1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root RUU big update ....rusty :/

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dan55, Feb 26, 2016.

  1. dan55

    dan55 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #69
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    3,051
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    3,051
    311
    263
    hi guys,

    so once again im thinking about updating my ol m8 viper 1.8 :)
    .....but its been a long time since I got into this :/

    if I recall correctly this is what I need to do:

    1.install sunshine - as im still s-on
    2.locate RUU ...somewhere
    3.nandroid
    4.run RUU update
    5.flash latest viper

    .....im guessing I just have to get the latest RUU rather than run the 5.0 version too?

    many thanks
    dan

    .... I might get too scared, or run out of time ... but you never know :D

    cheers
     

    Advertisement

  2. dan55

    dan55 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #69
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    3,051
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    3,051
    311
    263
    just found Captn's ruu link in viper thread - thanks
    so im guessing I need this RUU - as have international/uk device and did the htc dev unlock

    upload_2016-2-26_11-5-36.png
     
  3. dan55

    dan55 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #69
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    3,051
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    3,051
    311
    263
    yikes! just found my last venture in to this gig, and it seems worse than I remembered! :( :D
    ...I need new twrp and stock roms first etc :/
    bugger :(
     
  4. saltire

    saltire Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    1,011
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    Woo hoo - finally :) . You don't need to go s-off as long as you can find a signed RUU that matches your CID and modelid. You're in the UK aren't you (?) so I strongly suspect your modelid will be ok. Who's your carrier, and what version are you on? If it's a x.xx.401.x version I can point you to a signed Marshmallow RUU :D .

    Shout if need be.

    Edit: having said that, with s-off you'll be able to sort out any major issues (not that there will be any) more easily so if you're going to do it I'd do it before upgrading to 6.0.
     
    #4 saltire, Feb 26, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2016
  5. dan55

    dan55 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #69
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    3,051
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    3,051
    311
    263
    :D hi saltire - I know! a shocker right :D

    that 6.0 ruu sounds cool thanks - yes im in uk - the 401 code is that the build number?
    if so then mine is 1.54.401.5.CL32.....release keys

    cheers
    dan
     
  6. saltire

    saltire Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    1,011
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    Possibly, but that's just the Viper software build - we should really check what the firmware version is. You got access to a PC and fastboot on it? If you boot phone to bootloader, connect to pc and in command prompt type:

    fastboot getvar all

    Under Version-main it will have a number in form x.xx.401.x

    This will also have your CID number and modelid (this will be 0P6B10000 though I bet ;) ).

    Edit: if you can remember/know this stuff just say so, it'll save some typing :)
     
  7. dan55

    dan55 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #69
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    3,051
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    3,051
    311
    263
    ah ok - cool thanks - will fire up me ol xp laptop - thank that had adb on it etc
    ta

    ...well it still works .... and it has adb on it :D
     
    #7 dan55, Feb 26, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2016
    saltire likes this.
  8. dan55

    dan55 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #69
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    3,051
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    3,051
    311
    263
    version main is blank :/
     
  9. saltire

    saltire Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    1,011
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    I'll wager you have or have had TWRP 2.7.x.x on there - something in one of these versions wiped this info. Is the OS line at top of bootloader screen also blank? What's the CID number, and did i get the modelid right?
     
  10. dan55

    dan55 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #69
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    3,051
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    3,051
    311
    263
    yes on the first one 2.7.0.2
    just checking the others...

    cid num just says 02____001 :/

    modelid is 0p6b10000
     
  11. saltire

    saltire Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    1,011
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    Yeah, that MM RUU isn't going to work for you as your CID isn't one of the general WWE numbers. You'd would have to do a search for a specific O2 RUU that also matches your firmware version. Is the OS line on the bootloader blank as well, 'cos if it is we're not going to be able to confirm the firmware version unfortunately?

