1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root S-Off help

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by slyr114, Jan 19, 2013.

  1. slyr114

    slyr114 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013

    Jan 18, 2013
    23
    0
    15
    So I just got this phone and unlocked my boot loader, installed twrp and flashed a rooted ROM midnight sensless and then the 4ext recovery and now I want to perform s-off and flash a new hboot. Do I just perform the s-off and flash an hboot of my choosing and then flash a ROM of my choosing? Also what is the best or preferred hboot for jellybean based ROMs? Thanks. I have read countless threads and ROM pages but am still a little confused. Also to get the wire needed can I just cut a piece of coax cable and strip it down to the copper core?
     

    Advertisement

  2. goshjosh

    goshjosh Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    263
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011

    Oct 6, 2011
    263
    37
    43
    Male
    I suggest using the hboots and roms the guide tells you for s-offing and what not. I also suggest turning your phone into the evo 3d after you S-OFF so you can flash all the roms provided on here and on the 3vo XDA! :)

    Hboots for JB would probably be 1.50 and lower. Not sure why but that's what's you're supposed to use. 1.57 and 1.58 won't work

    and for the cable just make sure you keep some of the insulation it or else it won't work. here's the rig I used http://i50.tinypic.com/32zjgvo.jpg
     
  3. slyr114

    slyr114 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013

    Jan 18, 2013
    23
    0
    15
  4. slyr114

    slyr114 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013

    Jan 18, 2013
    23
    0
    15
    Oh and the guide says be on stock ruu? What is that does that mean?
     
  5. thIsgUy20

    thIsgUy20 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    512
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012

    Nov 27, 2012
    512
    86
    78
    Male
    Shreveport, LA
    That just means to run the jupobear thing or whatever its called to s-off you have to be on stock rooted in other words the original ROM rooted. I was on stock odex ROM rooted to do the s-off thing. And I just use a paper clip with tape wrapped around it since that was easy 4 me. And that turn your phone into a 3d thread I only flashed the prl 4 better signal and I still use evo 3d roms
     
  6. slyr114

    slyr114 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013

    Jan 18, 2013
    23
    0
    15
    Cool thanks so I just need to flash the stock or modified stock ROM first. Cool.
     
  7. goshjosh

    goshjosh Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    263
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011

    Oct 6, 2011
    263
    37
    43
    Male
    I think it's the change in hboots that allows us to use 3vo roms. and yeah we also get the better radios which help out a lot. Yeah, JB roms are the best!

    thIsgUy20 put it nicely.

    A lot of people have had success getting s-off on Harmonia, including me, so you can always try that. I got confused with the whole Stock RUU thing so I never bothered with it.
     
  8. slyr114

    slyr114 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013

    Jan 18, 2013
    23
    0
    15
    Cool thanks guys I'll do this tomorrow, I think I'll just use the 1.04 hboot unless you guys think 1.5 is better? Also what radios are you guys using or does that depend on your area?
     
  9. thIsgUy20

    thIsgUy20 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    512
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012

    Nov 27, 2012
    512
    86
    78
    Male
    Shreveport, LA
    I'm using 1.04 and I've flashed all kinds of jellybean ROMs. And idk bout radio I downloaded one but idk which 1 it was I keep getting this 3g/1x thing more often now than I use to. I would say if u got good signal then don't worry bout it but if u don't then flash the radio it helps
     
  10. ramjet73

    ramjet73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,418
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011

    Jun 22, 2011
    1,418
    821
    233
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    If you want to use the HTC ROM Upgrade Utility (RUU) I have a rooting and S-OFF guide here that includes it. The unlimited.io website specifies that as a prerequisite, but as has already been mentioned many users have managed to do the wire trick successfully using a "stockish" rooted ROM.

    There are some tips and references for the wire trick at the end of that guide which might be useful even if you don't use the RUU.

    ramjet73
     
  11. slyr114

    slyr114 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013

    Jan 18, 2013
    23
    0
    15
    I now have hboot 1.04 eng and s-off. Now one of the roms i want to install says i should have the latest phone firmware from virgin mobile and all i can find are these packages that contain everything like a new hboot, firmware, radio etc. Is there a way or just a file i can flash like i did the radio and hboot that would upgrade my phones firmware only? Thanks.
     
  12. ramjet73

    ramjet73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,418
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011

    Jun 22, 2011
    1,418
    821
    233
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    Yes, you can flash the OTA firmware updates linked from this post.

    ramjet73
     
  13. slyr114

    slyr114 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013

    Jan 18, 2013
    23
    0
    15
    thanks if i flash that will i have to reflash the radio i wanted originally? or can i remove the radio part from the zip and just flash it with the rcdata or are the firmware updates just pretty much for the radio?
     
  14. ramjet73

    ramjet73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,418
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011

    Jun 22, 2011
    1,418
    821
    233
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    You could remove the radio, but that would defeat the purpose of flashing that firmware. The radio and PRI should really be flashed together and at the same firmware (baseband) level. That zip file contains the most current radio and PRI firmware for the Evo V and I suggest giving that a try before backing it off to an outdated GB level.

    ramjet73
     
  15. slyr114

    slyr114 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013

    Jan 18, 2013
    23
    0
    15
    ok cool, thanks so much!
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...