1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support S5 Update Problems - Dummies Guide

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ironass, Jan 2, 2015.

  1. AZgl1500

    AZgl1500 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    618
    Posts:
    6,396
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    6,396
    3,141
    618
    Male
    Retired and loving it.
    Oklahoma grasslands
    okay, have you looked in the Download folder?

    I've never had the problem, so never had a chance to look for it.
     

    Advertisement

  2. jumblebean

    jumblebean Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013

    Mar 25, 2013
    44
    0
    25
    Male
    Ohio USA
    Sorry AZ just saw this. Do you mean my files, device storage, downloads?
     
  3. jumblebean

    jumblebean Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013

    Mar 25, 2013
    44
    0
    25
    Male
    Ohio USA
    While i have your attention, my skepticism on ANY updates has led me to stop the Security Policy Updates. Is that smart?
     
  4. AZgl1500

    AZgl1500 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    618
    Posts:
    6,396
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    6,396
    3,141
    618
    Male
    Retired and loving it.
    Oklahoma grasslands
    Well, I am still on 4.4.4 and hope to stay that way. And yes, I have Security Policy Updates turned off.

    In Settings/...../ALL
    I turned OFF both:
    config.updater
    Samsung.updater

    I set AutoUpdates to OFF
    I set Updates via WiFi only.

    so far, and I am on Verizon, I have NOT received any niggling messages about "click here to upgrade to Lollipop"

    I did a couple days ago boot up Kies 3.0 and it mentioned that a new update is available, and showed "I think" OC7 for my phone. I ignored it and killed Kies.
    I have no use for Lollipop, my phone is working just fine on 4.4.4 thank you.
    ____________________________________
    2 ea. Verizon Galaxy S5, 4.4.4 forever!, ART
    MyPhoneExplorer lets you access a broken phone while locked

    Nova Prime, Textra, Blue Mail, Qi wireless equipped
    MacroDroid can help extend battery life
    MacroDroid senses Screen off, turns Wifi & Data OFF
    MacroDroid senses Screen UnLock, turns Data ON
    PureVPN when using a public WiFi
     
    jumblebean likes this.
  5. seymour butts

    seymour butts Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 2, 2015

    May 2, 2015
    5
    2
    16
    Male
    Thanks ironass. Found this quite useful on on my update.
     
    ironass likes this.
  6. jmt9779

    jmt9779 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    540
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    540
    56
    78
    NYC

    I started getting the update popups again this morning. (I haven't seen them in probably a few months.) Is VZW trying to force-feed us this again?
     
  7. ironass

    ironass Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,578
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,578
    5,793
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    Verizon withdrew their initial version of Lollipop, release OA8, as even they, finally, acknowledged it was totally useless. Then they patched t up and re-released it as OC4, some 28 days ago. This patched release is, admittedly, an improvement on their original version but is still a very out-of-date version of Lollipop.
     
    jmt9779 likes this.
  8. jmt9779

    jmt9779 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    540
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    540
    56
    78
    NYC
    Ahh. Thanks! I still don't want to install it. Haha. I'd rather deal with the annoying popup than the uncertainty of possibly needed to do a Factory reset...And potentially *still* having problems. Keeping an eye on this thread. (If I decide to install it at some point, I'll report in.)
     
  9. AZgl1500

    AZgl1500 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    618
    Posts:
    6,396
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    6,396
    3,141
    618
    Male
    Retired and loving it.
    Oklahoma grasslands
    Today, I have a Choice:

    1) FBR and restore everything

    2) Allow the LolliFlopVZW upgrade to proceed. It is 40% downloaded, I killed DATA/WiFi fast.

    I'm going with step #1.....

    I opened up my email, and then saw the Rectangle with Tornado Hook under it in the Notification Bar...... I called CS and they refuse to do anything about, even sent me a Text Message that said "Impossible to Stop Update UNLESS you root your device"

    .
    ____________________________________
    2 ea. Verizon Galaxy S5, 4.4.4 forever!, ART
    MyPhoneExplorer lets you access a broken phone while locked

    Nova Prime, Textra, Blue Mail, Qi wireless equipped
    MacroDroid can help extend battery life
    MacroDroid senses Screen off, turns Wifi & Data OFF
    MacroDroid senses Screen UnLock, turns Data ON
    PureVPN when using a public WiFi
     
  10. Triplebbb

    Triplebbb Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    May 11, 2015

    May 11, 2015
    2
    0
    15
    Male
    My galaxy started having a delay when I took it away from my ear to hang up a call. Sometimes taking 3-4 seconds for the screen to light back up and sometimes it worked fine. Then the same delay was happening when I turned my phone sideways except worse. It was every time I turned my phone and was taking around 10 seconds for the screen to react. My battery was also draining pretty quick but I'm a light user so I would just charge it every night. This other stuff was too annoying to deal with so I did the Factory data reset. Its been about 48 hours and so far battery seems better and the screen is switching views quickly again. But the delay when trying to hang up a call is still happening. My camera also tends to freeze on opening with a black screen and the touch buttons showing. Would my only options be to bring it to the store and try for some kind of exchange( its 6 months old) or go to a Samsung service center?
     
