1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Running BB 0.4 Froyo, what happens when the 2.2 OTA update gets pushed?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by sch911, Jul 30, 2010.

  1. sch911

    sch911 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    47
    4
    16
    Just curious as to what actually happens to our rooted BB equipped Droid's when the OTA update hits?

    Will it ask me to update?
     

    Advertisement

  2. dmodert66

    dmodert66 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,551
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009

    Oct 24, 2009
    1,551
    221
    163
    Project Manager
    Southern California
    No, it won't...(or shouldn't)...
     
  3. Hiroshika

    Hiroshika Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    166
    Joined:
    May 30, 2010

    May 30, 2010
    166
    24
    38
    Nearly all root roms have OTA updates disabled. And yes Pete disabled OTA updates. So, when it comes out, we basically wait for him to make a rom based off the OTA. He may be holding out .05 for it. Who knows?
     
    aaron19953 likes this.
  4. monsterenergy22

    monsterenergy22 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    496
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    496
    53
    73
    Basically nothing :p
     
  5. sch911

    sch911 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    47
    4
    16
    Thanks... Won't worry about it then.
     
  6. AddictedToDroidz

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010

    Aug 15, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    my droid must be special then, because when i took it off the media dock this morning and woke it up, it told me there was an update to install. unfortunately it wouldn't boot into recovery because i had clockwork flashed. then when it did turn back on after sitting at the M logo for a bit, i checked for system updates under the menu, and it told me i was up to date. thinking of flashing sprecovery and trying again. rom manager now has the original (rooted or unrooted) froyo FRG01B stock image. might try that out just to see whats up. I like BB, but its been getting squirly on me recently.
     
  7. digdug1

    digdug1 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #152
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,965
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010

    Apr 27, 2010
    1,965
    309
    163
    Everyone running bbv0.4 should visit Peter Alfonso. this is the developer's web site. There is a patch you MUST download to prevent the ota froyo!
     
    Jerry-rigged and Freebyrd like this.
  8. istolvampire

    istolvampire Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    503
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    503
    35
    68
    Some people are claiming problems with that patch so I am concerned about applying it.
     
  9. gimmeanathlon

    gimmeanathlon Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009

    Dec 30, 2009
    69
    3
    16
    I eat monkies.
    PDX
    Uh oh.. :D
    I have a system update notification. Like 2 minutes ago.
    What now? lol.:cool:
     
  10. AddictedToDroidz

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010

    Aug 15, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    i dont think you should accept it. 1st reason: if you're like me, you have clockwork recovery flashed...the update won't work with clockwork (at least it didnt for me). 2nd: if you want a stock, rooted 2.2, just download it from rom manager under "download rom" then "stock images". I did notice that BB 0.4 is running on a different build than the stock 2.2 FRG build. personally, i'm going to let the stock rooted 2.2 run for a few days, because even though Pete's rom gave me very few issues, it did start acting up recently. as long as I can overclock, i really don't see the benefits of having any one particular rom running.
     
  11. usawrestling

    usawrestling Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009

    Nov 1, 2009
    35
    11
    18
    I haven't had a problem with the patch. Running BB v.4 with watermark'd custom
     
  12. istolvampire

    istolvampire Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    503
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    503
    35
    68
    Had to apply patch and now setcpu only clocks at 600. Hope Pete gets v5 out soon because I really don't want to use another rom.
     
  13. Jedii

    Jedii Android Expert
    Rank:
     #141
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,112
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    1,112
    257
    183
    Analyst
    Arkansas
    If you are running BB v0.4 you need to download stopota.zip to be safe.

    Also, visit Peter Alfonso for more information.
     
  14. krouget

    krouget Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #316
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    456
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010

    Jan 13, 2010
    456
    121
    68
    Lol, I got one about as recently, too (hence why I'm checking this thread).
     
  15. wolfdragon

    wolfdragon Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    Yea, so I jus woke up this. Morning to a screen saying that I have downloaded the froyo 2.2 update and its requesting to install. If I install the patch now will it go away? I hate being. Asked the same question I declined repeatedly an its kinda a pet pev, any help wud be appreciated.
     
  16. xr4ti

    xr4ti Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    May 17, 2010

    May 17, 2010
    18
    5
    16
    I just accepted it and clicked install. Clockwork blocked it, now it says I am up to date and I am still rooted. Simple. Didn't want to go the patch route after reading the comments.

    Running BBv4.
     
  17. Da Teej Masta

    Da Teej Masta Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    14
    1
    16
    Still no update pushed to my phone. Running BB v0.4 without any patch. Gonna just manually disable updates the old way again just to be sure.
     
  18. ilmar72

    ilmar72 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    233
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    233
    15
    38
    Male
    Pennsylvania
    Got the update today. Hit install later. I'm running quircky bb.4. Also. I'm backing up today and installing rooted o2.2 stock

    Edit: bb.4 has been a great froyo rom but now that official froyo is out I'm tired of dealing with its issues. No offense to Pete . Issues were to be expected and Pete as usual did a great job with the rom. Wish .5 was out now
     
  19. digdug1

    digdug1 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #152
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,965
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010

    Apr 27, 2010
    1,965
    309
    163
    may have been running one of petes other roms instead of bbv0.4. this patch works fine.
     
  20. istolvampire

    istolvampire Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    503
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    503
    35
    68
    Pete has updated the patch now so that it doesn't break setcpu and I was running stock BB v4. The old patch did break setcpu but the new one he posted today and can download right now from his site does not.
     
  21. CaptainRon

    CaptainRon Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    1,257
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    1,257
    1,237
    333
    Pilot
    Moab, Utah
    Ditto. No problem accepting the update with BB0.4
     
  22. SinfulDragon

    SinfulDragon Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    614
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010

    Jan 6, 2010
    614
    36
    88
    Network Admin
    Indiana
    patch worked without issue, no more notification, no issues with the patch.
     
  23. esmith818

    esmith818 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    691
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    691
    316
    113
    Web to Print Content Developer
    NC
    I installed Pete's patch file today right after finding the OTA update message on my phone. The only side effect was that it broke my Swype install, but a reinstall of Swype fixed that issue. My only question now is whether or not I have an OTA data file sitting on my phone somewhere taking up 45 MB of precious space?
     
  24. Jerry-rigged

    Jerry-rigged Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    255
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    255
    25
    63
    cad monkey
    Texas
    Thanks ya'll! I got the OTA alert today, and came to the board to find out what was up. Patch installed, re-booted, and no more OTA notification. :)

    On a related side note, today was the first time my phone as been re-booted sence I installed BB.4 about 3-4 weeks ago. Before bb.04 (non-rooted 2.0.1 & 2.1) I needed a boot every few days to keep the phone running sharp & quick. With BB.4, no need for reboots - it is a great ROM!
     
  25. watersrules

    watersrules Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    206
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010

    Apr 10, 2010
    206
    25
    63
    Male
    Financial Analyst
    Central FL
    patch worked for me!
     

Share This Page

Loading...