1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!
  2. We apologize for the disruption in email services! They are sending out now, but there is a backlog, so it may take a little time to catch up.

Root s-off my evo?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dennis8492, Feb 2, 2013.

  1. dennis8492

    dennis8492 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    165
    Joined:
    May 3, 2012

    May 3, 2012
    165
    26
    43
    Chef
    Tustin, CA
    so after a while of not having time to root and unlock my hboot i finally got it done in a matter of minutes. so now id like to s-off my evo. can some one point me in the right direction or post a link that i can follow please. thanks in advance :)
     

    Advertisement

  2. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #13
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,596
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,596
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    you will need to do capt throwback's method. here is the guide you want:http://androidforums.com/evo-4g-all...-rooting-gingerbread-2-3-5-dummies-guide.html
     
    tube517, mikem0269 and Mikestony like this.
  3. dennis8492

    dennis8492 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    165
    Joined:
    May 3, 2012

    May 3, 2012
    165
    26
    43
    Chef
    Tustin, CA
  4. dennis8492

    dennis8492 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    165
    Joined:
    May 3, 2012

    May 3, 2012
    165
    26
    43
    Chef
    Tustin, CA
    im also using the mikg rom thats in the revised dummies guide.. my evo stays in 1x and doesnt go to 3g. can u also help me with that? ive done a full wipe and re flash of the rom but that didnt seem to help
     
  5. mikem0269

    mikem0269 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,094
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    Aug 15, 2011
    1,094
    844
    213
    Male
    Illinois
    Are you rooted with s on Thats what ocn got from the first post? What is your h boot

    Most rooted roms like mikg show the true speed like 1x. The stock rom shows 3g even when you are at 1x speeds
     
    tube517 and Mikestony like this.
  6. dennis8492

    dennis8492 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    165
    Joined:
    May 3, 2012

    May 3, 2012
    165
    26
    43
    Chef
    Tustin, CA
    Yeah I'm rooted with s-on. N the hboot is 2.18
     
  7. mikem0269

    mikem0269 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,094
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    Aug 15, 2011
    1,094
    844
    213
    Male
    Illinois
  8. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #13
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,596
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,596
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    like i said in the guide yuou will need to use captn method to get s-off. just skip the part about unlocking the bootloader since you already have done that. the link the mikem0269 gave is the actual guide from capt throwback.
     
    Mikestony likes this.
  9. dennis8492

    dennis8492 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    165
    Joined:
    May 3, 2012

    May 3, 2012
    165
    26
    43
    Chef
    Tustin, CA
    Yeah ill check that out when I get back home. I've noticed that even though I went from home to work I'm still on 1x. Data speed is a bit faster here were I work but still no 3G.





     
  10. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #13
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,596
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,596
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    curious what is your radio(baseband)? you might need to update your radios. also you might want to update prl and profile as well.

    and we will be here if you need us. please feel free to ask away if you have questions.
     
    mikem0269 likes this.
  11. dennis8492

    dennis8492 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    165
    Joined:
    May 3, 2012

    May 3, 2012
    165
    26
    43
    Chef
    Tustin, CA
    2 15 00 12 19 is the baseband version. I did the prl and profile update were I work since like I said the speed was a bit better but still 1x and no 3g. Honestly its not a big deal but I'm just curious if its a bug or I just have crappy service.
     
  12. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #13
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,596
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,596
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    ok you have the latest radios so i would update your prl and profile.

    and keep in mind the 1x is shown because with mikg and all .custom roms will always show you the tru signal strength of your mobile data connection. before on stock it will always show 3g when it is only 1x.
     
  13. dennis8492

    dennis8492 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    165
    Joined:
    May 3, 2012

    May 3, 2012
    165
    26
    43
    Chef
    Tustin, CA
    Done and noted. Thanks guys for the words of wisdom. Come Monday I'll attempt to s-off my phone. In the mean time... Work work work!!:D
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...