  11. ironass

    ironass Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,578
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,578
    5,793
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    Here is a copy of my reply to your question on another thread...

    "The first thing to look at is how much stuff is running in the background, eating up CPU and RAM, on your phone and slowing it down. Certain carriers for instance, specialise in performance draining bloatware... such as Verizon and AT&T.

    Go to... Settings > Application manager > Running... to see what is causing the lags. Some of te stuff you can disable as per #1.9 of S5 Lollipop Update Problems - Dummies Guide"
     
  12. crossmr

    crossmr Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012

    Nov 3, 2012
    104
    3
    36
    Male
    Education
    Seoul, South Korea
    I'm going to give that a try then. My carrier just finally pushed out lollipop here in Korea and killed my battery. I'm not rooted, so battery callibration app won't help me. It should be clearly indicated in the guide that you can't use that app unless you're rooted. My battery was a champion before the update. Even with heavy usage, I only had to charge it every 24 hours, maybe not quite that often. Last night, while I was sleeping it dropped 40% in 8 hours just sitting there.
     
  13. ironass

    ironass Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,578
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,578
    5,793
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    It does not clearly state you need to be rooted for the Battery Calibration app in #1.6 because, as the developer clearly states in the Play Store description...

    "Battery Calibration Pro is the best app to calibrate your battery. No root access required." ;)
     
  14. crossmr

    crossmr Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012

    Nov 3, 2012
    104
    3
    36
    Male
    Education
    Seoul, South Korea
    and yet as soon as you open the app you get a warning that says "You are not rooted" and after charging your phone to 100% as directed by the app and when you push the calibration button it says "You must be rooted to do this"
    I have no idea why the dev says you don't need to be rooted, because I tried to use it and it won't function properly without root.
     
  15. crossmr

    crossmr Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012

    Nov 3, 2012
    104
    3
    36
    Male
    Education
    Seoul, South Korea
    Ah I see now. I clicked on the wrong app. I'll try that one. Even after wiping the cache I've dropped 8% in 30 minutes
     
  16. ironass

    ironass Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,578
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,578
    5,793
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    Are you sure you are using the one that is linked in post#1 and in my reply and not some other Battery Calibration app? :rolleyes:
     
    #91 ironass, May 14, 2015
    Last edited: May 14, 2015
  17. rabaul

    rabaul Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 17, 2015

    May 17, 2015
    1
    0
    5
    Dalvik cache folder was 900 mega on kitkat now it takes 2,5 gb after update, is it possible??
     
  18. ironass

    ironass Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,578
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,578
    5,793
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    Hello and welcome to Android Forums rabaul :)

    Yes, it is possible. Mine is 1.77GB. You can do a Factory Data Reset which should clear some more space. See post #2.
     
  19. awriternot

    awriternot Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    113
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    113
    26
    63
    Dumb question, but if I have apps saved to SD, should I move them back to device to get the stuff back together?
     
  20. ironass

    ironass Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,578
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,578
    5,793
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    When you move an app to SD card, the data usually stays on the phone. If you have enough room on your phone memory it is better to keep them all in one place on the phone memory.
     
  21. awriternot

    awriternot Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    113
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    113
    26
    63
    Ok, so I should move it back to the phone before I reset?
    Move to phone, then backup again, then reset?

    Also, do you NOT recommend moving apps to the SD card?
    Thanks!
     
  22. ironass

    ironass Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,578
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,578
    5,793
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    I can see no advantage, providing you have space, in separating your apps and data, whilst I know of the disadvantages.
     
  23. AZgl1500

    AZgl1500 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    618
    Posts:
    6,396
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    6,396
    3,141
    618
    Male
    Retired and loving it.
    Oklahoma grasslands
    I never saw the need of moving apps to the SD card, but I have always made pictures and movies default to the SD card.... my phone has lots of room for the apps to use.
     
  24. coconut a giant nut

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015

    Jun 18, 2015
    2
    0
    15
    Male
    Need Help, I've been flashing tons of firmwares after i got a boot loop but still i can't finish the update. i cleared the cache and wipe data partition but i still get the same result. it only goes till installing applications and will reboot again. did i miss something? please help
     
  25. ironass

    ironass Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,578
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,578
    5,793
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    The words I dread hearing..."I've been flashing tons of firmwares after i got a boot loop". It would appear that you have become, "Flash Happy", in an attempt to solve your issues. The best thing to do is to download and flash the stock firmware for your model of phone and CSC code, as per #1.11 of 40 Galaxy S5 models - Dummies Guide. Hopefully, you did not play about with the .PIT files in your earlier flashings.
     

Samsung Galaxy S5

The Samsung Galaxy S5 was announced in 2014 and was the company's first flagship of the year. The device featured a 5.1-inch display with a resolution of 1920 x 1080, 2GB of RAM, 16GB of storage, and a 16MP primary rear camera.

Share This Page

Loading...