1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Running out of options, Need help!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Lord_darco, Jun 6, 2011.

  1. Lord_darco

    Lord_darco Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011

    Jun 6, 2011
    25
    1
    16
    Bum!
    FL
    Hello all, Nice to meet you. Ive run into a bit of a problem with my LG Optimus M. Im very much a noob in the area of phone modding or hacking. I recently got myself the phone and its my first smart phone, After a while of getting used to it and comparing it to other droids my friends have im quite happy with it.

    After about a week I started to get fed up with the bloatware that comes preloaded on the phone and looked into getting rid of it, Reading that rooting was the only way to do so I tried that. After a while of unsuccessful tries useing Z4mod (not knowing it was out of date and wouldn't work) I gave up... Only to still be bugged by Boingo hot spot and myextras popping up on my phone more then I was getting texts or calls...

    I found Gingerbreak and it worked! I was rooted and proceeded to remove anything that said metropcs! The phone worked great for around 2 days, then I began to get apps that needed root to work, because I figured why not? I went and grabbed titanium back up, Adfree, and superuser.

    Somewhere in between downloading those and the root something went horribly wrong... I went to browse something via the google search app and realized it wasn't working at all... I couldn't browse anything, but I still had an active connection and could check facebook as if nothing happened. So I just assumed I messed up my google search app... I will just update it!

    Then I noticed that the market was broken as well! getting android.process.media has stopped unexpectedly over and over before any app could be downloaded... So I read more on the subject and and found that doing a phone restore via the LG updater tool would work even though the bloatware would return ( I know... what a hassle) I would rather having working browser and app store then not having the god awe full bloatware.

    Then the next problem happened and the LG updater tool wont budge past "checking the model"... Mind you I let this run while the phone was off for 9 hours, It will not get past this step. Im not really tech savy enough to restore the phone myself with the files (even though I have them thanks to this lovely forum)

    My last Idea is to return the phone to metroPCS to see if I can get a new one, but the issue with that is that if they can tell Ive rooted (even though I unrooted it since then) They will just ignore the problem all together. I dont have any of the metroPCS bloatware apps left on the phone besides the metro market, and Ive tried to redownload them all but just like the normal market I cant finish any download... If theirs a link im over looking with a download that has all the bloatware you all could save me a lot of pain by pointing it out... My Guess is that if I can return the bloatware and make it look like it did when I got it, they wont dig any deeper to see that me root is what screwed up the phone in the first place...

    I did all this to remove bloatware, its been a living nightmare and I ask for any help at all how to solve this Issue. Thanks in advance! -A noob whos in over his head :(
     

    Advertisement

  2. jabbawest

    jabbawest Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    400
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011

    Mar 8, 2011
    400
    101
    68
    Male
    Level III Support Dallas County
    Fountain of Lamneth
    Install the Sense ROM using the Recovery tool. This will fix your problems by replacing the files you deleted and give you a faster/better running phone. It won't replace the bloat, just in case you were wondering.
    That's one of the reason we install custom ROMS. They are devoid of the bloat and only come with what is needed, along with a few perks.
    The links are in my sig.
    There are also links to video tutorials. Watch them.
    If you did a NAND back up before deleting, which is highly recommend, you could restore that via recovery. If you didn't, just proceed with flashing the Sense ROM, you won't regret it.
     
    Lord_darco likes this.
  3. new optimus

    new optimus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    4,205
    1,457
    413
    Jax Fl
    You deleted metroweb?
    It seems silly but that is connected to everything that makes web work so you have to have it.
     
  4. Lord_darco

    Lord_darco Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011

    Jun 6, 2011
    25
    1
    16
    Bum!
    FL
    I just assumed it was a worse version of the google search bar. I will be the first to say that Ive made mistakes :(
     
  5. new optimus

    new optimus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    4,205
    1,457
    413
    Jax Fl
    Off topic but its annoying the heck out of me, are you getting a popup that says test and requires you to click it to make a page transition?

    As to the topic if you like the sense theme by all means go with it. If you like the original look there is a rom called team chicken eater it is stock but better.
    Or there is a gingerbread look alike, as well as a true gingerbread rom but its beta.
     
  6. Lord_darco

    Lord_darco Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011

    Jun 6, 2011
    25
    1
    16
    Bum!
    FL
    Jabba I cant thank you enough for the help, but Im more confused if anything, It seems I have no idea where or how I get the recovery tool. Im gonna need a step by step since im a newb :( Thanks again.
     
