1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Rooting Questions (sorry)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by iamloco724, Feb 11, 2010.

  1. iamloco724

    iamloco724 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    61
    Posts:
    739
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    739
    4
    61
    i really do want to root either regularly or with sholesmod but i am worried plus have questions

    i know alot of people will say search but its so hard to sort through all these root topics and find the exact answer in a way i understand and this is not something im willing to just jump into cause i cant brick my phone

    im good with computers and all but phone things is something i haven't really experimented with thats why im nervous

    first question is if i use the sholdmod to do it 1.can i use the beast rom once i root with sholes or do i have to use a shoels rom?

    how do i unroot and when i unroot does it go back to the exact droid 2.01 stock that i had or does it use a milestone stock or something

    in sholesmod how to i back up everything into an image



    ok now say i root the default way i know how to do the rooting process for that but what once im rooted should i disable ota if so how do i do that

    then what do i need to download and how do i install like ive heard nandrodi is needed where do i get this how do i install it and how do i create the backup with this

    then with this where to obtain the latest beast relase and how do i install that

    how do i unroot this way of rooting

    anything else i should know please explain and answer these in details..i know i can probably easily do all of this im just a panicky person and what to insure i got all details and info straight first before i jump into anything like this please answer all questions

    i really appreciate any help given..im sorry for such an elaborate post
     

    Advertisement

  2. get quad

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    90
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010

    Feb 1, 2010
    90
    9
    16
  3. iamloco724

    iamloco724 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    61
    Posts:
    739
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    739
    4
    61
    oh sorry didnt realize there was a rooting sub forum now can someone please move this and delete these 2 posts
     
  4. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,635
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    3,635
    2,126
    313
    Multi-platinum Rapper
    Illinois
    Don't apologize for your elaborate post...but I would suggest working on your punctuation and organization. It really hurt my head to read that.

    So here:

    1. This post is going to be moved to the rooting section. All rooting discussion goes on in there. In the future do not create root related threads in the general discussion area.

    2. Sholes' SM Updater will do ALL the work for you. Rooting, installing SPRecovery, and installing their ROM. Of course, with SPRecovery installed, you can actually flash any ROM you want. It also can revert you back to stock 2.0.1 w/ no root.

    3. If you were to do this all manually, it's the same procedure. Root with the update.zip file. Then immediately install SPRecovery and make a nandroid backup. This will be your failsafe image. Then, with SPRecovery, you can install any ROM.

    As for where to get the ROMs, we cannot post the links. However, I do have a nice little link in my sig that might point you in the right direction!
     
  5. SinfulDragon

    SinfulDragon Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    614
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010

    Jan 6, 2010
    614
    36
    88
    Network Admin
    Indiana
    The SM Updater is a very easy to use tool that will create a nanodroid backup for you as it goes, also gives the ability to unroot should you so desire.
    I don't know if you can use a ROM other than theirs but the 2.0.3 does work very well and also gives the option to OC the phone.
     
  6. iamloco724

    iamloco724 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    61
    Posts:
    739
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    739
    4
    61
    thanks for the info..sorry i tend to ramble lol

    so based of what i said and the info you gave me im leaning towards the sholesmod

    will installing the sholesmod disable ota updates or i have to do something to do that
     
  7. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,635
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    3,635
    2,126
    313
    Multi-platinum Rapper
    Illinois
    Yes, there are 2 failsafes for disabling OTA updates.

    First, I believe the Sholes ROM itself does not even check for OTA updates.

    Second, even if you were to get an update.zip file OTA, SPRecovery by default blocks them. You have to enable them first to use them (even when flashing ROMs).
     
