1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Rooting my Desire... not going so well

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by travelcat, Aug 14, 2011.

1. travelcat

travelcat Guest
    None
    I'm a noob at this...

Was trying to root my Desire using THIS guide. Ran into "Validation error - Backup CID is missing". Tried a few times but could not get past this error.

I started with a reformatted SD card on a factory reset, unbranded phone.

In checking per the instructions in the Rooting for Dummies guide, I did the checks and discovered that although it has S-OFF, there is no recovery. Sooo, of course I downloaded the recovery file stated in the article, renamed it, put it in the root of the SDcard.

When HBoot loads, there's a short pause, then a bunch of green text quickly scrolls, then - nothing. Just back to the boot screen. I've tried with a couple different versions of both Clockwork and Amon Ra, with the same result. I haven't a clue how to get HBOOT to slow the text down... it might be saying wrong something, I cannot tell.

At the top, it says "Bravo PVT3 Ship S-OFF", but it used to say "Bravo PVT4 Ship S-ON"

The Build on this phone is 2.06.832.1
    HBOOT is version 0.87.0001

Terminal emulator tells me the erase size is 20,000.

Could really use some help here. I really want to root this thing so I can ditch all the crapware it contains - on a fresh factory reset I get less than 60MB of app space... I'm pretty sure the first time I factory reset this thing, I had about 128MB of space... I can't figure out where it's going but at the last I only had room for a total of 6 apps (the rest on SD) and that just ain't right. Even with the "apps to SD" mini-hack, I was unable to move some of the more bloated apps to SD and ended up, deleting them, one by one, as the "low space" icon returned.