1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Safestrap won't toggle to Safe Side

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by HarshZigo, May 4, 2012.

  1. HarshZigo

    HarshZigo Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    May 2, 2012

    May 2, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    I'm running .902 rooted on my unsafe side and had just installed Eclipse 2.2 on my unsafe side. Now safestrap won't toggle back to the safe side... it says error restoring /data . I restart and get the 'Welcome to Droid Bionic' screen like the phone is brand new. I have to do a restore on the unsafe side to get my phone back where it was.

    Still, I am unable to get back to the safe side and I'm guessing I have a corrupt /data file on the safe (eclipse) side.

    Looking around, I'm not the only one who's had this problem but I've yet to see a solution.

    Can I do a Quick Toggle to the safe side, format it, wipe cache/wipe dalvik and reinstall a ROM on my safe side? What are the risks?
     

    Advertisement

  2. New Rising

    New Rising Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    481
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    481
    71
    53

    Technically you're supposed to flash all your roms on the safe side, but i've read where a few people have installed eclipse on the unsafe side. You made a backup of your stock rom before you flashed eclipse right? For now on i'd make sure you flash all your roms on the safe side. I've had that error a couple of times when im trying toggle safe/unsafe, just do a quick toggle. Just always make sure you make a backup or have a safe backup to fall back on before you do it.
     
  3. HarshZigo

    HarshZigo Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    May 2, 2012

    May 2, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    I've never tried to touch the unsafe system. Installed eclipse to the safe system, toggled back over to unsafe, now it won't toggle back to the safe system. I'm thinking the safe system is corrupt. I'm considering a quick toggle to the safe system to wipe it, start over, and fix the problem.

    Also, out of curiosity, how large are your safestrap orig/data.ext3 and safe/data.ext3??

    I'm thinking me manually trying to move these folders to my sd card may have caused a self-inflicted problem. Here's what I have sitting on my phone right now:

    on the internal memory:
    safestrap/orig/data.ext3 is 10 kb
    safestrap/safe/data.ext3 is 8 kb

    on the SD card:
    safestrap/orig/data.ext3 is 889,043 kb
    safestrap/safe doesn't exist at all.
    safestrap/backup has a couple of backups I've made

    Any thoughts? I think I have copies of the files on my other computer of before I made changes.
     
  4. New Rising

    New Rising Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    481
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    481
    71
    53


    I wouldn't think so much into it, just make sure you have a backup and do a quick toggle. I've done it like 2 or 3 times with no problems. you can wipe data on both sides to see if that helps for the next time you switch over.
     
    HarshZigo likes this.
  5. HarshZigo

    HarshZigo Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    May 2, 2012

    May 2, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    Got it. I'll create a fresh backup of my non-safe side, Quick Toggle to safe side, format/wipe the safe side, and re-flash Eclipse on that side, then back up the safe side.
     
  6. New Rising

    New Rising Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    481
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    481
    71
    53

    let me know how it goes
     
  7. HarshZigo

    HarshZigo Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    May 2, 2012

    May 2, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    Quick Toggle got me over to the Safe Side where I was able to format/wipe the safe side. Toggling back to Non-safe worked... with an error and it put me back on the 'Touch here to begin' screen. I have a new non-safe backup I'm restoring to as we speak.

    I guess I could manually restore to a backup every time I switch back and forth if that's the workaround but it seems a bit of a hassle.

    I've heard rumor of a Safestrap 2.0 in the future and I'm thinking I'll stick with my stock ROM with the bloatware frozen. I'm happy with it for now.

    WAITASECOND... I'll do this restore on the non-safe THEN try toggling (not quick toggling) to the safe side and let Safestrap write whatever backup it needs to. I didn't consider the fact that the quick toggle wouldn't do that. That could very well be my answer. More to follow.
     
  8. HarshZigo

    HarshZigo Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    May 2, 2012

    May 2, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    Yes, this worked. I have a clean copy of Eclipse 2.2 with GB-X theme on my Safe Side now.

    Also, huge thanks to timmy10shoes for the advice to delete my safestrap folder on my internal sd before getting started.
     

Share This Page

Loading...