1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [S-OFF] Juopunutbear S-OFF -Beta Release

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jmz, Jun 2, 2012.

  1. eatsaimin

    eatsaimin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012

    Feb 1, 2012
    149
    11
    38
    NorCal
    Thanks for the reply jmz! I've learned a whole lot from your posts.
     

    Advertisement

  2. johnny424

    johnny424 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,500
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011

    Nov 2, 2011
    1,500
    466
    183
    HVAC Sheetmetal Mechanic/ Service Tech
    Washington Dc
    did everyone else use the windows early ics leak download for the evo 3d?

    i downloaded the above zip..moved the entire zip to my C: directory

    opened it up, clicked on the controlbear.exe it asks to extract or run i select run..it opens a command window but says..."critical failure".."files are missing" press enter to exit..press enter and it kills the window..i also re-downloaded the zip a few times to make sure it wasn't the cause..any thoughts?
     
  3. Member717347

    Member717347 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    You need to extract the file too..
     
    johnny424 likes this.
  4. Raul720

    Raul720 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    May 16, 2011

    May 16, 2011
    57
    19
    18
    Never mind. Got it working. Its pretty straightforward :).
     
  5. Mobstergunz

    Mobstergunz Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,896
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011

    Sep 5, 2011
    2,896
    1,444
    313
    Reading, PA
    Took me awhile but i got S-OFF :D
     
  6. johnny424

    johnny424 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,500
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011

    Nov 2, 2011
    1,500
    466
    183
    HVAC Sheetmetal Mechanic/ Service Tech
    Washington Dc
    okay so i got stuck in s-off proceedure it was getting ready to let me do wire trick then it said cant find bear is bar closed and made me exit..

    im using 4ext recovery..what fastboot command wouldni give to boot me into recovery?? fastboot boot recovery.img wont wont..
     
  7. Member717347

    Member717347 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Its all in the timing Johnny. Bar was closed for me about 30 times before it worked.. what helped was the YouTube video.. are you stuck on the juopunutbear screen ? If so don't worry it can be fixed with a simple command
    Edit: page three has the command :)
     
    johnny424 likes this.
  8. johnny424

    johnny424 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,500
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011

    Nov 2, 2011
    1,500
    466
    183
    HVAC Sheetmetal Mechanic/ Service Tech
    Washington Dc
    lol i was in a serious jam..tried all commands to no avail..

    my best peice of advice ..with the experience i just had ..

    if you get in a jam go to webchat.freenode.net ..room-#juopunutbear

    they will willingly give you support..one of juopunutbears creator walked me out of a tight situation..i will willingly donate to those guys..they are awsome
     
    Member717347 likes this.
  9. Kahroo

    Kahroo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    769
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012

    Jun 13, 2012
    769
    53
    78
    NJ
    I am kinda scared to do this. Kinda seems like I could brick my phone or **** up my memory card.

    So I should use a paperclip?
     
  10. johnny424

    johnny424 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,500
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011

    Nov 2, 2011
    1,500
    466
    183
    HVAC Sheetmetal Mechanic/ Service Tech
    Washington Dc
    you can use several different things, i used a thin insulated copper wire..out of a 8guage thermostat wire..you don't want to thin because you wanna make good contact..but can't have it to thick or it won't fit
     
  11. Mobstergunz

    Mobstergunz Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,896
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011

    Sep 5, 2011
    2,896
    1,444
    313
    Reading, PA

    This is what I used for the wire trick

    [​IMG]

    I made it out of a paper clip and electrical tape
     
  12. thebryceee

    thebryceee Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,245
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012

    Feb 28, 2012
    2,245
    233
    143
    Male
    That's what I was gonna use lol
     
    Mobstergunz likes this.
  13. Kahroo

    Kahroo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    769
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012

    Jun 13, 2012
    769
    53
    78
    NJ
    but would a paperclip work?
     
  14. Mobstergunz

    Mobstergunz Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,896
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011

    Sep 5, 2011
    2,896
    1,444
    313
    Reading, PA

    It worked perfectly for me you just have to get the timing right it took me over an hour to get S-OFF

    PS. You should back up your memory card better safe then sorry....
     
  15. Kahroo

    Kahroo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    769
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012

    Jun 13, 2012
    769
    53
    78
    NJ
    Why will it fry my memory card?
     
  16. mastersoup

    mastersoup Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    369
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011

    Dec 17, 2011
    369
    54
    53
    i dont even get a prompt to attempt a wire trick. just says found backup! then says abd server is out of date, daemon started successfully and then quits immediately
     
  17. Mobstergunz

    Mobstergunz Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,896
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011

    Sep 5, 2011
    2,896
    1,444
    313
    Reading, PA

    It might erase your memory card that's why it makes a backup but its rare for it to corrupt your memory card either way its still safer to make a backup

    *most likely nothing will happen to your SD card but keep in mind that your grounding out electricity to it...
     
  18. johnny424

    johnny424 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,500
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011

    Nov 2, 2011
    1,500
    466
    183
    HVAC Sheetmetal Mechanic/ Service Tech
    Washington Dc
    did you uninstall htc sync?
     
  19. Kahroo

    Kahroo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    769
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012

    Jun 13, 2012
    769
    53
    78
    NJ
    Ok about to do this and I know a paperclip will work with this but I don't have any tape atm (electrical tape, masking tape, scotch tape) Should I be fine with doing this or no don't do it.

    I also downloaded the .exe from the first post. Should I have done that or should I download the ICS Leak?
     
  20. johnny424

    johnny424 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,500
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011

    Nov 2, 2011
    1,500
    466
    183
    HVAC Sheetmetal Mechanic/ Service Tech
    Washington Dc
    ics leak..i would insluate the clip with something
     
  21. thebryceee

    thebryceee Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,245
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012

    Feb 28, 2012
    2,245
    233
    143
    Male
    You're going to want to insulate that. Accumulated static electricity can permanently damage your phone.
     
    Mobstergunz likes this.
  22. Kahroo

    Kahroo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    769
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012

    Jun 13, 2012
    769
    53
    78
    NJ
    Ok so I should come wrap this in scotch tape? I think I have that somewhere in my house.

    Ok no scotch tape but I do have duct tape. Can I use that?
     
  23. thebryceee

    thebryceee Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,245
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012

    Feb 28, 2012
    2,245
    233
    143
    Male
    Probably. Try googling it to see if duct tape is conductive to make sure.
     
  24. Mobstergunz

    Mobstergunz Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,896
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011

    Sep 5, 2011
    2,896
    1,444
    313
    Reading, PA

    Maybe..... Try Googling to see if its a good insulator

    Lol I was ninja'd
     
  25. Kahroo

    Kahroo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    769
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012

    Jun 13, 2012
    769
    53
    78
    NJ
    Ok well I searched and found this:

    Source: Duct Tape... conductive?

    Still a little hesitant to try this. Cause if I **** up this phone I can't easily buy a new one. And can't go back to my OV since it was stolen.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...