1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Rooting Without Access to Android

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by VinylScratch, Apr 20, 2016.

  1. VinylScratch

    VinylScratch Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016

    Apr 20, 2016
    7
    3
    16
    Male
    I am trying to root my phone, but it is in a bootloop, so i cant root it, and all the root tuts ive founf require you having access, if i HAVE to, is there a way for me to fix the loop so i can root it?
     

    Advertisement

  2. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #34
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    4,053
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,053
    2,079
    693
    Male
    USA
    What phone do you have?
    What carrier or model number?
    Android version?
     
    Mikestony likes this.
  3. VinylScratch

    VinylScratch Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016

    Apr 20, 2016
    7
    3
    16
    Male
    HTC One M8
    Not sure which to post, there is MEID Hex, SN, MB, and MEID Dec
    Top part
    ***Tampered***
    ***Unlocked***
    A11_CHL PVT SHIP S-ON
    HBOOT-3.19.0.0000
    RADIO-1.46.40.0721
    OpenDSP-v28.2.2.00546.0331
    OS-1.42.652.1
    eMMC-boot 1024MB

    That and when i try to go into recovery, after putting a custom one on, it loads, then flashes something about dev build on the bottom, then goes back to fastboot screen
     
    Mikestony likes this.
  4. VinylScratch

    VinylScratch Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016

    Apr 20, 2016
    7
    3
    16
    Male
    I am also trying to install twrp, but all files are corrupted, EVERY file i download
     
  5. KOLIO

    KOLIO Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:


    WELCOME TO ANDROID FORUMS
    Vinyl Scratch ! :thumbsupdroid:


    I'd recommend also posting in our HTC ONE M8 Root section as well,as those more in-tune with the device are probably subscribed to that forum & will be alerted when you post/start a new thread:

    http://androidforums.com/forums/root-htc-one-m8.2602/

    It's been a long while since I've had this phone,otherwise,I'd offer some help,but,feel too rusty in the HTC dev steps to offer guidance,don't wanna make things worse.

    However,I STRONGLY recommend going S-OFF,in short,it makes life a lot easier when rooting/ROMming HTC devices,a lot easier to fix in the event things go south..............
     
    Jfalls63, tube517 and Mikestony like this.
  6. VinylScratch

    VinylScratch Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016

    Apr 20, 2016
    7
    3
    16
    Male
    well one problem, bootloaders locked, cant unlock because when i try, it cant get to recovery... it wont boot, it goes straight to fastboot....
     
  7. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    29,725
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    29,725
    24,306
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    #7 Mikestony, Apr 20, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2016
    Brian706, scary alien and KOLIO like this.
  8. Brian706

    Brian706 I like turtles!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #26
    Points:
    1,053
    Posts:
    9,345
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    9,345
    8,589
    1,053
    Drafter
    Generally, you don't need recovery to unlock the bootloader. You need fastboot mode. Have you set up fastboot to work on your PC? When you connect the device to your PC, does it show FASTBOOT USB?


    To unlock the bootloader on an HTC device you usually need to use HTCDev and get a bootloader unlock code by running the command: oem get_identifier_token


    Then submit that code to HTC and they will send you an unlock token. Place that in your fastboot directory and then use command: fastboot flash unlocktoken Unlock_code.bin

    Where exactly are you stuck?? Are you logged into the HTCdev website and following the unlock instructions for the M8?

    Edit: according to the information you posted above your bootloader is already unlocked??
     
    Mikestony and KOLIO like this.
  9. VinylScratch

    VinylScratch Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016

    Apr 20, 2016
    7
    3
    16
    Male
    i relocked it on accident, but when you unlock it, remember it wipes it, no recovery no wipe, no unlock. gtg bed. Will be on tomarrow, it 9:27PM right now for me

    Edit: Never mind staying up
    Edit 2: Here is a video of what i was talking about
    http://sendvid.com/hmv6sm5k
     
    #9 VinylScratch, Apr 21, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2016
  10. VinylScratch

    VinylScratch Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016

    Apr 20, 2016
    7
    3
    16
    Male
    im so ****ing stupid, i JUST looked, i have a Desire 510...... Im so freaking stupid...
     
  11. Brian706

    Brian706 I like turtles!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #26
    Points:
    1,053
    Posts:
    9,345
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    9,345
    8,589
    1,053
    Drafter
    Can you run: fastboot getvar all and paste the information here except for IMEI and Serial Number?

    Also, who is your carrier? And what Android version are you on?

    Edit:
    Nevermind... I figured it out!
     
    #11 Brian706, Apr 21, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2016
    VinylScratch likes this.
  12. Brian706

    Brian706 I like turtles!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #26
    Points:
    1,053
    Posts:
    9,345
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    9,345
    8,589
    1,053
    Drafter
    So, maybe you will have some luck installing a stock update??

    Go here: http://www.htc.com/us/support/rom-downloads.html#sprint

    I'm not sure if you have Sprint, VM or Boost... You'll have to download the correct one for your device.


    Also, it looks as if there is an RUU for your device here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/desire-510/general/ruu-1-47-652-1-htc-desire-510-sprint-t3049433

    It's for a later firmware version than what you are on so that is good, as an earlier firmware version would probably fail security checks.

    Just be double sure any files you use are specifically for your device. I don't have this device and am only doing my best to find files based off of the information provided in this thread.
     
    Mikestony, tube517 and KOLIO like this.
  13. VinylScratch

    VinylScratch Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016

    Apr 20, 2016
    7
    3
    16
    Male
    I fixed it a while ago, forgot to say, but only thing is, they have it registered as using Virgin Mobile, i used sprint.... now its running sprint! XD oops, oh well, its not broken, thats what matters.

    Edit: Yesterday*
     
    Brian706 and KOLIO like this.

HTC One M8

The HTC One M8 is the Taiwanese company's flagship phone for the first half of 2014. It built on its predecessor with an upgraded 5-inch 1080p display, Snapdragon 801 processor, 2GB of RAM, 32GB of internal storage, and an UltraPixel rear Duo Camera.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...