1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support S2 ICS - some odd behaviours

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by piannetta, May 5, 2012.

  1. piannetta

    piannetta Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    74
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    74
    2
    16
    Male
    Sydney, Australia
    Hi, I have a rooted S2 recently upgraded to ICS.

    I've noticed the follow odd behaviours and I was wondering if anyone else has and can recommend fixes:
    1) Random reboots. Out of no where, it will just reboot, happens once, maybe twice a day. It's an annoyance more than anything else, but I am unable to identify anything that's causing it, however it does seem to almost always happen at night, between 6:30pm and 9:00pm...
    2) Wifi - I might be using WiFi at home then suddenly it will switch back to the 3G network and when I pull down the notification bar, the WiFi icon is semi-greyed out, that is, the wifi bars are a feint green, the Wifi text is grey and the button is not responsive. If I go into the settings menu, the wifi button there is greyed out. The only way to resolve is reboot.
    3) Won't switch on - maybe once or twice a day I will press the home key as I usually do to switch on the device and nothing happens. I press other keys, hold keys - nothing. The only way to resolve is to remove the battery and it comes back fine. I have a battery widget installed so I check the historical battery graph and note that prior to removing the battery, the battery charge decline is almost a straight down line rather than a normal sloped discharge, so I'm suspecting whatever is preventing the phone from coming on is also killing the battery. But I have no way of knowing what

    They are my main issues, hoping someone can help please.

    Pete
     

    Advertisement

  2. Russell Ng

    Russell Ng Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,384
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011

    Sep 29, 2011
    1,384
    166
    143
    Male
    Engineer
    Kuala Lumpur
    With all these problems coming after ICS firmware upgrade, I think you have to go down the route of having to wipe cache and do a factory reset. It sounds like major clashing of old GB firmware with ICS.

    Better back up everything first though since factory reset pretty much clears up all settings, contacts and apps.
     
    piannetta likes this.
  3. piannetta

    piannetta Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    74
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    74
    2
    16
    Male
    Sydney, Australia
    Thanks Russell, so is that using the factory reset function in the settings menu or another way?

    Also, I use Titanium backup, are you suggesting that I do a factory reset, I assume I have to reinstall the stock ICS again from Kies, then root, then reinstall Titanium, then restore from the last backup?

    Sorry for the stupid question, I just want to make sure I've got the process right

    Pete
     
  4. SRH990

    SRH990 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    10
    2
    16
    I've also had occasional reboots so went down the route of factory reset & cache wipe and still get the occasional reboot.

    I'm also getting SOD's, usually during the evening and can only get it working again by removing the battery, then last night it somehow went completely flat with something keeping it awake, probably more a problem with my pocket than the phone!

    I'm running the CPW ICS update which was updated via Odin but is recognised by Kies.
     
  5. Russell Ng

    Russell Ng Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,384
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011

    Sep 29, 2011
    1,384
    166
    143
    Male
    Engineer
    Kuala Lumpur
    If you know how to root, meaning you are a better expert than me. Why don't you just flash the ICS that you want via ODIN and forget bout Kies? But about the Titanium, you got it right. Have to back up and restore. Pressing Power+Home+Vol Up will bring you to a menu where you can wipe and reset.

    Cheers
     
    piannetta likes this.
  6. GG1

    GG1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    219
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010

    Oct 5, 2010
    219
    33
    43
    Montreal Canada
    What version of ICS are you running? LP9 had SOD issues caused by the kernel.
     
  7. SRH990

    SRH990 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    10
    2
    16
    It's the official CPW ICS version, LP7, I've read about problems with the LP9 version so wouldn't use it. I've not had a repeat SOD since last posting and battery life is good, just the occasional hitch :thinking:
     

Share This Page

Loading...