1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General S4 sim card query

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by blootoon68, Jul 30, 2013.

  1. blootoon68

    blootoon68 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2013

    Jul 30, 2013
    2
    0
    5
    Hi all.
    First post as my new S4 comes tomorrow.
    My query is this - I have an unlocked iPhone 4s on O2 and I want to put this sim card into my brand new S4. I plan to unlock the S4 on arrival from T-Mobile and use the new sim in my iphone which I will give to my daughter.
    Does anyone know if this is simply a case of putting the respective sim cards into the phone or is there anything else which will be required?
    Hoping for a simple transition.
    Thanks for any assistance you all can give me
     

    Advertisement

  2. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,479
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Welcome to the forums, blootoon. Yes, it should work. I don't have an iPhone or an S4, but we've seen reports that a micro adapter may be needed; let us know. ;)

    Meanwhile, congratulations on your S4! [​IMG]
     
  3. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #72
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    5,406
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    5,406
    3,156
    413
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    Hello and welcome to the forum:wavey:

    Both phones use micro sim cards so it should be a case of just put the SIM cards in and they'll work. The only thing I can think of which might need to be sorted out are the apn settings. They should already be in the phones but if not just ring your carrier and they'll text them to your phone.
     
  4. blootoon68

    blootoon68 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2013

    Jul 30, 2013
    2
    0
    5
    Hi folks.
    Thanks for the welcome and the speedy replies. I'll know tomorrow for sure if I'm onto a winner or not. I'll update this thread with my findings. Thanks again.
     
  5. lotus49

    lotus49 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,513
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    1,513
    232
    153
    Male
    Yorkshire
    I put my 3 SIM straight into the phone 3 sold me and I still had to enter the APN settings manually. It only took me about 4 minutes to find and enter the information though so it was hardly onerous.
     
  6. Enrique2SIM

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2013

    Apr 14, 2013
    16
    1
    36
    Hi everyone,


    I have one question. It is possible to buy a pre-paid SIM card, use it just to make phone calls and get access to data by changing the APN settings?


    To make it clear, can I avoid paid for data access (public internet) by changing APN setting?


    Regards
     

Share This Page

Loading...