1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support S2 4.0.4 no call history show and can't use the address book when sending SMS

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by andreale, Aug 28, 2012.

  1. andreale

    andreale Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012

    Aug 28, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    hongkong
    1) after upgrade to 4.0.4, no call history can be shown. i need to install an app to make the history call and check history.

    2) tried to send SMS today. after type the message and press the address book key, it's freeze!!!!! need to remember the phone no. and send the SMS!!!

    anyone got these problem and can it be fixed??
     

    Advertisement

  2. DaveSyd

    DaveSyd Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    428
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011

    Jul 19, 2011
    428
    62
    53
    Australia
    Did you backup your phone data before the upgrade. Even using basic like Kies?
     
  3. andreale

    andreale Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012

    Aug 28, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    hongkong
    yes i backup before update.
    the funny thing was not the backup problem. even now i made a new call, nothing could be shown on the call history page...
     
  4. vangough

    vangough Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012

    Apr 6, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    Exactly same problem, it doesn't display any logs at all, all blank. However, viber does show all the logs as usual. Anybody knows possible workaround?

    I recently updated to Android 4.0.4 from 4.0.3 (Hong Kong Version). So far everything I know working fine except call logs doesn't display anything.
     
  5. Russell Ng

    Russell Ng Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,384
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011

    Sep 29, 2011
    1,384
    166
    143
    Male
    Engineer
    Kuala Lumpur
    If you have already set up alternative caller app or messaging app as default, then the stock call logs might not pick up them up. For example, I am using GoSMS and its not shown in the logs. It only shows up when using the stock SMS.
     
  6. vangough

    vangough Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012

    Apr 6, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    I've not setup any alternative caller app as default. Stock caller app is still my default app. I remember even though I use viber, the stock app used to show all the call logs.
     
  7. msg928

    msg928 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012

    Sep 2, 2012
    2
    1
    26
    Thank god, a solution can be found at i9100 S2.

    Go to Settings / Applications / All / LogsProvider and Click Clear Data

    The phone will now keep the new Call Log.
     
    D_Murph likes this.
  8. vboss

    vboss Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012

    Sep 3, 2012
    1
    1
    6
    Go to Settings -> Applications (select All) -> LogsProvider, then click clear data. I tried it and work again.
     
    vangough likes this.
  9. vangough

    vangough Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012

    Apr 6, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    Oh my word...Vboss, you are the boss. You literally saved my life....every freaking day i have been checking this thread but no avail. I almost gave up and was ready to do clean reinstall...then....i saw your post..thank you so much! You are a genius.
     
  10. rahat159

    rahat159 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2012

    Sep 4, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    You are simply great, I just followed you and it worked, thanks!
    but hope other things won't be effected by doing this, right?

    There is one more problem I am facing, before my emails were working I could see them reply them but now when i check my pop emails, then it show just blank it tells number of email but can't display any only blank page. I would appreciate if you could help me in this.

    Thanks again Vboss!
     

Share This Page

Loading...