  8. iamloco724

    iamloco724 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    61
    Posts:
    739
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    739
    4
    61
    k so if if use sholesmod and keep the sholesrom or even if use shoelsmod and go to beast it should be automatically blocked
     
  9. iamloco724

    iamloco724 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    61
    Posts:
    739
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    739
    4
    61
    one more question ( as of now)

    when i root with sholesmod will it keep my screen layout meaning how my icons are positioned and folders i have setup.. if so will it keep it if i revert back to stock as well
     
  10. DjSmooth

    DjSmooth Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    55
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    109
    0
    55
    Transportation
    NYC
    Yes, during the install process DON'T choose "Wipe"
     
  11. iamloco724

    iamloco724 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    61
    Posts:
    739
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    739
    4
    61
    how does themes work for sholesmode where and how do you choose?
     
  12. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,635
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    3,635
    2,126
    313
    Multi-platinum Rapper
    Illinois
    If you choose to preserve data, all your apps and settings will be saved. But, if you choose to install the 2.1 launcher (don't), or the 2.0.1 launcher w/ 5 screens, your homescreen will be reset.

    When you install, it will give you the option of installing the stock theme or the smoked glass theme.
     
  13. iamloco724

    iamloco724 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    61
    Posts:
    739
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    739
    4
    61
    So if i choose perserve data i wont get 5 screens? Why dont i wana do 2.1 launcher and 2.01 launcher will just get of how my home screen is but give me 5 screens and wont get rid of other data right?
     
  14. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,635
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    3,635
    2,126
    313
    Multi-platinum Rapper
    Illinois
    You have three options:

    1. Don't install any of the custom launchers - keep your 3 screen layout

    2. Install 2.0.1 launcher w/ 5 screens - lose your 3 screen layout

    3. Install 2.1 launcher - lose your layout, slow down your phone
     
  15. iamloco724

    iamloco724 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    61
    Posts:
    739
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    739
    4
    61
    Gotcha thanks
     
  16. DroidSuks

    DroidSuks Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    341
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009

    Dec 9, 2009
    341
    18
    38
    is a smokey place.
    Also considering Pete's BB. Presently stock but I understand the process for the most part... or maybe not.. ;)

    Technically... if I wanted to throw caution to the wind, I could install BB Rom using the stock recovery tool... correct?. SPRecovery is really only for Nandroid imaging but installs / recovers the ROM (your archive) or a custom (BB) of choice. Correct?.

    Nandroid creates a full image of the stock ROM with all your apps and settings kind of like a BESR.... whereas Backup Pro will recover the data back into a stock recovery. Correct?.

    Is there a confirmation that Sholes' SM Updater will indeed allow BB ROM to flash with it's install of SPRecovery?. The reason I ask is because after reading through Matth 3w's install guild over at DroidForum and all the subsequent posts I have come to the conclusion that most of the pain and suffering that people have to deal with, regarding mistakes and error's, is derived from the linux cmd line when installing SPRecovery. Seems that SM Updater makes this part easier.


    Question: Haven't heard anyone say that GPS, including NAV usage, is effected adversely with BB V0.7.5. Just want to confirm with someone who actually knows. I use the nav tool all the time.... have come to rely on it really it's worth staying stock for me if that does not work.



    Thanks any and all.
     
  17. iamloco724

    iamloco724 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    61
    Posts:
    739
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    739
    4
    61
    im officially rooted with sholesmod and installing sholes rom now..when i do setcpu whats the recommended profile i think i would like my max to be 800 wit that said what should the rest of the profile look like
     
  18. gnmitchell

    gnmitchell Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    Dec 2, 2009
    44
    1
    16
    There are tons of answers on the site with peoples different setcpu profiles. I would suggest using 250/250 for sleep/standby to save your battery. I would also suggest if temp gets too hot (40.0 +) to go back to 550/250. I would also recommend selecting ondemand.
     
  19. iamloco724

    iamloco724 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    61
    Posts:
    739
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    739
    4
    61
    dont know if this is normal so i dont know what to do..i was up to downloading the sholes rom right at 99 percent my screen timed out i went to put the screen back on and now it just stays black..wat should i do from here?
     
  20. iamloco724

    iamloco724 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    61
    Posts:
    739
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    739
    4
    61
    im at the first select package to install screen and dont know what to select to get this 2. Install 2.0.1 launcher w/ 5 screens - lose your 3 screen layout
     

Share This Page

Loading...