1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Router v's Range Extender Desire auto switching ?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Mike777, Dec 31, 2011.

  1. Mike777

    Mike777 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    161
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    161
    0
    35
    Hi all

    I have bought a Netgear Range Extender to extend wifi to parts of my house that have a weak signal or none at all. It is setup correctly and is working fine and the name of the network is different from the Router.

    Mainly to use my HTC desire............is it possible for my phone to auto switch to the appropriate wireless access point (either the range extender or my router) depending on the strongest signal ???? rather then me switching manually in the setting on the phone.

    Would appreciate any ideas or comments.

    Many thanks for your time

    Regards

    Mike
     

    Advertisement

  2. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Tasker *may" do this. There is an event profile that is triggered on being near a certain SSID at a certain signal strength. Then you can maybe get that to trigger a task that connects to a certain network.

    I wouldnt buy it on the strength of this but if you already have it, worth looking into.
     
  3. tboros

    tboros Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011

    Feb 12, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I have two APs in my flat, same SSID, same security, same pwd, just different channels (6 & 11) configured. My Desire switches automatically, works like charm.

    Can't/don't want to use the same approach? That would save the hassle of the Tasker solution which is otherwise a nice tool.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...