1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General : Running CyanogenMod 9 (ICS)... Holy Crap!!!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Skrillex, Jan 12, 2012.

  1. jbb2388

    jbb2388 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012

    Jan 25, 2012
    32
    4
    16
    Yeah I already did. 1.3 OC. Man this thing is blazing fast now. Gonna try CM 9 next.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Skrillex

    Skrillex Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    258
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011

    Jul 17, 2011
    258
    65
    53

    CM9 is alpha, just remember that... and create a backup or two first!
     
  3. killersiafu

    killersiafu Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011

    Jul 22, 2011
    15
    4
    16
    Just wanted to update... the camera is now working (both back and front). The FFC only works with a 3rd party app, but as I use Camera Zoom FX anyway, it's not a big deal. The camcorder is not yet working. There have also been huge battery and signal connection improvements. And it sounds like there's a 4G fix coming soon.

    I flashed to cm9 last week and it's been great..
     
  4. BobBruff

    BobBruff Newbie
    Rank:
     #1,680
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    24
    3
    16
    Albuquerque, NM

    You guys have convinced me to root and flash. Now my only decision is what to flash--CM7 or CM9? It sounds like if I don't use 4g much and I'm ok with using a different camera there's not much else that should keep me from using CM9, right?
     
  5. twospirits

    twospirits AF's janitor
    Rank:
     #28
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    6,184
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009

    Oct 4, 2009
    6,184
    5,047
    923
    Male
    Database Programmer, Sprint Advocate
    Queens, NY
    Good to know that the cameras work now, but 4G fix coming soon? Please elaborate.

    TS
     
  6. busted bones

    busted bones Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    515
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010

    Dec 19, 2010
    515
    74
    78
    Shipping and Receiving Manager
    Do you have the software keys taking up screen space?
     
  7. jbb2388

    jbb2388 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012

    Jan 25, 2012
    32
    4
    16
    Awesome. Good news, Thanks.
     
  8. killersiafu

    killersiafu Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011

    Jul 22, 2011
    15
    4
    16
    The issue has been pinned down to a problem exchanging RSA keys after the bootloader is unlocked. The cm9 devs have been quoted recently as saying a 'wimax fix is closer than you think' and that the fix is 'being tested on the blur roms' currently.

    Nope. It just uses the hardware keys for the Photon, no need to duplicate. The only thing that's kind of odd is the google search bar at the top of the screen. Presumably that has been added by Google because the new ICS phones don't have a search button. You can turn the search bar off in the CM settings, but you can't use the pixels it occupies for widgets or anything... so I just leave it on.


    Also, CM9 entered beta last night.
     
  9. killersiafu

    killersiafu Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011

    Jul 22, 2011
    15
    4
    16
    The two big things that aren't working currently are 4G and the camcorder. If you're willing to give those up, I'd say give CM9 a shot. If not, you can do CM7.2 or wait a few weeks for a more mature CM9.

    They're also having an issue with the camera in the new CM9 beta build (it was working fine in the latest alpha) but there's supposed to be a fix posted today.

    The new beta is incredibly stable (no random reboots, FC's, etc) and the battery life in the latest alpha's has been pretty awesome. I just flashed the beta last night so I can't comment yet on battery life but I'm assuming it will be the same. They also put in some nice 2d-rendering fixes so virtually all of the 2d jittering in games / flash web sites is gone.

    Looking really good.
     
    KOLIO likes this.
  10. twospirits

    twospirits AF's janitor
    Rank:
     #28
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    6,184
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009

    Oct 4, 2009
    6,184
    5,047
    923
    Male
    Database Programmer, Sprint Advocate
    Queens, NY
    Thats the part that has me confused, because if i am not mistaken, CM (any version) does not have any blur in it whatsoever, I take it you mean stock rom (since it has blur).

    TS
     
  11. killersiafu

    killersiafu Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011

    Jul 22, 2011
    15
    4
    16
    KOLIO and twospirits like this.
  12. jbb2388

    jbb2388 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012

    Jan 25, 2012
    32
    4
    16
    Just installed joker's beta 0.0.2.1. Seems to work great. ICS is definitely different than GB. Obviously the 4G is still not working and the forward facing camera only works with an external camera app but so far its smooth and fast.
     
    KOLIO likes this.
  13. Skrillex

    Skrillex Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    258
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011

    Jul 17, 2011
    258
    65
    53

    Try the Rocko rom, Imperium Initiative rom and my personal favorite, CM7.2
     
  14. jbb2388

    jbb2388 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012

    Jan 25, 2012
    32
    4
    16
    I have Rocko. Haven't tried it yet though. I do like CM7.2 better than CM9 so far. It has many more tweaks that i liked.
     
  15. Skrillex

    Skrillex Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    258
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011

    Jul 17, 2011
    258
    65
    53

    Exactly
     
  16. jbb2388

    jbb2388 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012

    Jan 25, 2012
    32
    4
    16
    Just looked at QB's rocko review and it doesn't look that thrilling to me so will just stay with cm7 and continue to tweak things. :)
     
  17. Skrillex

    Skrillex Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    258
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011

    Jul 17, 2011
    258
    65
    53

    Rocko is very snappy and the battery life is the best I've ever seen... ever! But CM7.2 is more customizable.
     
  18. grimlok78

    grimlok78 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010

    Jul 3, 2010
    16
    4
    16
    Do you have to have the bootloader unlocked to run cm?
     
  19. Skrillex

    Skrillex Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    258
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011

    Jul 17, 2011
    258
    65
    53

    Yes you need to be unlocked for most. There is a locked version of Rocko you need bootstrap recovery.
     
  20. busted bones

    busted bones Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    515
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010

    Dec 19, 2010
    515
    74
    78
    Shipping and Receiving Manager
    Hey Skrillex, would I be able to use your kernel for CM9, or is it custom tailored to the phone for some reason?
     
  21. Skrillex

    Skrillex Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    258
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011

    Jul 17, 2011
    258
    65
    53

    Custom but there will be custom kernels for CM9 soon enough. Joker has to finish CM9 then he'll build more kernels for it.
     
    busted bones likes this.
  22. jaxprat

    jaxprat Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012

    Feb 19, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    So, if I'm following the rationale, getting these results goes something like this:

    Go to QBking77 on YouTube
    Find the procedure to root a photon 4g
    Find the procedure to overclock a photon 4g
    Use CM7 or CM9 ROMs
    Watch your battery drain and enjoy the hell out of this awesome device!

    Please fill in the missing bits if I generalized too much.
     
  23. Skrillex

    Skrillex Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    258
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011

    Jul 17, 2011
    258
    65
    53

    Wrong. What needs to happen is to have the bootloader unlocked. Without that you can not flash either of theses roms (or 99% of the roms out there). Find qbkings bootloader unlock video first. Then you can root and you also need to install clockworkmod (don't choose twerp, is has issues).
     
    KOLIO likes this.
  24. jaxprat

    jaxprat Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012

    Feb 19, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    Okay. You are, as you know, correct. I have already rooted by Photon using QBKing77's method. I just stepped in to the procedure after that.

    I am going to follow these instructions and post the process as you have described here. I am glad you guys were having this discussion as I have been somewhat apprehensive to overclock my Photon. I have unbricked it many times using the information that QBKing77 has provided. Man, that guy has helped me with a pile of things.
     
  25. Skrillex

    Skrillex Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    258
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011

    Jul 17, 2011
    258
    65
    53

    You will not lose root when you unlock just be sure to immediately create a backup after installing clockworkmod. It will save you headaches in the future.
     

Share This Page

Loading...