1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Running Services Question(s)

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by JamesJoey, May 8, 2012.

  1. JamesJoey

    JamesJoey Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    201
    Joined:
    May 2, 2012

    May 2, 2012
    201
    3
    36
    Why are so many services, that I'm not currently using, running?? For instance: I have 3d Digital Weather Clock installed but not being used on any of my screens. But yet it's running using 9.5MB. When I stop it it reappears a few minutes later. Bad part is whenever I want to place this app on a screen I must go through all the setup again-enable weather, set location and the like. But yet it remains in memory. Just makes me wonder if all this garbage that ir running needs to be running.
    There are times when I need to tab several times to trigger an icon and things just seem to slow down. I restart my device but it seems to be ok for a while but then it starts to slow up again
    Is there a way to prevent these unused apps form starting at all? How do I know which ones I should or shouldn't stop??

    James
     

    Advertisement

  2. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    38,737
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    38,737
    38,842
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    James, it's a common misunderstanding of how Android manages resources and reports their use. I think if you read through Why You Don't Need a Task Killer you will understand a bit more.

    Now, that said, if you have a phone with lesser spec's and have a good many resource intensive apps installed, you can experience lag. You can also see slowness when your data becomes unavailable or weak while the phone tries to re-sync with the network. Let us know which phone you have and maybe we can give you some pointers for optimization.
     
    Crashdamage likes this.
  3. JamesJoey

    JamesJoey Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    201
    Joined:
    May 2, 2012

    May 2, 2012
    201
    3
    36
    I have a T-Mobile G2x. I read most of the link. So, 3D Digital Weather Clock is being cached? Then why must I fill in all the info when I put it on my screen. You'd think it being cached would at least save the information once and not force the user to re-enter everything every time.
    I guess I'm looking at this the same way I look at my PC. (which is wrong). On my Windows 7 system it seems every program I install wants to start at start up and puts an entry into one of the Run keys in the registry. With my PC I have only 1 thing starting at start-up - my antivirus software. Of course there are many services running.
    As far as the network is concerned I was getting many network error last night. Operations were taking long. Is there anything I can do to prevent that?

    James
     
  4. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    38,737
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    38,737
    38,842
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    The 3D Digital Weather Clock is a widget, which is a very special app. I use Beautiful Widgets home weather clock, but I have it set to up date only every hour and not set itself by location. If you have it updating frequently and set to show your location, every time you drop your data connection or GPS lock it could force a refresh and slow your phone down.

    You can do a little test and uninstall you widget and see if that significantly improves the phone's performance. If it does, you might want to touch base with the developer to see if they are aware of this impact. If It doesn't seem to matter you can reinstall it.

    To improve your data connection, I'd suggest using WiFi more frequently. There really isn't much you can do to improve a 3G/4G signal if it's weak in your area.
     
  5. JamesJoey

    JamesJoey Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    201
    Joined:
    May 2, 2012

    May 2, 2012
    201
    3
    36
    I'm very new to android devices. Not very familiar with wi-fi. In fact I really wouldn't know where to start.
    Seems when I use Go Store or Play Store everything slows.
    I don't believe 3d Weather is causeing my slow downs. It's most likely me, trying to do too much at once.
     
  6. Crashdamage

    Crashdamage Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    643
    Posts:
    4,446
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011

    Feb 25, 2011
    4,446
    2,754
    643
    Mostly retired
    Kansas City, Mo.
    Using WiFi would help. Do you have WiFi at home? If not, and your cell signal is poor, you might be able to get a free signal booster from T-Mobile.

    Likely it is not you. Widgets are notorious for causing lag. Uninstall it as suggested and see what happens.
     

Share This Page

Loading...