    You're nbest bet may just be getting s-off out the way now. You need to get the latest TWRP 2.8.7.0 flashed, and I can point you to a stock O2 TWRP backup to restore for running Sunshine. If you want to go this route, in here you can grab the latest TWRP, find the older android version stock backups for the O2 CIDs in post 2, and the stock recoveries in post 4:

    http://forum.xda-developers.com/htc-one-m8/help/tutorial-how-to-stock-stock-twrp-t3086860
     
  12. dan55

    dan55 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #69
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    3,051
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    3,051
    311
    263
    bugger :( .... yes os line is blank also :/

    ok cool thanks for links - so I flash twrp - then restore the stock backup ..assume that mean nandroid of some random rom? - then run sunshine

    cheers
     
  13. saltire

    saltire Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    1,011
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    Yep pretty much, here's one I made earlier - post here is the process in detailed steps

    HTC One M8 unusable!

    but in Step 1 you need to download your O2 TWRP backup from the xda link above - probably go for 1.54.206.5 as best match we have for your firmware version. Then I think you will need to flash SuperSU via recovery first before running Sunshine, as I think Sunshine now needs phone to be rooted first again now (when I did it there was temp root exploit built-in).

    You won't need to do 5), and definitely don't do 6) just in case :)
     
    dan55 likes this.
  14. dan55

    dan55 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #69
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    3,051
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    3,051
    311
    263
    hi - ok cool - many thanks - will check that out
     
    saltire likes this.
  15. saltire

    saltire Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    1,011
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    You know this, but do a full backup of your current Viper set up before restoring the stock O2 one :thumbup:
     
    dan55 likes this.
  16. dan55

    dan55 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #69
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    3,051
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    3,051
    311
    263
    I do .... but it is still worth saying again :D

    ....assume there is actually a viper for 6.0 ?

    many thanks for all the info

    ....ah yes the latest is MM 6.0 it seems - cool
     
    #16 dan55, Feb 26, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2016
  17. saltire

    saltire Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    1,011
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    Ha, actually I didn't know if there was one - I switched to SD (on 6.0) 'cos Viper CPU control kept conflicting with ElementalX kernel and the EX kernel app. There's a lack of customisation options but finding the responsiveness and battery life excellent.
     
  18. dan55

    dan55 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #69
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    3,051
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    3,051
    311
    263
    ah interesting - was just looking at SD - do you recommend it over viper then at the mo?
     
  19. saltire

    saltire Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    1,011
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    I'm in a strip-it-back mode at the moment - so yeah. Also going to give Lyapota's Jazz rom a go at some point but got to get a 6.0 rom on my N7 this weekend :D

    Oh yeah, be warned the mount points locations in 6.0 for some stuff have changed :mad: - if you use Titanium you'll have to update the backup location in Prefs and I had to use the Detect button to pick them up on ext sd card.
     
    dan55 likes this.
  20. dan55

    dan55 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #69
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    3,051
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    3,051
    311
    263
    bugger - my twrp flash didn't work :( said it did it ok but don't have a recovery anymore :/

    ...stuck on entering recovery pink text.....
     
  21. dan55

    dan55 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #69
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    3,051
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    3,051
    311
    263
    phew! adb reboot sorted it - scary! :D

    assume I need to flash my old recovery then?
    ... I did find 2.8.6 lying around on my drive
    its a twrp mutlirom m8 286 201504
     
    #21 dan55, Feb 26, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2016
    saltire likes this.
  22. saltire

    saltire Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    1,011
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    Ah, OK could be because you have an older bootloader. OK, yeah go for a version you know works.
     
  23. saltire

    saltire Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    1,011
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    About to go offline as I'm out tonight. Be about on and off tomorrow, so will try and keep tabs in case you get seriously stuck.
     
    dan55 likes this.
  24. dan55

    dan55 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #69
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    3,051
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    3,051
    311
    263
    probably - would I have flashed the bootloader when I did original viper flash? ...its the only one ive done

    .....not acutally used the 2.8.6 one either ... as mine was still 2.7.0....
     
  25. dan55

    dan55 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #69
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    3,051
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    3,051
    311
    263
    ok cool thanks - have a good evening out :)

    hboot is 3.16.0 btw

    ...just dloaded fresh 2.8.6.0 but still no receovery showing :/
    ...all I did is the fastboot flash recovery xxxx correct ?
    ta
     
    #25 dan55, Feb 26, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2016

HTC One M8

The HTC One M8 is the Taiwanese company's flagship phone for the first half of 2014. It built on its predecessor with an upgraded 5-inch 1080p display, Snapdragon 801 processor, 2GB of RAM, 32GB of internal storage, and an UltraPixel rear Duo Camera.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...