1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Rooting the new Froyo 2.2 release

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by KMA, Feb 24, 2011.

  1. KMA

    KMA Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010

    Feb 12, 2010
    134
    20
    38

    Advertisement

    reedroid likes this.
  2. Girevik

    Girevik Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    680
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010

    Dec 18, 2010
    680
    23
    63
    Computer Geek
    Columbus, OH
    I'm looking at that, but I'm not sure exactly how to use it. Are there instructions on it somewhere? I see that it's got a "Captivate" tab. Do we use that rather than the "root" button on the main tab?
     
  3. SuFuCru

    SuFuCru Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011

    Feb 1, 2011
    75
    7
    16
    Yeah, follow the instructions in the video posted on that link and it'll work. Don't worry about the Captivate button, it doesn't work. You'll get a Failed message.
     
  4. Girevik

    Girevik Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    680
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010

    Dec 18, 2010
    680
    23
    63
    Computer Geek
    Columbus, OH
    Sorry....I'm at work and our firewall is blocking the video. Didn't even know it was there until I looked and saw the lable for it. Now I feel foolish.
     
  5. SuFuCru

    SuFuCru Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011

    Feb 1, 2011
    75
    7
    16
    My bad, I forget that a lot of people don't have full internet access. I was feeling pretty foolish earlier when I tried rooting my phone about 20 times before I was told to reboot the phone for the root to take effect.
     
  6. detsl

    detsl Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010

    Aug 12, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Worked for me, thanks... Now how can I go about removing the bloatware?
     
  7. Girevik

    Girevik Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    680
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010

    Dec 18, 2010
    680
    23
    63
    Computer Geek
    Columbus, OH
  8. Buddha64

    Buddha64 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    377
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010

    Oct 7, 2010
    377
    49
    43
    DB-0855-03 Aviation Electronics Engineer
    Redstone Arsenal, AL
    "Super" worked like a charm.
     
  9. reedroid

    reedroid Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010

    Jul 31, 2010
    3
    1
    6
    Worked on my captivate 2.2. Eat that AT&T.
     
  10. Trod27

    Trod27 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    12
    0
    15
    Thanks to this forum I am much better. Before unrooted with 2.2 and battery life was terrible.
    I finally took the plunge and used the super on click, worked great after i read how to reboot phone. I took another plunge and paid for titanium pro and frooze ATT apps as descibed in this forum. now battery is going on two days with moderate use. :D

    Questions
    1. Do I stay rooted all the time now?
    2. Do I still keep USB debugging checked all the time or only when i need to hook it to PC?
    3. Do I stop running ATK as I see in this forum some dont like it. Before i had to have to kill bloatware. Should i use another type of app?
    4. My browser does lock up sometimes, cant do any thing but use ATK and relaunch. Before on 2.1 it never locked up.
     
  11. Jack45

    Jack45 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,186
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    1,186
    239
    143
    Questions
    1. Do I stay rooted all the time now?

    Yes


    2. Do I still keep USB debugging checked all the time or only when i need to hook it to PC?

    I leave it checked all the time. No repercussions.


    3. Do I stop running ATK as I see in this forum some dont like it. Before i had to have to kill bloatware. Should i use another type of app?

    Uninstall it. Let the OS do its thing without "assistance."

    4. My browser does lock up sometimes, cant do any thing but use ATK and relaunch. Before on 2.1 it never locked up.

    Maybe ATK was locking up your browser?
     
  12. Usil

    Usil Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010

    Oct 20, 2010
    20
    3
    16
    Embedded Software Engineering
    Colorado
    Answers:
    1. Yes, your device is considered rooted. To un-root your device you would need to remove the updates that the OneClick installed.
    2. You do not need to leave USB debugging on. I would recommend that you turn it off if you are not actively using it. Leaving debugging on, especially on a rooted device, allows anyone to access your device through adb.
    3. Using a task killer is up to user discretion. I personally don't use a task killer.
    4. I haven't noticed any issues with the browser yet so I don't know if there is a bug in the froyo baseline that would cause it to hang.
     
  13. shelleybrame

    shelleybrame Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011

    Feb 28, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Can someone tell me why I should do this,why and what does it open new for my captivate?
     
  14. Girevik

    Girevik Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    680
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010

    Dec 18, 2010
    680
    23
    63
    Computer Geek
    Columbus, OH
    Basically it gives you super user permissions. This allows you to do things that AT&T has prevented, like hide some of the stuff that comes on the phone you'll never use. The big thing in my mind was that you can't do a complete backup until you have this access, and I wanted to back everything up before I did my upgrade.

    You probably don't gain a whole lot, but with super one click it's a painless process so there's really no downside.
     
  15. Endoran

    Endoran Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    403
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010

    Aug 19, 2010
    403
    24
    38
    SLC, Utah

    There are downsides to the root process. Root - CapFAQ
     
  16. rhdins

    rhdins Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010

    Nov 29, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    I looked at this method, and it looks like it will also install Superuser app, and Busybox app, is that correct? If so, do I need those apps? What do they do, and are they safe to remove after rooting? Thanks.
     
  17. rhdins

    rhdins Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010

    Nov 29, 2010
    7
    0
    5
  18. btswein

    btswein Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Didn't see it in the FAQ, if I root, but DON'T flash a custom ROM, am I unable to get Gingerbread when that comes out if it is OTA?
     
  19. DannyB

    DannyB Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    144
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010

    Feb 3, 2010
    144
    18
    38
    Correct me if I'm wrong, but my understanding is this.

    Leaving USB debugging on means that whenever you plug your phone into a computer, then that computer can access your phone through adb.

    The way you said "allows anyone to access your device" sounds really scary.

    When I say "plug your phone into a computer", this could include things that you might not think of as a "computer", such as any other USB host device like a Tablet or mp3 player that can act as a USB host.

    I leave my USB debugging on a lot, because I plug my phone into my development system a lot. I am careful not to plug my phone into someone else's computer without turning off USB debugging.
     
  20. Burntorange817

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    10
    0
    15
    hey all,

    So i installed superoneclick v 1.7..took all necessary steps shown in many videos and Step-by-steps in forums.

    when i click the "root" button i get an error message. ill re-update if i have to ry again as im in a process now, but the message said that it just wouldnt work, pessing "continue" would ignore the error and keep trying...so i pressed continue and its currently at "killing ADB server"

    any idea on what i need to do?

    does this prgram work on 64 bit windows 7?

    **EDIT**

    it says
    "Unhandled exception has occured in your application. if you click to continue, the aplication will ignore this error and attempt to continue, if you clikc quit, the aplication will close immediatley"



    thanks for any help!
     

Share This Page

Loading...