1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root s-off

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by strive53, Sep 15, 2011.

  1. strive53

    strive53 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    May 22, 2011

    May 22, 2011
    15
    0
    15
    S. Jersey
    is there anyway to get s-off only being able to use fastboot......???

    i am currently s-on and cannot boot:mad::mad:!
     

    Advertisement

  2. mmolitor87

    mmolitor87 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    334
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    334
    112
    68
    Collinsville, IL, USA
    Cannot boot what? If you're attempting to use fastboot I'm assuming you're able to access hboot?

    If so, download this: http://dougpiston.com/files/RUU/bui...and-2.15.10.07.07-hboot-0.92.0000_PB31IMG.zip

    Rename it to PB31IMG.zip and place it on your SD card, then boot into hboot by holding volume down + power and it should ask you to install.
     
  3. strive53

    strive53 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    May 22, 2011

    May 22, 2011
    15
    0
    15
    S. Jersey
    ive tried everything i could...i do google:D s-on is preventing me from flashing anything except that pb31img and i can run the ruu on pc. doesnt work for me. so before i can do anything else i need s-off. is there anyway to get s-off using only fastboot?
     
  4. mmolitor87

    mmolitor87 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    334
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    334
    112
    68
    Collinsville, IL, USA
    If you can run that file or the ruu then you can return to froyo stock. If you can return to froyo stock then you can get s-off via unrevoked.
     
  5. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,183
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,183
    8,681
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    So Strive, you say you can't boot at all? What were you running before all this happened and were you flashing something at the time you lost the ability to boot? Need the full story, start from the top.
     
  6. strive53

    strive53 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    May 22, 2011

    May 22, 2011
    15
    0
    15
    S. Jersey
    yea dude this was one of the first things i tried. problem is my bootloop is not caused by the rom.
     
  7. strive53

    strive53 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    May 22, 2011

    May 22, 2011
    15
    0
    15
    S. Jersey
    ok i was playing with my nv items and my battery came out.tried to reboot but looped at htc incredible screen.i was rooted before messing with things so i tried to go into recovery.it wouldnt let me and i have s-on all of a sudden.i have found a potential fix that involves flashing .77 hboot so i can run a .bat file...problem is im s-on and cant flash anything except the above stated pb31img or ruu which doesnt fix my loop.
     
  8. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,183
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,183
    8,681
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    Problem is if you flashed the above file (GB) and it took, you're done with s-off. You can't get it back now including the ENG bootloader thing, it won't work without having root in the first place.

    What I would try is a factory reset from hboot, followed by TRYING to flash the 2.2 PB31IMG from the bootloader. If you get the "main version older" fail, you know your phone was flashed to GB. Does the file appear to load entirely when the progress bar is showing up in the bootloader? Does it complete, then give you the option to reboot? If so, it's troubling. If you're bootlooping with a stock system image, there are no options left that I can come up with right offhand other than to verify MD5 if you haven't already and try a different file if it doesn't match.
     
    strive53 likes this.
  9. strive53

    strive53 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    May 22, 2011

    May 22, 2011
    15
    0
    15
    S. Jersey
    guess its a no to getting s-off. ive spend days online trying to figure it out. i was stock 2.2 wen this happened. my phone runs the image how its supposed to, updates everything n asks to reboot.dinc is dead!lol...only way to fix is to root through fastboot which i cant do:(.
     
  10. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,183
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,183
    8,681
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    Yeah with s-on and no boot, you're pretty much toast. If it's any consolation though, I'm not sure you could fix it even with s-off. Frankly, the stock image should boot you every time. The only caveat I can add to that is the 2.3.4 system images have been acting funky and do not appear to be wiping the phone as usual. So if you got into a no man's land situation during an initial load, I could maybe see where subsequent loads may fail since it may not be fully wiping all partitions and possibly causing an error that could affect boot. Idk I'm spitballing there but I've been concerned about the new RUU ever since finding out some oddities over the last couple days. If that were the case, perhaps the next future RUU would load, if there is in fact a partition issue that exists and if it's fixed.

    Any chance you could have a bad battery? Maybe it's a power issue at startup that causes the constant fail? Idk, just trying to grab straws.
     

Share This Page

Loading...