1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Safe way to perform hard reset

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by 3vodroid, Jun 8, 2012.

  1. 3vodroid

    3vodroid Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,174
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012

    Mar 26, 2012
    1,174
    694
    233
    Male
    Diesel Mechanic- Greyhound Lines
    New Jersey
    So today I was having a couple issues with my data connection (resolved) but every step of the way sprint wanted to do a hard reset.. No matter how many times I said no and explained about the secure Element within google wallets NFC technology...my question is... Is there a safe way to do a hard reset? Or should we stay away from performing a hard Reset altogether?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Chief YYZ

    Chief YYZ Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    168
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010

    Feb 13, 2010
    168
    147
    98
    Male
    Central Illinois
    WifiMaxed, 3vodroid, Granite1 and 2 others like this.
  3. sikclown

    sikclown Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,910
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009

    Nov 21, 2009
    1,910
    965
    213
    Male
    Business Owner
    New Orleans, LA
    I did a Hard Reset the other day after Resetting Google Wallet and can confirm it works just fine.
     
    WifiMaxed, 3vodroid, Granite1 and 3 others like this.
  4. NeoteriX

    NeoteriX Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    905
    734
    163
    Attorney
    ...I can't believe Sprint Tech Support is advising that customers hard reset phones without clearing the Google Wallet security token. Amazing.
     
    3vodroid likes this.
  5. Granite1

    Granite1 Zercron Encrusted Tweezer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    833
    Posts:
    7,159
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    7,159
    7,180
    833
    Male
    Highway Construction Inspection
    Pittsburgh, PA
    The phone is so new, the tech support personnel don't have a SOP for it yet. Remember Sprint is a very large corporation, it may take some time to get the word out to all the different call centers.
    I've helped the folks out that I deal with around town by giving them the heads up, not only for the EL T but for the Gnex too. BB is clueless, so is the sprint corporate store I go to. They didn't know it was an issue.
    If you know, just try to be patient when they advise you to do one, explain why you can't. This way it gets entered into the system more and more. :)
     
  6. 3vodroid

    3vodroid Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,174
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012

    Mar 26, 2012
    1,174
    694
    233
    Male
    Diesel Mechanic- Greyhound Lines
    New Jersey
    So just go into apps an clear google wallets data before a reset? That's what you guys mean by "reset" google wallet right?
     
  7. marctronixx

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #38
    Points:
    643
    Posts:
    5,899
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    5,899
    3,628
    643
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    yes. just remove your financial info and reset the app. its really easy.
     
    3vodroid likes this.
  8. Chief YYZ

    Chief YYZ Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    168
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010

    Feb 13, 2010
    168
    147
    98
    Male
    Central Illinois
    There is an option inside google wallet to "reset google wallet." Open the app, hit settings and click reset google wallet. Not sure just clearing data in apps will make it safe.
     
    WifiMaxed and 3vodroid like this.
  9. 3vodroid

    3vodroid Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,174
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012

    Mar 26, 2012
    1,174
    694
    233
    Male
    Diesel Mechanic- Greyhound Lines
    New Jersey
    Awesome.. Saving this in my memory for later use lol... Thanks guys
     
  10. Rush

    Rush {<>}~{<>}
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,043
    Posts:
    18,741
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011

    Jan 31, 2011
    18,741
    3,162
    1,043
    Male
    Entrepreneur / Business Owner - Freelance Writer
    Loganville, GA
    WifiMaxed and Rxpert83 like this.
  11. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,940
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,940
    13,151
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Holding power for about 10 seconds simulates a battery pull

    You can also just do a factory reset from within the devices settings menu, no need to go through recovery.

    Sprint had me do a "hard reset" once and that required my phones Msl, so it appears as though the terminology isn't the same.
     
  12. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,418
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Doesn't the menu-based reset NOT erase the internal sd card, or rather, give options?

    According to the link in the OP, the bootloader reset does erase it.

    I know people are split on this topic - but I'd also caution to reset Google Wallet from within the app if you're using it, before doing a reset.
     
    WifiMaxed likes this.
  13. WifiMaxed

    WifiMaxed Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    288
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011

    Mar 27, 2011
    288
    382
    88
    Just second on the confirm. I had been running into problems with Google Nav/Map crashing since JB update. I had to do quite a few hard resets and just as a precaution every time went into GW and reset the app. Every time GW worked fine at Starbucks and McDonald's. (Just say'n) :)
     
  14. ginglish

    ginglish Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    102
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010

    Aug 25, 2010
    102
    35
    43
    re: "problems with Google Nav/Map crashing since JB update. I had to do quite a few hard resets"

    Did the hard resets do any good to fix the Google Nav issue?
     

Share This Page

Loading...