1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root s-off problem

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by pmstoc, Dec 24, 2011.

  1. pmstoc

    pmstoc Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011

    Dec 15, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    Hi, After a lot of reading through this forum and the xda forum I finally decided to use Alpharev 1.8 through VM Ware.

    It got stuck at stage 3 and I left it for 1 hour. I then removed the battery and turned on with power down. I read a post that said to reboot, however this has taken me to a FASTBOOT menu screen with BOOTLOADER, REBOOT, REBOOT BOOTLOADER and POWER DOWN.

    Can anyone tell me what to do next? I'm hoping that i can get back at least to the Recovery to restore.

    Paul
    Bravo PVT3 SHIP S-ON
    HBOOT-0.93.0001
     

    Advertisement

  2. pmstoc

    pmstoc Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011

    Dec 15, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    - managed to get back into recovery by vol. down + power.

    - went to nandroid back up, backed up and rebooted, then got stuck in a boot loop.

    - tried adb reboot bootloader, got a message adb not found?

    - flashed rom and rebooted, phone software came back on ok! But still s-off. I'm relieved but a little disappointed that the s-off process didn't work. Not sure what went wrong? Any input welcome.
     
  3. Tyseyh

    Tyseyh Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,035
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010

    Jun 9, 2010
    2,035
    296
    163
    Male
    Leeds, UK
    But still s-off? You mean on?
     
  4. pmstoc

    pmstoc Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011

    Dec 15, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    Yes, still s-on.

    I'm on the Gingervillain 3.3 rom with a2sd. Do I need to flash a new rom before I go for s-off again?

    Thanks, Paul
     
  5. Mattb81

    Mattb81 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    209
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011

    Sep 6, 2011
    209
    56
    53
    Australia
    You have to be on a sense rom.

    Try using revolutionary method in my sig as you have hboot 0.93
     
    pmstoc likes this.
  6. deanshep85

    deanshep85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,347
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010

    Nov 22, 2010
    1,347
    123
    143
    UK
    yea I agree with Matt, you have to first flash a Sense ROM then you can go s-off...lord it take me a while myself to find that one lol had to flash a leedroid ROM on then s-off THEN restore a GV one lol
     
    pmstoc likes this.
  7. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    some leedroids dont work with s-off. Teppic is better
     
    pmstoc likes this.
  8. deanshep85

    deanshep85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,347
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010

    Nov 22, 2010
    1,347
    123
    143
    UK
    well I found the latest 3.3 (I think it is) worked fine from leedroid...I only kept it to S-off then went back to nandroided GV as you know
     
  9. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    just saying we here recommend flashing teppic74's rooted stock for s-off as "leedroied" is ambiguous and some dont work. Dont mess with the clan dean ;)
     
  10. deanshep85

    deanshep85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,347
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010

    Nov 22, 2010
    1,347
    123
    143
    UK

    true, I always forget bout teppic's ROM (don't ban me :p) as I always used Leedroid sense...though now its a lil more than it was, its like a mix of old and new sense now...don't like it..
     
  11. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Never used it. Last sense rom I used was MoDaCo 3.2.

    No one ever talks about modaco anymore, yet still one of the biggest enablers in the industry.
     
  12. deanshep85

    deanshep85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,347
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010

    Nov 22, 2010
    1,347
    123
    143
    UK
    I remember Modaco from when I had a nokia 5800 and was toying with getting the ZTE Blade and he could root and flash it then, paul actually is from where I am lol...

    never did get that blade...oh well lol
     
  13. pmstoc

    pmstoc Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011

    Dec 15, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    Thanks for the responses. I flashed teppic74's rooted stock successfully.

    After running the Alpharev 1.8 software through the VM ware player it got through to Step 3 with the following script:

    /home/tc/alpharev.sh: line 331: [: -eq: unary operator expected

    this was repeated four times for lines 343, 353, 361 and 366 with a tc@box:~$ prompt underneath.

    Does this mean anything?

    The s-off process was unsuccessful.

    [FONT=&quot][/FONT]
     
  14. pmstoc

    pmstoc Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011

    Dec 15, 2011
    7
    0
    5
  15. nicka3200

    nicka3200 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,047
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011

    Dec 28, 2011
    1,047
    357
    163
    Male
    UK
    That's the ROM I was using when I went s -off. However I used revolutionary which I found very straight forward. I couldn't believe how simple it was.
     
    pmstoc likes this.
  16. pmstoc

    pmstoc Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011

    Dec 15, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    I have got s-off through revolutionary!

    I have done the fastboot flash recovery c/"file name.img which gave the responses sending 'recovery' and writing 'recovery' OKAY finished.

    However I attempted to get to recovery from the fastboot screen vol down and power only to have the phone reboot. Everything is ok, except I can't seem to get to the recovery screen anymore? Vol down+power and return+power just boot the rom.
     
  17. nicka3200

    nicka3200 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,047
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011

    Dec 28, 2011
    1,047
    357
    163
    Male
    UK

    There is a function in newer sense ROMs which enables quicker start ups. Essentially the phone doesn't shut down fully. You can disable this in settings but I can't remember how.

    The easiest way to get into recovery is to pull the battery out then power + vol down.
     
    pmstoc likes this.
  18. deanshep85

    deanshep85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,347
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010

    Nov 22, 2010
    1,347
    123
    143
    UK
    yea nicka is right, I think its in the power settings and its on the is it 2.1 sence? from like the HD onwards fastboot is present.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...