1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Rooting question (not sure where to put this)

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by NerdasaurusRex, Oct 3, 2012.

  1. NerdasaurusRex

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2012

    Sep 30, 2012
    31
    3
    36
    Male
    Student
    Stockton, CA
    I don't know if this is the proper place to ask this question, and if it's not hopefully someone can direct me to the place where I should ask this type of stuff but...

    I was curious to know if, rooting android was device specific, or specific to the version of android.

    It's a very nooby question and my common sense is telling me it's device specific because of system files and such, but I figured I would ask anyway.
     

    Advertisement

  2. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
     #15
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,181
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,181
    8,677
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    Actually a great question and my answer would be both. It's certainly device specific as exploits, manufacturer allowed unlock (eg. HTC), locked/signed/encrypted bootloaders, etc come into play.


    But even on the same phone model, OS version can be a factor particularly when exploits are necessary. An exploit that works on the current OS version may not, and likely will not, work on a future version as root holes are patched.
     
    NerdasaurusRex likes this.
  3. NerdasaurusRex

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2012

    Sep 30, 2012
    31
    3
    36
    Male
    Student
    Stockton, CA
    Hmm... Well I have a kyocera rise that runs on android 4.0.4 and a tablet that runs on the same exact version of android, and I was wondering if I could use the same rooting method to root the tablet, it's a very generic tablet and I highly doubt anyone will come out with a proper rooting method for it, so I was just curious to know if it would be safe or not.

    I'm not talking about exploits as in apps and stuff, I'm just talking about rooting in general, I don't want to switch roms or anything. just want to unlock the phone so I can tweak the CPU.

    Think I should try and go for it? Or should I just leave the tablet as is... =/
     
  4. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
     #15
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,181
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,181
    8,677
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    Understood, I'm not talking about apps either, they're just the carrier of an exploit generally. I'm talking about the underlying exploit used to achieve root such as zergrush, gingerbreak, rage against the cage, various race condition vulnerabilities, etc.

    As for your Kyoceras, I have no idea. My instinct would be to think same manufacture + same OS = yes it would work. But I don't know for sure, sorry.
     
  5. NerdasaurusRex

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2012

    Sep 30, 2012
    31
    3
    36
    Male
    Student
    Stockton, CA
    It's not a kyocera though, I'm not really sure what it is... It's more like a super generic chinese tablet hahaha. It's called an Elsse whatever the hell that is, I picked it up off of amazon for about $100. I think I'll try and hopefully it won't brick, if it does then I guess I'm out $100.
     
  6. loadarm

    loadarm Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012

    Oct 3, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    Hey can u help me with rooting the rise? Any help would be cool. Thanks
     
  7. Digital Controller

    Digital Controller The Real Bass Creator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    953
    Posts:
    12,647
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012

    Sep 5, 2012
    12,647
    3,553
    953
    Male
    Civil Engineer
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Welcome to the forums loadarm, hopefully you will enjoy your time here at AF! :)

    Here is a subforum for rooting your device, as long as i have the device right haha ;)

    Rise - All Things Root - Android Forums

    Hopefully this helps!
     
    chrlswltrs likes this.
  8. loadarm

    loadarm Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012

    Oct 3, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    Went there. Got the files and still nothing can't get phone to show the restore
     
  9. Digital Controller

    Digital Controller The Real Bass Creator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    953
    Posts:
    12,647
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012

    Sep 5, 2012
    12,647
    3,553
    953
    Male
    Civil Engineer
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    So is recovery mode not even working?
     
  10. loadarm

    loadarm Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012

    Oct 3, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    No its not I thought maybe it was the drivers but I don't know I also don't know what ecsactly what I need to root it I would open binary and it would say its looking then say path not found
     
  11. loadarm

    loadarm Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012

    Oct 3, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    I just need to instructions from beginning to end...I rooted a fusion was easy as pie but this is getting me
     
  12. NerdasaurusRex

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2012

    Sep 30, 2012
    31
    3
    36
    Male
    Student
    Stockton, CA
    I made a video on how to root the rise a few days ago, check it out, I hope it helps. Kyocera Rise root Tutorial. - YouTube
     
    iowabowtech likes this.
  13. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
     #15
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,181
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,181
    8,677
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
  14. NerdasaurusRex

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2012

    Sep 30, 2012
    31
    3
    36
    Male
    Student
    Stockton, CA
    Hey, thanks :D <3 hopefully it helps more people out :)
     
  15. loadarm

    loadarm Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012

    Oct 3, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    Hey guys just wanted to let u know I got her done!!!! It was drivers...apperntly I was only getting part of the file???? But any thanks for ur help!!!!!!

    On another note anybody know what bloatware I can remove safely ? ?? I had a memory messeg already and just got the phone......only put on the norm apps....titanium, su, busy etc.....any help would be great thanks again..
     
  16. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
     #15
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,181
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,181
    8,677
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    Not sure what bloat comes on that phone but you can pretty much figure anything carrier specific is fair game. Bottom line though, use Titanium and freeze them for awhile first. They will be out of sight and out of mind that way and if you feel no ill effects, you can always 86 them for good later.
     
  17. loadarm

    loadarm Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012

    Oct 3, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    Thanks Iowa much appreciated
     

Share This Page

Loading...