1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Rooting Question Droid X: HTC Sense

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by TmR, Jul 24, 2010.

  1. TmR

    TmR Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010

    Jul 24, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    Hey guys.

    This is my first post on this forum. I am on the fence about getting the HTC Droid Incredible and the Droid X. It would be a lot more palatable if I there was an HTC Sense rom I could flash onto the Droid X. Is there anything of this sort in development or around? Thanks.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,635
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    3,635
    2,126
    313
    Multi-platinum Rapper
    Illinois
    No custom ROMs until we unlock NAND.

    Even if/when we do, porting Sense to a Motorola product has proven to be difficult, as was the case on the original Droid.

    That being said, IMO, Sense is clunky, overrated, and a memory hog. It offers some nice integration, but nothing that can't be done better with 3rd party apps.

    Droid X + LauncherPro/ADW + Beautiful Widgets is basically Sense without the bloat.
     
  3. sic0048

    sic0048 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    545
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010

    Jun 22, 2010
    545
    52
    78
    There is a search button on this forum. That being said, I'll at least answer your question. It's your first post and we all wanted to jump in immediately and ask our pressing questions when we joined.....

    The DroidX comes with a bootloader that only accepts ROMs with a encryption key that only Motorola has. Therefore it is not possible to load any ROMs onto the DroidX at this time.

    I assure you people are working on trying to crack the encrypted bootloader issue. But until that happens, there is no chance of loading any custom ROMs onto the DroidX. Therefore you won't be able to install a Sense ROM at this time.

    You can change a lot of the GUI stuff without necessarily loading a customer ROM, but certainly it would be nice to be able to load a custom ROM.

    PS - Welcome to the forum!!!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...