asks if I want to download ClockworkMod Recovery..which I said no to.

    I can't seem to flash the superuser zip file on my device. How do I get back to the bootloader and recovery screen again?
     
  7. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    you have two options
    1. you can run it again to get clockwork mod select yes.
    2.or you can switch to amon ra2.3 read the guide under switching recoveries for the how to's.
     
    9to5cynic likes this.
  8. novox77

    novox77 Leeeroy Jennnkinnns!
    Rank:
     #59
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,965
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    3,965
    3,257
    413
    To get back to HBOOT, power off your device (wait till it's really completely off). Then press POWER + VOL-DOWN together and hold until HBOOT comes up. Volume buttons move up and down the menu. Power button selects. Select RECOVERY.

    If the recovery doesn't load, you either don't have one, or it's corrupt. You'll need to manually flash one. I wrote a guide on how to do this for the Evo 3D, but the procedure is the same for the Evo 4G. If you do the sd card (update.zip) method, the file name needs to be PC36IMG.ZIP instead of PG86IMG.ZIP. That's the only difference.

    http://androidforums.com/evo-3d-all...lash-recovery-image-via-fastboot-sd-card.html

    And it goes without saying that the recovery images provided in that thread is ONLY for the Evo 3D. Don't try to flash those onto the Evo 4G.
     
  9. 9to5cynic

    9to5cynic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    633
    Posts:
    4,873
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    4,873
    1,766
    633
    /home/
  10. EABonney

    EABonney Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    9
    1
    6
    I got it to work, I neglected to put any kind of a recovery item on to the device. All is working now and Root has been established. :) Thanks for the great guide, but I would offer a couple of items that maybe where glitches for me because I was on Linux.

    I preface this with I am a complete newbie and this was my first attempt at Root.

    1. I did not realize that I had to have USB Debugging turned on on the phone, the guide only says to have it connected to the computer with USB charging only.

    2. As mentioned I did not realize that if I said no to the Clockworkmod Recovery then I had NO recovery on the phone :)

    3. Not sure if adb is required to be installed from the Android SDK but luckily I had it and was able to make sure my phone was detected because I was having issues on my Linux machine seeing the phone. Had to google that and play with adb until I got the phone detected.

    Other than that, I had issues but all where directly related to the phone not getting detected by my Linux box and had nothing to do with the guide or the super simple and easy Rooting process with Revolutionary tool!

    Thanks again for the work folks!

    -Eric
     
  11. 9to5cynic

    9to5cynic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    633
    Posts:
    4,873
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    4,873
    1,766
    633
    /home/
    Don't think adb is required in linux. The dev site says that the linux package is all inclusive, (ie no drivers needed), so I'd assume that *all* of the required packages are there as well.

    Hmm.. I thought that the guide mentioned going to debug mode... maybe not. ... Yeah, in step three of before you root, it says to be in debugging mode.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...