1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root s-off stuck on step 3

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by CaptainOfCrunch, Jun 3, 2011.

  1. CaptainOfCrunch

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    27
    0
    15
    Dublin, Ireland
    ok so have phone rooted with unrevoked and tried to s-off with alphrev

    step 1 ok
    step 2 ok
    step 3......stuck

    it was stuck for like 40 mins, so i took out the battery, rebooted, and now im stuck in h-boot. it say at the top s-off and alpharev but i doubt it worked.

    NEED HELP PLEASE
     

    Advertisement

  2. CaptainOfCrunch

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    27
    0
    15
    Dublin, Ireland
    nevermind i just flash the stock rom and im going to start from scratch.

    anybody know why it did that??
     
  3. GingaB

    GingaB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    856
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010

    Dec 26, 2010
    856
    64
    78
    London, UK
    No idea why it does that. But Its generally recommended you S-OFF on roms based on sense ie stock and leedroid. Which rom were you on before??
     
  4. Usta

    Usta Android Expert
    Rank:
     #52
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    2,582
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    2,582
    1,374
    433
    The Netherlands
    It might do that sometimes, but it ends well.
    If you are on Hboot and see on the top S-OFF, then you are done.
     
  5. CaptainOfCrunch

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    27
    0
    15
    Dublin, Ireland
    i had stock 2.2 that had been rooted with unrevoked3.

    i sorted it out though. i flashed the stock 2.2 rom back onto it, re run unrevoked and then did alpharev again and it worked perfectly. im flashing a 2.3 rom onto it now.

    thanks anyway
     
  6. GingaB

    GingaB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    856
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010

    Dec 26, 2010
    856
    64
    78
    London, UK
    Welcome to the other side mate! This is where all the fun begins! Enjoy!
     
  7. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    you could have just done fastboot flash recovery clockworkmod-2-5-0-7.img or what ever its named
    then booted to recovery and flashed 2.3 then

    eitherway you are sorted

    did you use cd method or virtual machine method? it usually works best as CD
     
  8. CaptainOfCrunch

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    27
    0
    15
    Dublin, Ireland

    I used the cd, worked perfectly the second time, dont know what happened the first time
     
  9. arjmage

    arjmage Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012

    Jun 12, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    I have a HTC desire with Hboot version 0.800, rooted, with clockwork recovery and a CM10 system. I wanted to use Link2SD and found that I need to have it S-off.

    I ran alpharev, because revolutionary site says they support other Hboot versions than mine, and the setup ran well until step 3. Then after showing the ominous message about "do not power off or it will brick your phone".... it remained stuck tehre for 30 mins or more. I did disconnect and reboot and it was not bricked.

    However, I do not see how to get S-off to work -- since alpharev was stuck and revolutionary does not officially support my version. Any ideas?

    PS: sorry if I'm rekindling dead threads, but I'm looking for some help
     
  10. nicka3200

    nicka3200 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,047
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011

    Dec 28, 2011
    1,047
    357
    163
    Male
    UK
    One solution that would definitely work is running the official gingerbread RUU.

    1 Take a nandroid back up first.

    2 Run the RUU.

    3 Then follow the guide to s-off and re-root the phone using revolutionary. This will include the s-off process & reinstalling your recovery as the RUU will have replaced it with the stock HTC recovery. Don't worry about flashing superuser because when you restore your nandroid it will be there.

    4 Restore your backup.
     
    Hadron likes this.
  11. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    23,149
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    23,149
    16,726
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Alpharev works best with a stock ROM, and there are many custom ROMs it won't work with. That's probably what's happened here. So the alternative to what Nicka suggests would be to put a rooted stock ROM on temporarily, run alpharev, then restore your CM10 nandroid.

    Whether that's less work that the procedure Nicka suggests isn't obvious, but I thought you should know both options (assuming alpharev supports a hboot as old as you have anyway).
     
    nicka3200 likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...