1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

router problem, help me

Discussion in 'Computers' started by finalfantasy7, Apr 21, 2012.

  1. finalfantasy7

    finalfantasy7 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    214
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011

    Jul 12, 2011
    214
    11
    48
    Just happened today at 12, it was working fine then suddenly it turned off, on my router the ds light will continuously flash on/off rapidly. This is first time this has happened.
    I've turned it off and on few times, now I've just left turned it off for few hours- to see if it was just hot but again, the ds light will flash
     

    Advertisement

  2. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,453
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,453
    1,957
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    router model?
     
  3. finalfantasy7

    finalfantasy7 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    214
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011

    Jul 12, 2011
    214
    11
    48
    It's my virgin media, wireless, which is doing it, after leaving it off the enet light is flashing now with sync light very barely flashing but rdy/us/usb lights not flashing at all.

    My friend told me that as rdy light not flashing it be the virgin wireless router saying that its broken
     
  4. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,589
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    5,589
    2,005
    423
    Male
    PA
  5. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    39,267
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    39,267
    40,033
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    These things do fail from time to time, but it could just as easily be a signal issue. I'd check the line first. If you share the line with a phone, do you still have dial tone and can make clear sounding connections? I'd then call VM and have them test the signal and if it's good tell them you have an equipment problem. Since it's supplied by them, I would assume they'd replace it for you.
     
  6. scythefwd

    scythefwd Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    129
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012

    Apr 17, 2012
    129
    16
    58
    I'd call up the ISP. I used to get that when my cable modem overheated...
     
  7. XplosiV

    XplosiV Master X is Watching You
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    5,423
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    5,423
    1,971
    413
    Male
    UK
    Check for a firmware update before anything else imo.
     

Share This Page

Loading...