1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General S4 is really starting to p*** me off!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by joshgs4, Aug 21, 2013.

  1. joshgs4

    joshgs4 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2013

    Jun 24, 2013
    23
    0
    15
    Im really trying to like this phone. This thing keeps freezing on web pages!! Then u have to go back to home screen, go back to the page hit refresh and what do u know after it loads it FEEEZES AGAIN!! What the crap is wrong with this thing?!?!?!
     

    Advertisement

  2. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Rank:
     #64
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,095
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,095
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    I get this happening only on this web site!
    Others seem fine.
    I take it you're using the stock browser?
    If so, give Chrome a try instead
     
  3. Shocky

    Shocky On Probation
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,872
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010

    Jun 20, 2010
    2,872
    319
    163
    Strange, is it a specific website its freezing on or random?
     
  4. joshgs4

    joshgs4 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2013

    Jun 24, 2013
    23
    0
    15
    No its not website specific. Like yesterday I was reading the thread on the new waterproof case by obex or whatever they r called so I got on that sight and it was freezing up. Driving me CRAZY!! never had issues like that with my iphone, I know this aint a iphone but I thought it was suppose to be better. And like if im on facebook in the browser (not the app) and click on a picture or the comments of the pic it takes like litterly a min or so to go to it and freezes the screen.
    Ive cleared cache and all the good stuff. Im gonna try chrome. Only thing else I know to do
     
  5. Goodspike

    Goodspike Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,144
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010

    Dec 28, 2010
    1,144
    143
    143
    Male
    Seattle
    The title of the thread should be the stock browser is driving you crazy. Don't blame the phone for a bad app. That said, while the S4 hardware is good, many of the Samsung apps are not that good.

    Chrome is a great browser, particularly if you use Chrome on your desktop too, because your Bookmark Bar shortcuts will stay synced. Chrome wasn't designed for the Gingerbread version of Android, and getting Chrome was one of the main reasons I wanted to upgrade my phone.
     
    Petrah likes this.
  6. Shocky

    Shocky On Probation
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,872
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010

    Jun 20, 2010
    2,872
    319
    163
    Don't know what to say josh, my stock browser doesn't crash, but i'm not really a facebook user. :D

    Try Chrome or something else, if you still get crashes then somethings wrong with your phone or the websites your visiting.
     
  7. Griff_LI

    Griff_LI Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    371
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010

    Jul 11, 2010
    371
    52
    53
    Marlow, Bucks, UK
    I've not had any similar problem with the stock browser. I've just had a browse to facebook (normally use the app) and it was fine.

    Do you have a lot of windows open at once ? I always try and close ones I'm done-with down. I also always close the browser once I'm finished (delete all the windows, open a new one and then hit Back) since on Android it will keep running and if you're on a page with re-loading ads (for example) they will continue to load even while you're not looking at it.

    iPhones simply stop apps you're not looking at (unless they're specifically written to carry-on and even then they do so in a very limited way)..

    HTH
     
  8. Don S

    Don S Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    629
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009

    Oct 30, 2009
    629
    180
    93
    Male
    Bayville, NJ USA
    Meh ... I don't agree with much of this at all.

    If the problem IS with the stock browser, and it turns out that the browser is the issue, Samsung makes the phone. Samsung customizes the stock browser. The stock browser comes with the phone and is the default method of browsing web pages out of the box. So if the problem is the browser, it most certainly can be linked to Samsung / the GS4...

    The problem may not be the browser though.

    For the OP:
    - Does this happen just on Wifi (there are threads about the GS4 Wifi issues)
    - Does it happen just on Mobile (LTE, etc).
    - Do you have issues with other apps accessing the web at the same time?

    I am assuming you have a good signal for mobile and/or Wifi. If so, then it is quite puzzling. I am not sure what to recommend.

    Certainly trying other browsers cannot hurt and may definitely help though. Good luck.
     