  7. Lord_darco

    Lord_darco Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011

    Jun 6, 2011
    25
    1
    16
    Bum!
    FL
    in the phone itself like when I mess with the google search? No. All that happens is when I click on anything like previous search items that would normally get copied to the bar just doesn't... and when I type anything in and hit enter it just dudds out and does nothing.
     
  8. new optimus

    new optimus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    4,205
    1,457
    413
    Jax Fl
    The off topic is on the android forum, as to the custom recovery check out

    http://androidforums.com/optimus-m-all-things-root/349438-guide-how-flash-recovery-easy-way.html

    and

    http://androidforums.com/getitnowmarketing/330813-all-one-recovery-thread.html
     
  9. jabbawest

    jabbawest Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    400
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011

    Mar 8, 2011
    400
    101
    68
    Male
    Level III Support Dallas County
    Fountain of Lamneth
    I know it may seem like a daunting/confusing task but, you need to get recovery installed before worrying about anything else.
    Take a breath and we'll get you through this, one step at a time.

    Once you get the recovery tool installed, perform a NAND backup.

    The next step will be to flash a custom ROM. It's easy and as long as you follow the instructions to a tee, all will be just fine.
     
  10. Lord_darco

    Lord_darco Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011

    Jun 6, 2011
    25
    1
    16
    Bum!
    FL
    Okay, Im ready to take it one step at a time. First things First. Recovery! How and where do I get the one you suggest? Ive already downloaded something called Android SDK for CMD, And its fully updated and I assume in working order. (even though I have no idea how to use it) I tried to find terminal emulator so that I could sideload it onto the phone but I couldn't find an apk for it. It seemed easier to use for a beginner like me.

    I understand those are both ways to get the phone in a working manner to use the recovery mode, correct me if I'm wrong.
     
  11. new optimus

    new optimus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    4,205
    1,457
    413
    Jax Fl
    you have other options, such as returning the phone to pure unrooted stock, but if you want a rooted phone without the bloatware then yes recovery is the way to go.
    As to using the android sdk,
    you need the adb part of it and it is not that difficult when you get the hang of it.
    First if you go to your windows start menu- run- type in cmd. It will bring up the command prompt, looks like a dos window if your familiar with dos.

    If you dont have run as a option on your start menu then go to accessories then command prompt.
    once in command prompt=henceforth cmd type in cd=change directory
    then the path to the android sdk, So this is an example only

    Microsoft windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright <c> 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\John>
    that will be what you see when you open cmd at that point you will type in cd like this
    C:\Users\John> cd android sdk\platform-tools------then you press enter and you are now in the directory C:\Users\John\android sdk\platform-tools

    that is assuming your sdk is in your user directory. if not then you would use cd C:\android sdk\platform-tools if it is it's own folder on the c drive.

    Now that your in the platform-tools directory you would use this command

    C:\Users\John\android sdk\platform-tools adb shell
    that will get you access to the phone, as long as you have the phone drivers installed.

    if you dont need access to the shell, such as pushing or pulling a file from or to the phone use adb push or adb pull.

    when you use shell it will give you a different kind of prompt.
    $
    and if you use su like
    $su then press enter
    it gives you
    #
    which means you have root access.
     
  12. jabbawest

    jabbawest Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    400
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011

    Mar 8, 2011
    400
    101
    68
    Male
    Level III Support Dallas County
    Fountain of Lamneth
    Here are the drivers for your phone.
    Download them and install before connecting your phone.
    http://www.lg.com/us/support/mc-support/drivers/LGMS690.zip

    After the drivers are installed, plug in your phone, DO NOT turn on USB storage.
    Hopefully you've already put the 2 recovery files from the Custom Recovery onto your sdcard.
    On your PC click Start>Run>type cmd.exe and then enter
    cd C:\android-sdk-windows\platform-tools which is the path to the program that will push or install the 2 files onto your phone from the sdcard.

    Now continue forward using the commands outlined in the thread:
    Finally Custom Recovery for 2.2.1 stock phones !!!!!!

    If you do not get the # symbol the first time, try it again and watch the screen on your phone for SuperUser, it may ask if you want to allow super user rights.
    (See Attached)
    Just click Allow and proceed.

    Once you get Custom Recovery installed, the first thing you MUST do is create your first nand backup. It will save your ass if you make a mistake or something strange happens after you've decided to install a ROM.

