1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

S9 plus 5GB of Ram instead of 6GB

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by thomasanderson, Mar 30, 2018.

  1. thomasanderson

    thomasanderson Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    181
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    181
    14
    38
    Everytime I use a device info app such as AIDA64 it states that my S9 plus only has 5GB of ram instead of 6GB. Is this just my device or does anyone else get the same reading?
     

    Advertisement

  2. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,107
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,107
    24,089
    3,118
    Scotland
    It's potentially normal, dependant on what section you look at. "Total Memory" will always be slightly less as some gets used by the OS and kernel, "Installed Memory" should read the correct figure.

    Fwiw, my S8+ shows Total memory as circa 3.5GB, but Installed memory is 4GB.
     
    thomasanderson and Hadron like this.
  3. dontpanicbobby

    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #16
    Points:
    1,563
    Posts:
    14,199
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011

    Dec 31, 2011
    14,199
    8,905
    1,563
    Male
    Boston MA USA
    Hmmm. IdI of been happy with 3 if I had 6. That would be like half my RAM for that and the rest for the low RAM usage stuff i do like post places.
     
    Daniel Fernandes likes this.
  4. bIOforger

    bIOforger Android Expert
    Rank:
     #115
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    785
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014

    Jun 19, 2014
    785
    216
    113
    Male
    Its normal, some is reserved for system use, so its the same on mine, Total = 5GB and Installed = 6GB
     
    El Presidente and thomasanderson like this.
  5. Axle Grease

    Axle Grease Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2018

    Apr 6, 2018
    2
    0
    15
    Aida64 shows 6GB installed, 5195MB "Total Memory". My flatmate says some of the installed memory is taken up by memory mapped I/O for hardware access, and shared display memory. Hence the total memory is somewhat less. "Total Useable Memory" would have been a less confusing heading.
     
    #5 Axle Grease, Apr 6, 2018
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2018

Share This Page

Loading...