1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root s-off experience

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by thIsgUy20, Jan 2, 2013.

  1. thIsgUy20

    thIsgUy20 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    512
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012

    Nov 27, 2012
    512
    86
    78
    Male
    Shreveport, LA
    you guys last night I finally decided to s-off so it took me maybe 4 tries to get it. But the scary part was after that It finally said sunny day or whatever and it said s-off success but I couldn't get it to like get past the Jbear logo. so all night I tried rerunning control bear but that wouldn't work I tried cmd and fastboot flash recovery that didn't work and I couldn't get on the internt cause my phone is my only way to get internet. so this morning I got my Motorola triumph{congrats they got camera to kinda work on ics} went up 2 mcdonalds did research and I had to use cmd and controlbear because...well idk it was weird but I got it to work
     

    Advertisement

  2. mrawesome22

    mrawesome22 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    354
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012

    Aug 5, 2012
    354
    63
    53
    Great post.
     
  3. ramjet73

    ramjet73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,418
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011

    Jun 22, 2011
    1,418
    821
    233
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    It sounds like the controlbear.exe utility got interrupted somehow after you did the wire trick and got S-OFF. Normally it would restore the backup made at the beginning of the process and give you the option to install the JBear 1.57.5757 custom hboot at that point.

    Do you know what version of controlbear.exe you were using? You can just double click on that file when your phone's not connected to the PC and the version is right at the top.

    ramjet73
     
  4. Branhower

    Branhower Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012

    Oct 25, 2012
    44
    6
    16
    Male
    Props to getting it to work. It's a lot easier to change stuff around once it's done.
     
  5. thIsgUy20

    thIsgUy20 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    512
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012

    Nov 27, 2012
    512
    86
    78
    Male
    Shreveport, LA
    idk what version it was. but my fix that I didn't see online I had to run cmd to flash the recovery but 4 some reason it would just stick on sending recovery so while that was going I went to controbear ran that to make it reboot and it finally flashed it. idk why but I had to use controlbear and cmd to make it flash the recovery. all the fixes I found online wouldn't work
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...