    Install either of these applications from The Market called Anreboot or Quickboot.
    Both of these apps will allow you to boot into recovery without having to do the button pushing combo steps.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Lord_darco

    Lord_darco Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011

    Jun 6, 2011
    25
    1
    16
    Bum!
    FL
    Look, I don't Care at all at this point if its rooted, or unrooted... bloatware or not. I just want it fixed... Im just not smart enough to follow these steps it seems, I know your really trying your hardest to help me out new optimus but for the life of me, I cant make heads or tails of what your saying... I found and opened cmd and tried my best to find the android files using cmd... but couldn't, Even though I can see them while navigating the files normally. If anyone is willing to help with extreme step by step instructions wants to help me I would love to sit down with a chat program of your choosing, (Voice chat like ventrillo, or just an AIM type program) to figure it out without having the hassle of waiting for responses. thanks again :(
     
  14. Lord_darco

    Lord_darco Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011

    Jun 6, 2011
    25
    1
    16
    Bum!
    FL
    "cd C:\android-sdk-windows\platform-tools" wont work for me, I keep getting a message that says the system cannot find the path specified.
     
  15. jabbawest

    jabbawest Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    400
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011

    Mar 8, 2011
    400
    101
    68
    Male
    Level III Support Dallas County
    Fountain of Lamneth
    Relax, we'll get you there. In through the nose, out through the mouth.
    Check the path. Look in C: to make sure you have the folder android-sdk-windows, then the folder within that one named platform-tools
     
  16. Lord_darco

    Lord_darco Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011

    Jun 6, 2011
    25
    1
    16
    Bum!
    FL

    Hmmm okay, its not right in the C. Its in program files (x86), Folder android. how do I go about moving it to where it needs to go?
     
  17. jabbawest

    jabbawest Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    400
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011

    Mar 8, 2011
    400
    101
    68
    Male
    Level III Support Dallas County
    Fountain of Lamneth
    Copy or move the entire folder to C:
    See attached.
     

    Attached Files:

  18. Lord_darco

    Lord_darco Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011

    Jun 6, 2011
    25
    1
    16
    Bum!
    FL
    I was having trouble trying to move the folder, It kept saying folder was open elsewhere and could not be moved, so im copy/pasting it now to C. Not sure if its normal but the file is quite large and says it will take around 15 mins.
     
  19. Lord_darco

    Lord_darco Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011

    Jun 6, 2011
    25
    1
    16
    Bum!
    FL
    File copied! I had to rename it android-sdk-windows. since it was missing the "windows" part. Im ready for the next step!
     
  20. jabbawest

    jabbawest Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    400
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011

    Mar 8, 2011
    400
    101
    68
    Male
    Level III Support Dallas County
    Fountain of Lamneth
  21. Lord_darco

    Lord_darco Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011

    Jun 6, 2011
    25
    1
    16
    Bum!
    FL
    Typing su doesn't seem to work. is there a step im missing here? Or maybe im doing it wrong. Your guide seems very professional but im a dummy when it comes to cmd. any help if you could. By the way your help so far has been outstanding!
     
  22. jabbawest

    jabbawest Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    400
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011

    Mar 8, 2011
    400
    101
    68
    Male
    Level III Support Dallas County
    Fountain of Lamneth
    After you enter cd C:\android-sdk-windows\platform-tools
    it should return C:\android-sdk-windows\platform-tools>
    type adb and see what the response is.
    It should look like the attached image.

    If that's all good, make sure your phone is connected and type su again.
    What happens?

    Remember, in through the nose, out through the mouth. ;)
     

    Attached Files:

    • adb.jpg
      adb.jpg
      File size:
      113.5 KB
      Views:
      17
  23. Lord_darco

    Lord_darco Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011

    Jun 6, 2011
    25
    1
    16
    Bum!
    FL
    The phone is plugged into the USB, and Debugging mode is on, Once I type adb I get what seems to be whats in your screen shot there, then I type su with no spaces and get this in response.

    'su' is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file.
     
  24. jabbawest

    jabbawest Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    400
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011

    Mar 8, 2011
    400
    101
    68
    Male
    Level III Support Dallas County
    Fountain of Lamneth
    type
    adb shell
    and hit enter
     
  25. Lord_darco

    Lord_darco Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011

    Jun 6, 2011
    25
    1
    16
    Bum!
    FL
    I get a "$" in the next line.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...