1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [S-OFF] Juopunutbear S-OFF -Beta Release

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jmz, Jun 2, 2012.

  1. Mobstergunz

    Mobstergunz Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,896
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011

    Sep 5, 2011
    2,896
    1,444
    313
    Reading, PA

    I sugest waiting until you get your hands on a different kind of tape to be safe
     

    Advertisement

  2. Kahroo

    Kahroo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    769
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012

    Jun 13, 2012
    769
    53
    78
    NJ
    Yeah I'm going to wait till tomorrow till I think my uncle has some electrical tape.
     
  3. thebryceee

    thebryceee Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,245
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012

    Feb 28, 2012
    2,245
    233
    143
    Male
    ;)
     
  4. Leslie Ann

    Leslie Ann Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,427
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    1,427
    893
    213
    I.T. Consultant
    Make sure you wait until it tells you when to do the trick. If you accidentally do it too soon, it will wipe your sdcard, recovery and system. It's an easy fix, but can lead to a panic and you could lose data.

    Make sure you have everything backed up.
     
  5. Kahroo

    Kahroo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    769
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012

    Jun 13, 2012
    769
    53
    78
    NJ
    Yup I backed up everything. Just waiting till tomorrow till I can get some electrical tape.
     
  6. thebryceee

    thebryceee Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,245
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012

    Feb 28, 2012
    2,245
    233
    143
    Male
    I used clear Scotch tape.
     
  7. Kahroo

    Kahroo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    769
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012

    Jun 13, 2012
    769
    53
    78
    NJ
    Yeah here's the problem we apparently ran out of it and the only tape we have in the house is duct tape. I hear it's not conductive. (See my post) But IDK I still feel iffy about doing this but I feel a bit more safer if I do it with electrical tape.
     
  8. jmz

    jmz Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    562
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010

    Apr 24, 2010
    562
    571
    163
    Do you have a piece of stereo speaker wire? A piece of coax cable? Many options.
     
  9. Kahroo

    Kahroo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    769
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012

    Jun 13, 2012
    769
    53
    78
    NJ
    Nope. I know it's kinda sad not a lot of tech in this house that could help me.
     
  10. motomiui

    motomiui Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012

    Jan 31, 2012
    11
    1
    16
    s-off easy first try:smokingsomb:
     
  11. lifeblows10

    lifeblows10 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    471
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011

    Sep 2, 2011
    471
    90
    53
    This S-OFF thing is a royal pain. I have had nothing but issues trying to get ControlBear to even run

    Code (Text):
    1. Old beer detected... Please wait....
    2. Critical failure... Cannot find a seat!!
    Help?
     
  12. thebryceee

    thebryceee Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,245
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012

    Feb 28, 2012
    2,245
    233
    143
    Male
    Did you download the right version
     
  13. lifeblows10

    lifeblows10 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    471
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011

    Sep 2, 2011
    471
    90
    53
    LOL, I'm not that dumb... (checks to see he downloaded the right one...)

    Yep. It's the right one.

    Edit: Well what would ya know.... this app is VERY PICKY. At least for me, I had to reboot (my computer) to get it to do anything.
     
  14. thebryceee

    thebryceee Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,245
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012

    Feb 28, 2012
    2,245
    233
    143
    Male
    Lol sometimes it's the simplest of things we overlook that is the problem, had to rule that out first.

    I had to restart the app a couple of times for it to complete the process.
     
  15. lifeblows10

    lifeblows10 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    471
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011

    Sep 2, 2011
    471
    90
    53
    It's OK. After the phone got rid of the old beer, it got bought a six pack, and now I'm S-OFF (and locked...) but I just unlocked it again.

    I have to say... I thought this was going to be a pain (the wire trick and all) but once I did it, it worked. Thanks JMZ! (And all who make this thing work!)
     
  16. matthewrocz

    matthewrocz Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    140
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011

    Nov 21, 2011
    140
    7
    56
    well i finally did this and got "s-off" but for some reason at the top where it used to say "unlocked" says "locked" is my loader locked? but it says s-off. i can access twrp tho. but is that is? am i good! yay if i did it lol.
     
  17. johnny424

    johnny424 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,500
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011

    Nov 2, 2011
    1,500
    466
    183
    HVAC Sheetmetal Mechanic/ Service Tech
    Washington Dc
    Yes..it relocks it after s off....just use the same oroceedure to unlock it again..or don't worry about it..good either way
     
  18. thebryceee

    thebryceee Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,245
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012

    Feb 28, 2012
    2,245
    233
    143
    Male
    Mine says Juopunut Bear instead of locked, relocked or unlocked.
     
  19. startak11

    startak11 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012

    Feb 25, 2012
    88
    9
    16
    Same here...took a few tries but it finally worked
     
  20. johnny424

    johnny424 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,500
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011

    Nov 2, 2011
    1,500
    466
    183
    HVAC Sheetmetal Mechanic/ Service Tech
    Washington Dc
    you went with the modified jb hboot after the wire trick..if you choose no to the jb hboot you would end up with a stock relocked hboot...

    but you can still get the modified jb hboot afterwords..even if you select no to it at the time
     
  21. mantera

    mantera Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,319
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011

    May 21, 2011
    1,319
    1,587
    313
    Question: which of the two holes do you put the first end in? Or does it not matter?

    The picture on the site has the arrow pointing in between the two holes. I think it seems to be pointing more towards the outside hole but figured I'd ask before attempting this weekend.
     
  22. thebryceee

    thebryceee Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,245
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012

    Feb 28, 2012
    2,245
    233
    143
    Male
    The outside one
     
    mantera likes this.
  23. russhoopes

    russhoopes Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2012

    Apr 23, 2012
    44
    13
    18
    Master Auto Technician
    PA
    I was a little scared to try this, but I found an old 2 gb sd card so I didn't mess my 16gb card with my roms and music on it, and tried it. I used some 18g automotive wire and followed the steps. Got S-off the second try. When the wire trick worked for me I pretty much tapped the ground lifted the wire then tapped again. It seemed like the small pause I did the first try was too long. Just Tap Tap and S-OFF. nice.:smokingsomb:
     
  24. Ostrich Egg

    Ostrich Egg Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2012

    Jun 1, 2012
    31
    7
    36
    Well that was weirdly easy. I kept getting Secondary backup FAILED! in Windows so I installed Wubi and did it from there. Got it on my first try from Linux.

    Frankly I don't even know what I did, when it told me to do the wire trick I just sorta fumbled around with a paperclip for a few seconds and then it told me I was S-OFF.
     
  25. wigginst

    wigginst Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    917
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011

    Aug 12, 2011
    917
    58
    78
    Ok I am at juopunutbear on the screen and control bear says waiting device but has been stuck at 5/45 there for awhile.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...