1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Rooting Milestone?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by zencooler, Jan 18, 2010.

  1. zencooler

    zencooler Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008

    Dec 26, 2008
    1
    0
    5
    Dear friends,

    Droid rooted few weeks ago. What about Milestone? Anybody knows what's up with this challenge? :eek:
    Thanks in advance for any info in this subject.

    Regards!
     

    Advertisement

  2. big_adventure

    big_adventure Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010

    Jan 9, 2010
    38
    0
    15
    Wow. Just, wow. Try searching next time.

    Anyway, everyone is simply waiting for the 2.0.1 (or whatever) update to show up for the 'stone. The same bug used to root the Droid will almost certainly exist (since it was patched AFTER the Milestone code was finalized), and it can then be used to root the Milestone. Because of this, I don't think that anyone is even bothering to try rooting it right now.

    If you search, you'll find hundreds of thousands hits on the subject. Google says :

    Results 1 - 10 of about 783,000 for root motorola milestone. (0.28 seconds)
     
  3. recklesslife

    recklesslife Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    16
    0
    15
    Wales, UK
    2.0.1 for the Milestone is different from the one that's on the Droid, search and see the difference. They might have fixed bug, there's a few new things on 2.0.1 on the milestone which are not on 2.0.1 for the Droid. No idea why google have done this.
     
  4. JPedro

    JPedro Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009

    Dec 20, 2009
    10
    0
    15
    But the exploit to get root is not in 2.0.1, it is in 2.0. But to use it we need for Motorola to release an update first, because then somebody will modify the 2.0.1 update to exploit the bug thats in 2.0 that is currently running on your phone.
     
  5. akex

    akex Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009

    Jul 22, 2009
    14
    0
    15
    The exploit is in 2.0.1 (for droid) but corrected in the future Milestone 2.0.1 update. The update won't be modified, we will just create a new payload (<63k) with the good rsa check.

    Then, when root is obtained, we will be able to flash recovery and then use non-signed update.zip (the 2.0.1 modified with root)
     
  6. recklesslife

    recklesslife Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    16
    0
    15
    Wales, UK
    I'm not so sure, they showed off a equalizer for the media player on 2.0.1 update for the Milestone. That's not on 2.0.1 for the Droid far as I'm aware and it was lightning fast.
     
  7. JPedro

    JPedro Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009

    Dec 20, 2009
    10
    0
    15
    So what you are saying is that the exploit, exploits a firmware that is not even running on the device.
    Not sure I agree on that, unless you mean the 2.0.1 verifies it self when you flash it.
     
  8. akex

    akex Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009

    Jul 22, 2009
    14
    0
    15
    I didn't write it, as it's mentionned on other forums, but the exploit is, of course, on android 2.0 ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...