1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Rooting on the Telus network (Canada)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by skynet99, Aug 21, 2011.

1. skynet99

skynet99 Newbie
    None

Aug 4, 2011
    Hey guys, I apologize in advance for asking a question that may have already been answered, but I'm new to this. I'm on the Telus network and got my Galaxy S2 from expansys. I've had it for a month now (switched from Iphone 4) and so far love the phone's potential, but hate the slow GPS, horrible battery power, extremely weak wi-fi signal, etc. Now enough complaints, I'd like to root the phone to the latest firmware without screwing up my network settings and experiencing the issues that others have had in regards to poor network strength, lack of connection, etc after rooting. Can someone take me through baby steps of how to do this? If rooting the phone will indeed cause the aforementioned issues, then I'll just wait until Kies updates it in 30 years lol.

Here's what you may want to know:

Model #: GT-I9100
    Android Version: 2.3.3
    Baseband Version: I9100XXKE7
    Kernel Version: 2.6.35.7-I9100XWKF3-CL276555root@DELL101 #2
    Build #: GINGERBREAD.XWKF3

Thanks!

Advertisement

2. heshanj

heshanj Android Expert
    None

firstly u dont need to root to update firmware :) just flash a new firmware from here:
    [ROM + Guide]Official i9100 Firmwares KF1/2/3/4/, KG1/2/3/5/6/7, KH1/3 Download - xda-developers
    XXKG5 (OXA Poland) is the newest official and the one im using is the newest (leaked) one, KH3

all the info u need is in that thread. additionally, if u still want to root, this is the easiest and in my opinion, the best method
    [17.08.2011][CF-Root v4.1] KE2/7/8, KF1/2/3/4, KG1/2/3/5/6/7, KH1/3 - su+bb+CWM4 - xda-developers

if u want matching CSC to ur carrier etc, let someone with more experience guide u, my phone is not connected to any brand or network so i cant really comment on that point :D

3. skynet99

skynet99 Newbie