1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support S3 fails to connect to PC

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Bernkastel, Jul 24, 2013.

  1. Bernkastel

    Bernkastel Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2013

    Jul 24, 2013
    2
    0
    5
    Male
    Australia
    Hi,

    My Samsung Galaxy S3 fails to connect to my PC at times. I've tried using the official Kies software and without. It fails on both instances. I usually get a Windows error (as below) when I connect the phone to the PC. I have tried the Kies "Troubleshoot connection error" option but I've had no luck in fixing it.

    The times this occurs seems random. At times, it will connect fine without any issues. Sometimes it fails to work and the error above is produced.

    I wonder whether it's the cable. However, as charging works fine, I'm not too sure about what exactly the cause is.

    Any help is appreciated.
     

    Advertisement

  2. SiempreTuna

    SiempreTuna Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    3,889
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013

    Jan 11, 2013
    3,889
    1,051
    423
    You're right that it is most probably the cable - just coz it charges doesn't mean it works for data connections, unfortunately. Try another cable (you can pick them up for a couple of bucks on ebay, though the quality can be a iffy).
     
    Bernkastel likes this.
  3. SebaKL

    SebaKL Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    749
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011

    Oct 4, 2011
    749
    229
    113
    Interactive Designer/Developer
    Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
  4. nigsy

    nigsy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    474
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    474
    158
    88
    Oracle Consultant
    Devon
  5. SebaKL

    SebaKL Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    749
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011

    Oct 4, 2011
    749
    229
    113
    Interactive Designer/Developer
    Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
    I won't disagree. I just yet in 20 year of working with computers and external devices to experience once, a cable problem. Most of my stock cables go through multiple devices. My S2's cable was used for my S3, note2 and now s4, while the remaining original one, are unpacked in their respective boxes.
     
  6. mydian

    mydian Android Expert
    Rank:
     #75
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,437
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012

    Apr 8, 2012
    1,437
    679
    233
    Male
    2-Way Radio Repair Technician
    Chicagoland
    My old phone the charging port was bad and it would cause this to happen. For awhile it would still charge the phone, but no data connectivity.
     
  7. Bernkastel

    Bernkastel Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2013

    Jul 24, 2013
    2
    0
    5
    Male
    Australia
    Thanks for the responses everyone.

    I'll try AirDroid as well as getting a new cable then. Reinstalling drivers did not seem to permanently resolve the issue.

    Edit: AirDroid is impressive :D Although it does work off wifi / mobile data :/

    Also, does anyone know whether the region / system locale of your PC affects the connectivity and drivers? I thought that maybe it might have, but it seems that putting my system locale back to English didn't fix the issue permanently, and it was just one of those random times when the connection worked.

    EDIT 2: I ordered a new cable and it finally arrived. It seems to be working fine. So it seems like the cable before was the issue. Thanks everyone.
     

Share This Page

Loading...