1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [S-OFF] Juopunutbear S-OFF -Beta Release

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jmz, Jun 2, 2012.

  1. reddeaddorito

    reddeaddorito Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    421
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011

    Dec 31, 2011
    421
    28
    43
    student
    kzoo
    I think I'm bricked :(.

    Used an insulated wire and everything...


    Put the wire in the (correct hole), when it said to do it, I tapped the GND, counted 1 Mississippi, then tapped it again and the phone just shut off.


    EDIT: NVM, got it up and running.
     

    Advertisement

  2. crashnova

    crashnova Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012

    Mar 8, 2012
    52
    10
    18
    Male
    Yonkers, NY
    ok so i got s-off now. but in the hboot menu at the top it no longer says unlocked. it says locked and it says s-off. is this normal?
     
  3. johnny424

    johnny424 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,500
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011

    Nov 2, 2011
    1,500
    466
    183
    HVAC Sheetmetal Mechanic/ Service Tech
    Washington Dc
    yes..soff process relocks bootloader..but its cool your good. congrats my friend
     
    crashnova likes this.
  4. xploPR

    xploPR Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    823
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012

    Mar 12, 2012
    823
    167
    93
    Richmond, VA.
    After 6 tries, im finally s-off :D
     
  5. johnny424

    johnny424 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,500
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011

    Nov 2, 2011
    1,500
    466
    183
    HVAC Sheetmetal Mechanic/ Service Tech
    Washington Dc
    congrats as well bro..
     
  6. ZAXIS

    ZAXIS Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    330
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012

    Feb 25, 2012
    330
    35
    43
    wescoast

    put the zip file in sdk folder or its contents?
     
  7. xploPR

    xploPR Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    823
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012

    Mar 12, 2012
    823
    167
    93
    Richmond, VA.
    Extract the hboot file from the zip, then put hboot file on card. then run control bear.exe and follow instructions.

    Thats how i did it.
     
    ZAXIS likes this.
  8. lqcorsa

    lqcorsa Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011

    Nov 12, 2011
    122
    8
    36
    C:\
    Anyone know if this can be done on the UltraMatrix ROM?
     
  9. ktm908

    ktm908 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012

    Jan 5, 2012
    21
    3
    16
    hello i have hboot version 1.57 will i be able to do this and get s-off?
     
  10. koopakid08

    koopakid08 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    772
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011

    Mar 14, 2011
    772
    165
    93
    Behind you
    Yes
     
    ktm908 likes this.
  11. Chingling

    Chingling Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    439
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011

    Aug 28, 2011
    439
    90
    53
    Nerd
    Antarctica
    Instructions say you must be on rooted stock, so very likely that's a no.
     
  12. koopakid08

    koopakid08 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    772
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011

    Mar 14, 2011
    772
    165
    93
    Behind you
    It worked for me on harmonia, I think it will work on any stock based rom.
     
  13. lqcorsa

    lqcorsa Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011

    Nov 12, 2011
    122
    8
    36
    C:\
    My only problem now is I can't seem to get my PC to detect my phone when it's in juopunutbear mode. The USB drivers are installed...I unlocked my bootloader, I can boot into fastboot with the cmd prompt, USB debugging is on, I can see "My HTC" in the device manager when I'm not in juopunutbear mode...but as soon as I run the s-off tool, it switches my phone over to that black screen with the green arrow, and then my PC stops seeing it, so it's never able to continue. I've also tried other USB ports.

    I get.. "Hmmm, still no device
    Open device manager and check adb and/or fastboot drivers!!"
     
  14. koopakid08

    koopakid08 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    772
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011

    Mar 14, 2011
    772
    165
    93
    Behind you
    Do you have any of the listed problem programs installed?
     
  15. lqcorsa

    lqcorsa Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011

    Nov 12, 2011
    122
    8
    36
    C:\
    Where's that list at?

    The support irc told me not to have HTC Sync, doubletwist, or any Apple services running, which I don't.
     
  16. xploPR

    xploPR Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    823
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012

    Mar 12, 2012
    823
    167
    93
    Richmond, VA.
    I did it on Midnight rom.
     
