1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

s-off on froyo,now what?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mshowe, Aug 16, 2012.

1. mshowe

mshowe Lurker

Ok, I have completed this process and have Android 2.2 s-off

I am not sure quite what I have, however. I am a novice android user. I would prefer to stay stock, but wanted wifi tether.

So, how does a user like myself best use this device? I want basic stuff like, calendar that shows my next appointment (provided in stock newer release).

What should be my next step?

I want the benefits of good apps and updated apps, but don't want to be limited by "big daddy". Any thoughts (that are kind) are appreciated.

1. Download the Forums for Android™ app!

Download

2. scotty85

scotty85 Extreme Android User

3. packgrad1992

packgrad1992 Lurker

After flashing the ROM that I want to use, can I delete or reformat my SD card? It has a lot of data left over from when I was unrooted. I've already copied the data that I want to keep.

Just want to make sure that I'm not deleting items that may be in use. thx

4. nschiwy

nschiwy Newbie

You can wipe your SD without problem after you've flashed the ROM that you want. I would suggest, however, that you create a backup in clockworkmod and keep that in the clockworkmod folder on your sd card so that IF something goes wrong or you want to go back to stock you want an easy way to go back to stock then you can.

I would recommend my ROM - sparkplug, which is a rooted, deodexed, optimized version of the stock gingerbread 2.3.4 OTA. It is honestly the fastest stock based ROM I have ever tried on the dinc, which was why I decided to share it with the community.

[ROM][Sense]Sparkplug - Rooted, Optimized Incredible OTA[7/22/12] - xda-developers

Good luck!

scotty85 likes this.
  5. packgrad1992

packgrad1992 Lurker

Thanks for the response! Actually I'm running Albinoman's JellyBeam ROM from XDA. Happy with it so far.

6. mshowe

mshowe Lurker