  9. Goodspike

    Goodspike Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,144
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010

    Dec 28, 2010
    1,144
    143
    143
    Male
    Seattle
    Didn't I say many of the Samsung apps are not that good, and isn't the "stock" browser a Samsung app? I don't think they just customize it (although it's probably based on something). I'm pretty sure the standard browser for Jelly Bean is Chrome, which is why you don't need to install Chrome to use Chrome (unlike say Firefox).
     
    Tide311 likes this.
  10. ron316

    ron316 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    131
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011

    Jun 21, 2011
    131
    4
    56
    i have had my gs4 since it came out im on the net alot all day for work using stock browser no issues
     
  11. lotus49

    lotus49 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,513
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    1,513
    232
    153
    Male
    Yorkshire
    The stock Android browser is a Google app and is not Chrome and never has been. There are two separate development teams for the two browsers. I also can't see why Samsung would try rewriting the stock browser.

    I do use the stock browser and it has paused briefly a few times but it hasn't been enough to annoy me and I'm easily annoyed.
     
  12. beowulf7

    beowulf7 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #226
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    541
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011

    Jul 10, 2011
    541
    32
    98
    Male
    Engineer
    TX
    Also try Dolphin and Firefox browsers. I use those 2 instead of the 2 browsers the phone came with.
     
  13. Goodspike

    Goodspike Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,144
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010

    Dec 28, 2010
    1,144
    143
    143
    Male
    Seattle
    If that's the case, why does my Nexus 7 only have Chrome?
     
  14. joshgs4

    joshgs4 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2013

    Jun 24, 2013
    23
    0
    15
    It has happened on both wifi and lte or 4g. I dont think its a connection issue because it happens after the page has fully loaded and scrolling. Not sure about the other apps. Im using chrome qnd I went to the web pages it always froze up on and had no issues.
     
  15. lotus49

    lotus49 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,513
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    1,513
    232
    153
    Male
    Yorkshire
    It is (almost) completely true but the Nexus 7 is an exception. That ships with only Chrome but almost every other Android device has a separate stock browser that is not Chrome and that includes the S4.

    Here is a link to a short article I read a couple of years ago that goes into some of the detail http://techcrunch.com/2011/05/17/google-chrome-android/.

    Samsung did not write the stock browser and I have no reason to believe that they have even modified it. The stock Android browser is not Chrome even in Jelly Bean (except the Nexus 7 - quite why I don't know) but I am sure that Google will eventually merge the two. So far however, they haven't done so and Samsung is innocent of any shortcomings in the stock browser.
     
  16. Don S

    Don S Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    629
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009

    Oct 30, 2009
    629
    180
    93
    Male
    Bayville, NJ USA
    Well, it sounds like you have a fix , which is great!. It definitely seems like an issue with the stock browser for some reason.

    I, like others here, have had no issues with it. If you like Chrome, I would just stay with that. For the stock browser, you might try going into Application manager (Settings, More, Application Manager, scroll over to "All" and click on "Internet". From there I would try clearing data, clearing cache, and clearing defaults. See if it works then ..
     
  17. maus421

    maus421 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013

    Jan 31, 2013
    66
    10
    18
    Vagina Murderer
    Sol Selegna
    Mine freezes at least 3 times a day on the lock screen wake up. As soon as I see the light from the light effect, it dies.
     
  18. Nick The Great

    Nick The Great Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #507
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    246
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    246
    20
    48
    Iowa
    I don't like the stock Android browser either. I used Dolphin on my old phone, been using Boat on this one.
     
  19. zebug

    zebug Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010

    Apr 2, 2010
    339
    154
    68
    Petroleum Engineer
    Houston, Texas
    I had this same issue last week... I ended up fixing it by hitting menu>settings>privacy>delete personal data>select all>done.

    Using stock browser, no problems since. Had the freeze on this site and droid life..... Post back if it works for you
     
  20. joshgs4

    joshgs4 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2013

    Jun 24, 2013
    23
    0
    15
    I eneded up freezing the stick browser and been using chrome ever since and havent had any issues. So gonna stick with that for now. Thanks tho, if I do go back to the stock ill give it a try
     

Share This Page

Loading...