  17. lqcorsa

    lqcorsa Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011

    Nov 12, 2011
    122
    8
    36
    C:\
    Oh well...I was in a hurry last night, so I flashed back to the deodexed stock shooter ROM anyway.

    I don't have any of those conflicting programs installed. I just for whatever reason can't get my phone in the device manager after it reboots from controlbear. I guess I won't be downgrading my HBOOT. :(

    I'll try it one last time.

    Edit:

    This has got to be the stupidest thing ever. I guess I'm fine with Sense ROMs. Whatever.
     
  18. chadyboy81

    chadyboy81 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    160
    Joined:
    May 27, 2012

    May 27, 2012
    160
    19
    38
    altoona,pa.
    Battery pulls have to be done to get back to your boot loader and start the program over and over and over til you get the sunshine message and yea be on stock and if you get the sunshine keep going to install the custom hboot you might have to run it one last time.that's if you want the custom hboot
     
  19. johnny424

    johnny424 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,500
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011

    Nov 2, 2011
    1,500
    466
    183
    HVAC Sheetmetal Mechanic/ Service Tech
    Washington Dc
    when i failed i didnt pull battery..my phone literally stayed on the juopunutbear screen from start to finish. i just kept exiting out of controlbear window/prompt and reopening controlbear starting the process all over again..i did this for an hour, maybe a little longer, just stayed at it untill i finally got the timing right. but i do know one thing. if it were me i dont care how many times it takes or how long i had to sit there..i would have kept at it all night to get it..i deff. would not start and then stop..its a pain in the ass process for most myself included...better to just stary and keep on keepin on until you are successful.
     
  20. johnny424

    johnny424 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,500
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011

    Nov 2, 2011
    1,500
    466
    183
    HVAC Sheetmetal Mechanic/ Service Tech
    Washington Dc
    as much of a pain in the ass as it is..i would try another pc...save yourself the greif. i dont seem to remember alot from when i did soff..between having a drink or two and just being so damn nervous. .i do remember having to uninstall htc sync..the only thing you should need are the htc drivers but not the htc sync crap from bootloader unlock

    edit.. i would uninstall everything, htc sync, htc drivers and anything else related..then redownload and try running controlbear again..did the guys at unlimitedio tell you anything else that could be the problem?
     
  21. xploPR

    xploPR Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    823
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012

    Mar 12, 2012
    823
    167
    93
    Richmond, VA.
    @lqcorsa pull the battery out, connect your phone back to usb cable, and turn on, the process should start again.
     
  22. Revenant Ghost

    Revenant Ghost Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,121
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2012

    Jun 30, 2012
    2,121
    1,173
    333
    Hell
    Right. It took me over 20 times to time the wire trick right. But I know it was worth it.

    Otherwise, you'll never have any true freedom with S-ON.
     
  23. Hedied4me

    Hedied4me Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    May 5, 2012

    May 5, 2012
    70
    2
    16
    So after many tries Im s-off....yay. thanks for all the helpful posts. Leslie Ann your help is always appreciated. I feel bad because I really like your rom and want to support it but am caught between Harmonia and Midnight Rom ;)
     
  24. koopakid08

    koopakid08 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    772
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011

    Mar 14, 2011
    772
    165
    93
    Behind you
    Wow, I guess I most have just been lucky but I got it first try.
     
  25. redpipe

    redpipe Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012

    Aug 2, 2012
    29
    7
    16
    I had never used a rom on this phone, just rooted by flashing su and I still could not get the wire trick to work for the longest time. The last step it would get to was Finding fourth, rebooting, then waiting device. It would just sit on this Juopunutbear screen while Controlbear said waiting device forever. I never even got to the wire trick step. I jumped on juopunutbear irc and they didn't know what was going on so hyuh made a suggestion to wipe and format /data. I booted into clockworkmod recovery and did a factory reset, and let it boot up completely and ran Controlbear again. This time it passed the fourth step and actually got to the wire trick step and I got S-OFF on the first try. Had to controlbear -f in fastboot after it was done to boot back up. Since this was stock without ever flashing a rom or kernel if anyone gets stuck before the wire trick, try a factory reset or manually format /data.
     
    johnny424 likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...